DBSS Discussion (Including BTO Duxton)

WakaWaka

i can't think of any attractiveness towards DBSS

1) High selling price - can buy old condos or even apartments in prime location with that price

2) 8k household income limit

3) No facilities

4) Higher conservancy fees

5) Parking is still at $90 per car

6) 99 yrs leasehold

Most impt

7) despite paying half a million for the unit, it's essentially a HDB FLAT

is that worth it?

Absolutely agreed with you.

The worst is, HDB dun even have a proper name for it. It's call the "Condo-like HDB". WTF is that?

u bought it at the right time [thumbsup]

Actually, me was looking at the right time and the ballot swung to my favour - 2 digit number....

Wellz... thats history... [laugh]

Actually, me was looking at the right time and the ballot swung to my favour - 2 digit number....

Wellz... thats history... [laugh]

yeah... sometimes... need a bit of luck too! Good for u bro [rolleyes]

True... But if you look at HDB at the location nearby, they are only slightly cheaper... For DBSS, can save quite a bit on renovation...

Condo prices are crazy nowadays unless you talk about very ulu one...

Normal 5-rm HDB at a further away location, say Punggol or SK at ard $350K for the most expensive.

For these DBSS it's priced at $500 - 600K. That is about $200K different.

major renovation for a HDB 5-rm flat probably cost $50K you can make until like a castle already.

You still have $150K. Buy a car at $55K. With a car it doesn't matter where u live anymore. Singapore is not so big.

You still have about $100K.

is it?

didn't know that leh

oh... forgot to add. Can't sell the unit in the first 5 years

TS - DBSS is just like the EC scheme. None of them has reach the 5 years milestone yet. As such, the resale mkt for them is still unknown. After paying so much money for it, the last thing you want is to suffer a loss when u sell it

When you mentioned "Resale HDB "COV" is way too out of proportion", are you unwilling to pay or can't afford to pay? I'm not trying to diss you but if it's the latter, then DBSS might not for you

If you bought a DBSS, you can forget about selling for a profit.

You buy at $500 - $600K, how much you expect to sell? $700K?

If I am a buyer with that kind of price, I might as well buy private.

A lot of EC has already TOP for more than 5 years already. Example, Bishan loft, Floridas, Park Green, The Rivervale... Most of the resale value are not spectacular due to location except Bishan loft where the location is premium... cost average about $1mil now...

Thank you for your concern. But its more of unwilling rather than unable. COV for some location has reached 50k or more now... do you think it is worth it?

Bishan location is premium?

Assumming you drive a car from Bishan, how long does it take you to reach suntec city?

I think about 30 mins (don't consider jam at CTE and ERP charges).

If you live in SK, the new KPE will send you to suntec city in 12 mins (even at 70kmph), no traffic light, smooth drive all the way.

So you say which wan is a premium now?

If you bought a DBSS, you can forget about selling for a profit.

You buy at $500 - $600K, how much you expect to sell? $700K?

If I am a buyer with that kind of price, I might as well buy private.

Yup.. i very much agree with u... [thumbsup]

thanks for the clarification... but do think properly lah. Unless you do not intend to sell it in future, have you tot of what's the likelihood of price appreciation? I think the EC examples which you mentioned are good pointers for you to consider.

No prob [;)]

Appreciation is my main consideration also, ethnic quota is another concern when selling... Thats why a little hesitant on jumping...

But honestly, went to a few DBSS showflat, the living environment is really not bad...

Just an example,

If you look at Natura loft, the surrounding newer 5 rm flat where view and design may not be as good, but they are going for close to 580-600k (after deducting 30k grant)... compare to DBSS which is about 650k (after 30k grant). Difference is about 50k or slightly more.

Renovation (Flooring, built in wardrobe, kitchen, bathroom) for 5 rm flat is typically more than 30k.

Hence the premium to pay is about 20-30k for DBSS vs Resale. Just my analysis, feel free to comment.

Clover which is a condo development nearby cost easily more than $1mil for the equivalent of a 5 rm... but it comes with facilities of cos...

i'm another lucky one to get a unit at the Premiere. S&C charges for my 5room flat is $78 per month. Although there were some defects but overall still quite satisfied with it taking into consideration the price i paid for it ($3xx,000) & the location (got swimming pool opposite & big field where ppl like to fly kites, picnics, etc). Also within 10-15mins walking distance to Tampines Central. [thumbsup]

i shudder when i see the prices of the BTO projects nowadays ... [sweatdrop]

i'm another lucky one to get a unit at the Premiere. S&C charges for my 5room flat is $78 per month. Although there were some defects but overall still quite satisfied with it taking into consideration the price i paid for it ($3xx,000) & the location (got swimming pool opposite & big field where ppl like to fly kites, picnics, etc). Also within 10-15mins walking distance to Tampines Central. [thumbsup]

Hello, neighbour... u'd probably seen my car ard [wave]

actually, it's good that you are asking all these questions. [rolleyes]

There are lotsa of property gurus here - I'm NOT one of them - who can advise from all perspective

Bishan location is premium?

Assumming you drive a car from Bishan, how long does it take you to reach suntec city?

I think about 30 mins (don't consider jam at CTE and ERP charges).

If you live in SK, the new KPE will send you to suntec city in 12 mins (even at 70kmph), no traffic light, smooth drive all the way.

So you say which wan is a premium now?

Don't mean to argue with you.

Premium doesn't just mean travelling time... It has got to do with people's mindset as well. For example, Bukit timah and sixth ave area are not very accessible if you don't drive, even if you drive, bear in mind the jam in the morning while coming to town via BT road... but this is considered as a premium location...

If you look at the property market, traditionally Bishan, TPY, Bukit Merah, Tiong Bahru, etc has been able to command a premium, now it seems like serangoon has been rising as well...

Of cos, I dare not deny the possibility, SK property value may rise as well...

You failed to mention the indiscrimate parking along the road for people going to mosque when there is obviously a huge carpark right next to it. [crazy]

Of cos, I dare not deny the possibility, SK property value may rise as well...

[rolleyes] hahah... this will be good!!! Hoping upon completion of Punggol 21+, there will be some spillover effect to SK...kekekekeke

You failed to mention the indiscrimate parking along the road for people going to mosque when there is obviously a huge carpark right next to it. [crazy]

well that's beyond our control. I have lotsa things to say abt that but shall not elaborate any further [lipsrsealed]