Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Any recommendation for trustworthy TV repair service? my Panasonic 29 inch TV intermittenly will lose video. Got to switch it off, pause and switch on again to get back video signal. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 time to buy a new lcd tv, nowadays the price so cheap, sending for repair may even cost u more then getting a new set Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 sent back to panasonic better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 I thought can get it done today as on leave, Panasonic, need to make appointment online and wait for them to contact. Meanwhile, got spare TV to watch, but since on leave, might as well get it fix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 (edited) very tempting leh, but wasted, my Panasonic TV picture colours still very nice...now LCD TV cheap compared to last time but those not HD one, I don't know, feel like not worth considering...can tell the quality diff. to the HD ones... Edited November 6, 2008 by Mcfguy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 oic....did u check if any cables not plug in properly??? my guess is make an appointment and take leave another day again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 it depends on the cost of repair...and if the condition of TV consider is good... I would think is better to keep the current tv...if repair cost is much lower than a new TV... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 All checked liao. I believe its the TV itself cos switch off, pause and switch on, sometimes will be OK liao...but irritating when watch until exciting moments suddenly lost picture.haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 oic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 I think so too. I remember long time ago, at my parents place , change some parts only less than $200, then TV work for many years to come, and still going strong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 how old is this tv, conventional type? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 I recommend Ah Poh. He's repaired my 3-yr old 34" CRT Toshiba which had similar symptoms as yours. According to him he will buy the original part from manufacturer & raplace the entire component. For mine it was the motherboard.Repair cost $200 My previous 29" Toshiba from old house lasted total of 14 yrs, repaired only once by him as well :) PM me for his contact if keen. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 yes conventional Flat CRT TV. 7 years plus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 good....think u gotta weigh the options... if now change is oso less than 200 then think can stick with the current TV... now Hang Cheng no so good...dun anyhow spend.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 if i'm u i would prefer to change a new one, a 29inch lcd can easily get at price of less than 1k. repair cost may be few hundred depending on the damage and may not last long. no harm asking how much the repair fee before dedciding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Author Share November 6, 2008 really, so cheap? I've not been keeping updated with prices of LCD TVs. Any good brand to recommend and roughly the price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 dun repair it... most likely its gg to be more ex. just sell it to karang guni at $30. If u insist to have a CRT, get a 2nd hand one. $200 u should be able to get a flat screen CRT liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 buy a new wan la... initially, i was a strong beliver of repair and recond...wasteful resource just to throw away...until i learn the hard way... the repair men, in his honesty, told me that no pts to repair, consider the labour cost and parts, better u buy a new set. i ask him for an est cost, and he quoted 130 (parts and labour)and proceeded with the job on the spot. just less then 2 months diff set of problems surfaced. Electronic item is diff from mech parts, all the lifespan is designed to certain age..so if the so call life span is up,it time to upz the lorry now tv is relative cheap and u get a new cover of warranty plus LCD with hi definaiton. so this is a good reason to give to urslef a get a new wan... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...