Importing jdm used car

Zyrofillica

Any bros here has done their own importing and registration of a used jdm vehicle from japan? Or has any contacts to companies that will help you import a used car?

I know there is something like 60% additional taxes on purchase and shipping cost of the vehicle and also the 3 year age rule. Has anyone ever circumvented the 3 year age successfully? Whether through illegal or legal means?

thinking of importing my dream vehicle, a galant vr4. only cost 11000 sgd for a 40k mileage car from japan! :wub::wub: :wub:

i don't know about the import thingy.

but Galant VR4 is a very very old model but it is a damn cool ride!

2.5L with V6 and best of all... Twin TURBOs!

280bhp @ 5,500rpm and 367Nm @ 4,000rpm! ROCKz! [thumbsup]

11k...u already included shipping...price of the car...tax in singapore....everything ?? except COE ??? Yes VR4 [thumbsup] Will always stare at it when i see one on the road...but don't seem popular in SG back then...

probably insurance. not that many people dig turbos, cos though almost all of us appreciate power, some of us dun like lag, and most of us are afraid of the maintenance. i think...

personally, if not for insurance, i'll be happy with a turbo petrol car. i can even accept the relatively high FC. driving a turbodiesel ride now. [grin]

for the galant VR4, i actually prefer this styling to the current lancer. i think it's more original since the current lancer was based on this.

I dont think you can import a car in if its older than 3 years old from the date of registration in country of origin.

Sorry,

Just to rectify my previous post, i wanted to add that the exception is unless its a vintage car. :X

But frankly I havent seen any imported used cars on the road.. I wonder how its even possible, considering LTA's crackdown on PIs as of late even.

You can only import used cars which are less than 3 years old. It will still go through the same tax structure, custom duties 20%, GST 7%, ARF 100%. Then there is a compulsory $10000 "fine" for an import used car. After that, you need to pay $140 registration fees, road tax and most important COE.

Given your VR4, $11000 x 1.2 + 7% = $14124.

$14124 + $11000 + $10000 + $140 + $1350 + $18000 = $54614.

That's the minimum price you need to pay to get the car registered.

On top of that, you need to buy emission reports, get the car photographed and go through the paperwork. Easily $60k.

I rather go to the boleh land, buy a VR4, make a fake licence plate and drive locally.

You can only import used cars which are less than 3 years old. It will still go through the same tax structure, custom duties 20%, GST 7%, ARF 100%. Then there is a compulsory $10000 "fine" for an import used car. After that, you need to pay $140 registration fees, road tax and most important COE.

On top of that, you need to buy emission reports, get the car photographed and go through the paperwork. Easily $60k.

I rather go to the boleh land, buy a VR4, make a fake licence plate and drive locally.

fake malaysia plate or singapore plate? SG plate very easy kena busted wor

to add on, i think premium makes would benefit more with this scheme, especially used ferraris, lambos, porsches and etc.

ya has to be less than 3 yrs old

60k for a jdm vr4 is still going to be so worth it. Problem is the 3 years. Vintage car category, must it be more than 20 years old? god damn rare in singapore, i only know got 1 black vr4 in geylang area!

malaysia vr4s are the 7th Generation ones. Haven seen any traces of the 8th generation vr4s there online or on their roads~

wait for next year or 2. when the changi racetrack is up, hopefully we can buy cars to store in the tracks and use it for race or tracking. Then you might be able to import your VR4 for racing. Way cheaper than $60k. Can modify also.

errr, i thought the latest news was changi track not going to be built cos nobody wanna pump in money to build it~

doubt govt will let up on the 3 year rule cos of one racetrack. The cars would have to be able to travel on the roads too, unless one is willing to store it at the track and only use it on track (just like an race registered bike that has no coe, cant be used on roads)