Freestylers09 5th Gear August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1001569/1/.html Saturday can use all day! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 With the relaxed regulation on Saturday, many previous non-car owners would be tempted to buy OPC cars. This is likely to result in an increase in demand for COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 29, 2009 Author Share August 29, 2009 (edited) Win Win situation for buyer and seller n LTA i think some people will think the 3pm restriction on saturday means alot to them,now without such,will be v good.especially those who work on saturday Edited August 29, 2009 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 Win Win situation for buyer and seller n LTA i think some people will think the 3pm restriction on saturday means alot to them,now without such,will be v good.especially those who work on saturday And that means more cars on the road on Saturday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Palmer 1st Gear August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 And that means more cars on the road on Saturday. I think it means more cars on the road. Those that have been sitting on the fence whether or not to get an OPC will have another plus point to get it. After a while, ERP gantries will start popping up and, of course as mentioned, COE price will start to increase. IMO, I can only see one party getting the real benefits out of this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 After a while, ERP gantries will start popping up and, of course as mentioned, COE price will start to increase. IMO, I can only see one party getting the real benefits out of this. Spot on. The bi-annual cash rebates of 1.1 grand will be spend by new OPC owners on the country's economy instead of the upfront 17 grand for the old scheme. The 17 grand actually genuinely saves on OPC's cost while the new rebate is cash, hence, owners may channel it into other avenue rather than deducting cost from the OPC itself. result? more money spent Its very similar like max 7 yr loan (old OPC scheme) vs new 10 yr loan 0 dwnpmt (new OPC scheme). Remember suddenly everybody seems to be able to "afford" a car and jam up the bloody road? Next is the e-license thingy. What seems like a fabulous improvement for OPC owners as u no longer need to go to retail shops (dunno wer as i dont drive OPC) to buy the paper coupons, u actually can top up (interestingly, the straits times didnt go into details of this like will it be cashcard or no cards) more conviently which means -> OPC owners can now potentially spend more as its more convenient n hassle-free. For e.g. last time when u need to drive in peak period i suppose u need to walk some distance (lazy) to buy the coupon so u might think "hmmmmmmm..., maybe stay hm watch TV & save money might be more financially prudent". Now, however, suppose u switch & need to drive in peak period u might think "hmmm, yes i am carrothead, lemme go online(convenient) get chop" And since its electronic -> more control (Even fatimahs prolly can chk with their scanners i suppose, maybe?) + potentially lesser work on their side (no neeed white ants spot-chk manually ma) yet more fines potentially + less dispute (dont understand? go re-watch The Matrix 00:38:44 to 00:44:00 in Chapter 12) result? more money spent not to mention more control Consolidating the jist bros shared above, more ERP or price increase + COE up + more switch OPC + more knn cars + cycle repeats = result? much more money spent Seriously in my humble opinion, this felt like 1 pebble kills many birds & eagles & vulcans & sparrows & cockroaches. Switch (new) die, dont switch (old) also die, those bystanders (normal plates) watching also die from the butterfly effects. They are damm friggin smart. The best part is this scheme is revised, not proposed,test & tweak for result clap clap. The net is spreading bigger & wider, like cancer. sigh* *pls mai sue me hor muahaha. I m a poor broke nobody & I think u ***** are fabulous & manage us fantastically. I'm in awe of ur awesomeness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear August 29, 2009 Share August 29, 2009 Spot on. The bi-annual cash rebates of 1.1 grand will be spend by new OPC owners on the country's economy instead of the upfront 17 grand for the old scheme. The 17 grand actually genuinely saves on OPC's cost while the new rebate is cash, hence, owners may channel it into other avenue rather than deducting cost from the OPC itself. result? more money spent I think there's some confussion here. The $17K rebate is for people who are buying a new OPC. THere is no change on this aspect of the OPC scheme The $1.1K cash rebate is for existing normal plate car owners who choose to convert to the OPC scheme. The change here is that for such a group of car owners, thay are getting cash back at time intervals of 6 months for as long as their car is in the scheme, as oppose paper value computation at the point when they de-register their car dunno how many years down the road. And having the cash on hand is more useful that a piece of paper of any value. Having said that, getting the cash doesn't necessarily mean that it must be spent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear August 30, 2009 Share August 30, 2009 U got it. Getting cash rebate beats the h*ll out of getting PARF which can only be encashed at the end of 10 years and also only if one is scrapping the car. I think finally the OPC scheme is a fair deal to those with changing needs. This should entice more normal car platers to convert and in turn REDUCE (not increase) the number of cars on the road during so called peak hours. Timing wise, we are know why it comes now and not earlier or later, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geogeo Neutral Newbie August 30, 2009 Share August 30, 2009 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1001569/1/.html Saturday can use all day! It will not be surprise if there are more ERP in operation too on Saturday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 30, 2009 Share August 30, 2009 It will not be surprise if there are more ERP in operation too on Saturday. We'll see lah. I for one will not be waking up any earlier (which is normally 2pm on sat) to just to drive my OPC before 3pm. Good news is that I don't have to watch what time I finsh my fri nights anymore and can drive back home to sleep around 7p. Besides even if it is the case, it won't affect me since all the ERP gantries I have to drive through to get to places I drive to are already in operation on Sat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbsm Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 Feb 13 2009, 08:31 AM | In Reply To Gnoikj Post #44 May be need to send SMS to LTA before you are on road.. Get acknowledgement msg from lta.. drive.. TP no need to stop your car.. check online if the car number is registered in the system for that day.. Pay the amnt along with your mobile bill...Simple implementation.. Wah..I give myself a ... http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...#092;&st=40 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotisland Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 Win Win situation for buyer and seller n LTA i think some people will think the 3pm restriction on saturday means alot to them,now without such,will be v good.especially those who work on saturday Surely a Win "Win" situation. Assume most of the 40K+ OPC drivers will convert to new shceme: 1. the gov wins by getting more revenu. a. one-off rev: 4 million = $100 * 40K b. annually rev: 12 million = $300 *40K c. more coupon rev because now it's easir to purchase now. 2. the OPC owners "win" by getting more driving hrs on Sat. But it's not free - they paid $300 for it. 3. gov will win again - soon there'll be more congestion on Sats and more ERP will be operating on Saturdays! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Havoline Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 Surely a Win "Win" situation. Assume most of the 40K+ OPC drivers will convert to new shceme: 1. the gov wins by getting more revenu. a. one-off rev: 4 million = $100 * 40K b. annually rev: 12 million = $300 *40K c. more coupon rev because now it's easir to purchase now. 2. the OPC owners "win" by getting more driving hrs on Sat. But it's not free - they paid $300 for it. 3. gov will win again - soon there'll be more congestion on Sats and more ERP will be operating on Saturdays! Yes u r rite, Mon-Fri jam like siao, good ERP money, now Sat & Sun also jam like siao, goody money all 7 days roads also make money, nothing goes to waste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auto_emocion 2nd Gear August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 2. the OPC owners "win" by getting more driving hrs on Sat. But it's not free - they paid $300 for it. why $300? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Havoline Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 why $300? The rd tax rebates reduce from $800 to $500 p.a. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 2. the OPC owners "win" by getting more driving hrs on Sat. But it's not free - they paid $300 for it. 3. gov will win again - soon there'll be more congestion on Sats and more ERP will be operating on Saturdays! Well done again. Another win-win situation for MIW. Losers in the end will still the car owners, red plate or normal plate. hahahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garfield1 Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 Surely a Win "Win" situation. Assume most of the 40K+ OPC drivers will convert to new shceme: 1. the gov wins by getting more revenu. a. one-off rev: 4 million = $100 * 40K b. annually rev: 12 million = $300 *40K c. more coupon rev because now it's easir to purchase now. 2. the OPC owners "win" by getting more driving hrs on Sat. But it's not free - they paid $300 for it. 3. gov will win again - soon there'll be more congestion on Sats and more ERP will be operating on Saturdays! I support the new scheme. It is one more choice for drivers. For current OPC owners, you can choose not to convert if you think paying $300 a year is not worth it to get to drive full-day on Sat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie August 31, 2009 Share August 31, 2009 For current OPC owners, you can choose not to convert if you think paying $300 a year is not worth it to get to drive full-day on Sat. LPPL..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...