Burning

Kman08

i think it's because since young, these people have been told by their parents that if you burn the joss paper in a communal place, the money will not reach your ancestors.

and also, haven't we been told not to make comments about all these burning lest the "good friends" will come a ka chiau you. so TC keep quiet lor.

Sometimes I wonder if Hell is suffering from major inflation. Even the US govt don't print money like that.

during every qing ming and 7th mth i asked myself the same question..with the amount of zeros in the moolah we burned and sent down there..i wonder how much inflation is going on.. [sweatdrop]

i think if its their belief to burn for better luck and such, they should be allowed to burn as much as they wish. come on, its only for a short duration after all :P

and appeasing ghosts does do a world of good to all

I have the same gripe abt these people...they really inconvenience others with their indiscrimante offerings. But I must say thissituation is not as bad as yester yrs..to eradicate such behaviour needs a generation or more. For those not attuned, these inconsiderate people claim that their ancestors cannot receive their offerings if burnt in a common bin....

Agree.

I would say in about another 30 yrs.

Education equips the people with knowledge. Knowledge will invariably cause people to question their faith.

i think it's because since young, these people have been told by their parents that if you burn the joss paper in a communal place, the money will not reach your ancestors.

and also, haven't we been told not to make comments about all these burning lest the "good friends" will come a ka chiau you. so TC keep quiet lor.

Eh, isit? I never heard about burning in communal places will not reach down there before.

I only know cannot make comments like , 'wahh, smelly!' sure damn jialat one.

unless they really don't know cannot say like that.. like maids! -.-

hmm..then what about those temples where they have a huge furnace provided for you to burn?

temple with huge furnance are meant to burn for the deities not individual spirits.

i didn't get any chance to visit temples in SG..but in malaysia, there are those tablets placed there to remember our dead relatives right? whenever i go there with my cousins, we also used the furnace to burn..

so much so for going green and environmental friendly...save the earth, save the trees...global warming ...dunno how many degree C world temperature increases with every 7th lunar month [smallcry]

first of all, these people dont know who they are burning for. Which ghost ? or in general Ghost ?

They have no idea at all how the ghost world works. ..... just burn for their own peace of mind. Nothing more. No loyalty, no understanding. They are not even faithful to "a" pariticular ghost. Pure Blindness. Pure ignorant and following what others do... dirty the environment.

Bro ur post is damn offensive. This is a indirect insult to ppl religion. Why is there so many terrorism acts around the world???? Becos of ppl like u. [thumbsdown]

temple with huge furnance are meant to burn for the deities not individual spirits.

Then how about temples with columbarium or even places like mandai columbarium itself? You can only burn in those huge furnaces in the premises that they designate. These are burning to the individual spirits right?

so much so for going green and environmental friendly...save the earth, save the trees...global warming ...dunno how many degree C world temperature increases with every 7th lunar month [smallcry]

another idiot posting. Since u so concern abt Global warming...... sell ur cars, throw all all your electrical appliances, quit ur job n move to the mountains and live life of a caveman. [thumbsdown]

[smallcry] dirty my house also- when i didnt close the windows in time..

Carbon: You need to clock more 'mileage' [thumbsup]

aiya... once a year, tolerate loh... back in my kampung, every day I cannot left my windows open if I were to go out... u never know when ur neighbour will start to burn the dry leaves fallen from the trees. EVERYDAY have to smell burning smoke... Here is much much better la [drivingcar]

i assumed those who complained are either free tinker or of other beliefs.

too bad this belief is just environmental unfriendly due to burning of papers but that is it. wat can u do?

some ppl live 2nd floor said the burning makes their house dirty....while some ppl live in 2nd floor complain about noise from weddings and singing....so....???

if u want privacy go stay private lor.

Well said [thumbsup] Now i know why Government keep emphasis the importance of racial harmony. Due to ppl like TS n some of those who comment here. absolute disgrace. Study so much and yet have this mentality [thumbsdown]

another idiot posting. Since u so concern abt Global warming...... sell ur cars, throw all all your electrical appliances, quit ur job n move to the mountains and live life of a caveman. [thumbsdown]

There's no need for name calling. I'm saying such not because I'm concern about the things I said. Just a general statement to what recent going Green campaign is all about. Peace man!

Hi Spiderman302, your comments on religion were uncalled for.

I am a free-thinker myself, and I know that some thoughts are best kept to myself.

As this is a public forum, negative remarks on religion are to be avoided.

Admin..... i would suggest to shut down this thread. If not, flaming war will soon start. just my humble opinion.

There's no need for name calling. I'm saying such not because I'm concern about the things I said. Just a general statement to what recent going Green campaign is all about. Peace man!

sorry for the name calling. My fault, Peace out. Just say out my thot. I find it amusing when ppl linking these burning as environmental issue. These actions are not much of an issue compare to the ways we treat our mother earth daily.

Edited by Kingcopa