SoundProofing Shops

Coolpica

side track...

i remember in around 02 or 03, when few of ppl in Mit club was looking for a alternative on SP materials...later we manage to get from some industrial application use materials..

i did PM few time with a guy by the nick also called Apollo...was it u or me wrong nos??

hee hee/

for SPing, it can be quite costly....

For road noise, personal experience,.doing the Arch are the most effective..Also depend on car model, the gap between the door frame and the fender needs to be sealed ..this is also another critical area...

For the floor pan, this area is quite expensive if to use Sping materials...alternativs is to look for those that spray the butimun coating for the lorry or van wan..that is much cheaper. the sound Clad is very ex on the under carriage spray...

For engine sound, the firewall area is critical.

For me...i look for free lance guy...cheaper...and as soem bro pointed out...supervised the work....

i heard that S just slide in the under carpet and tats all

i did at my flooring...foon took out my seats and carpet... and do...

and did the usual roll rub to stick the mat to the metal fulli...

jus the door and flooring... setup whole car audio... 1 component spkers , 1 4chnl amp, power sub, full car wirings

stuck there from 1pm to 9pm.... and at any one point always see 2 person doing my car...

wait till siao, sleep at his aircon lounge, use his computer surf net till sian... eat come back...

but foon v serious and working on my car non stop ! commendable effort !!!

highly recommended ! and the wiring done nicely!

witness the whole process!

good..

--- mainly my door is rattering by the speakers ! thus did the door.SP..

since my seats are out and if i do the floorboard , i save on labour charges.

and the soundproof is good.. less road noise... sure hav one.. jus lower...

better speaker sound...

Edited by Circuit

yeah , i jus did my flooring and 2 layers on doors....at foon

workmanship quite good and fast.

price is good too.

:)

-- go ...S_L_NT.... nah... hear a lot of bad things...

even tot i stay commonwealth, i rather go somewhere else

hi there... can PM me the shop address, the cost of ur SP and your car model??

Thanks...

considering of doing SP for my ride too.. sunny.gif

Hi Bros,

Care to share your experience on sp? Intend to install on my ride & went to the shop at Commonwealth. After reading your tread, began to have second thought.

Care to pm me more details like area to sp & damaged done?

Edited by Raymondmok

Hi bros, apologies for hijacking this thread because i wanna ask about sound proofing but don't wanna start a new thread..

1) I've got no problems with road noise at about 90-100kmh, but as i travel up Malaysia on NSH quite often, the noise can get quite unbearable at NSH speed of about 130-140kmh. What's my best alternative? I was thinking of going to SP the wheel fender only. Will it reduce road noise?

2) ICE is a no no because my ride is coming to 6yo..so no pt doing it up now. And i've got no problems with engine noise too.

3) What's the damage like for SPing wheel fenders?

Thanks

Hi bros, apologies for hijacking this thread because i wanna ask about sound proofing but don't wanna start a new thread..

1) I've got no problems with road noise at about 90-100kmh, but as i travel up Malaysia on NSH quite often, the noise can get quite unbearable at NSH speed of about 130-140kmh. What's my best alternative? I was thinking of going to SP the wheel fender only. Will it reduce road noise?

2) ICE is a no no because my ride is coming to 6yo..so no pt doing it up now. And i've got no problems with engine noise too.

Thanks

agree the noise levels on NSHW speeds+road condition can be quite unbearable at times. however, the bad news is that just the fender is not really going to help. i have done the dynamat layer + dampening spray, even with placebo effect, i wld give it at most 10% reduction (in fact swapping to quieter tyres prob had more effect on me...). In the higher end rides, the damping is attacked at multi-points, just doing the wheel fenders unfortunately might not yield results that you wld feel sufficient...

just to give a sense of what i had done to damp the noise coming in from the rear areas of the car...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/89344484@N00/...57594453759853/... as an illustration of the what might be required to reduce road noise (every car is diff, solutions could therefore be diff too). While i did it to improve my enjoyment of my ICE, the goal was similiar, abt damping road noise.

cheers

Thanks

To put it simply, if u dun intend to spend a LOT, dun bother. If u do abit by SP-ing e fenders, e noise reduction is also abit... which ---> might as well dun do.

hmmm..so the consensus is - might as well don't do..and tahan a few more yrs and change to sire with better dampening?