Budget & Compact MPV

Aquace21

Hey all, thanks for all the inputs.

Yes, agree that probably only 15-20% of the time will require the full 7 seating, maybe even lesser. But then when you need it, you really need it. Thats why considering to change. Well, its exactly becoz of the "not so often" usage which is why I try to refrain from considering the full-size MPVs, which are generally poorer in FC, have higher running costs (insurance, rd tax) and are definitely more expensive upfront as well.

I'm surprised that the Freed and Sienta actually can seat adults quite comfortably in last row, so am really considering.

Havent tried the T7 and Exora though. But hmm.. proton.. <_<

Did not try the APV as well. But somehow I find that the car is very narrow. Can seat 3 in the 2nd row comfortably?

Maybe I havent asked around enough for the Sienta. I was quoted $69k for the highest end model.

Here is my view.

Tried T7 - 3rd row is for kid only.

Proton - Got size but under power most likely FC will suffer.

APV - too heavy very bad FC.

Freed is quite good but too expensive VS. Sienta.

When I bought my Sienta, I was considering FREED but the price in 10K different. So far happy with my decision on Sienta which give me around 16 to 17 km/l plus I can carry 5 adult + 3 kids all the way up to Genting and Fraser Hill without any problem.

I'm considering to upgrade to a MPV (used or new) to cater for increase of family headcount. Looking at a budget compact MPV where 2nd/3rd row space is the key considerable factor. Did a brief survey on some available models in the market and comprehensively tried them out. I'm 1.78m (77kg)and I used myself as a benchmark - if I'm comfortable in the 3rd row seat, then that should be it. How I tested the cars - sat in driver seat and adjust till comfy, then move to seat behind driver and adjust till comfy, then move to last row and see how it feels.

Maybe you should try out Toyota ISIS. It was my target when i was looking to buy a MPV but the price for it then was very high so i opt for wish instead. ISIS is sliding door, 3rd row seat is comfortable (i'm 1.77m) can can be easily stow flat. Though it looks a bit squarish in stock condition but i do see some nicely modded ISIS around also. Just dun book a silver colour for it cos it will look like a liteace van fm the back.

well...what's your current ride? is it a 1.6L sedan? do you find your current ride powerful enough for you? driving a 1.5L MPV is going to be really stressful for the engine...

having sat in both Freed&Sienta...i'd personally go for the Sienta if i had to choose...

FREED

the seats in the Freed are too low to the ground, so in the 2nd&3rd row i feel like squatting...(I'm only 1.7m and 70kg)

+if you fold up the 3rd row seats in the Freed, it'll be blocking the 3rd window, which creates a huge blind spot when parking&driving...i oso find the all black interior very dull, drab and boring...it's also too plastic for my liking...the air-con vents are also small on the dash...don't think the air from it will reach the 2nd row with ease, let alone the 3rd row...and in our hot&humid climate [sunny] ...think about it...0-100kph comes [email protected] is lethargic...you'll need to constantly rev the car with 7people in it just to keep up with traffic or to drive@90kph on the highway [rifle] ...basically you'll be on the 2nd lane with 5-7adults in this car...

SIENTA

you seat high in this car so you don't have to stretch out your legs like what you'd normally do in a sedan...however, the design is really dated now...being in the market since 2002...3rd row seats are comfortable, but only for 2adults though...the beige interior is more lively and fresher for you and your passenger...the Toyota should be more comfortable to drive as well, with Toyota being comfort orientated compared to the Sporty character of the Honda...there isn't 2nd&3rd row air-con though, so your pax may be sweating a bit [sweatdrop] after 30mins of drive...and the 1.5VVT-i 109bhp engine needs some revving to get it moving...

i agree that the Sienta despite really being a 7year old car now...is still priced ridiculously high...there's the Passo Sette from PI...also selling at the same price...maybe you should go check the car out...

i wouldn't advise you to get the APV as that is a VAN!! [thumbsdown] it cannot sit 3 adults across comfortably in the 2nd&3rd row...performance is also a laughing stock...you better take corners slowly too@40kph or less...or else you risk toppling the APV over!!

if you're really desperate for space though, only the PROTON EXORA will suite your needs [thumbsup] ...it's really astonishing as to the amount of space this car really has (closer to PICNIC than WISH)...i'm waiting for the rumoured Super/Turbo charged version to come though as i think the 1.6CPS 125bhp engine does no justice in hauling the 1445kg car with ease...there's air-con vents for 2nd&3rd row pax too...and it's $10k cheaper than the Freed/Sienta...

The Sienta and the Passo Sette, although both being Toyota 1.5L 7seaters, Passo Sette is designed as a much more budget car than Sienta with much less features and flexibility, so given the same price, always go for Sienta and NOT the Passo Sette.

Sienta's aircon never has any problem blowing all the way to the last row if u know how to adjust the blower direction. U know why? Because Sienta is short. The distance from blower to the last row is not as long as other MPVs. U can verify my claim with other Sienta owners, don't need to believe my words only.

Sienta X-Limited is BLACK interior, for those who likes a more traditional color. Sienta G version is beige interior. Don't bother buying Sienta X or X'S version due to no auto door.

To TS, do try to read more and understand the difference between X-Limited and G version. Although G version being the highest end and have the keyless entry/lock, optitron meters, Climatic control auto-aircon with built in Mitsubishi Ionizer in the A/C, additional soundproofing, plus other extras, some people find this extra features can do without, and many get the X-Limited instead.

Do Freed have the features of the Sienta G? I don't know because I don't know what are the different types of Freed.

Edited by Sgnick

How about Freed GL7? THe central walkthru feature is really attractive, and the 2 middel row's captains seats are comfy++

Are u sure the captains seat comfy?

Or maybe i m too fat?

I find the seats smaller than usual leh!Can anyone confirm?

Are u sure the captains seat comfy?

Or maybe i m too fat?

I find the seats smaller than usual leh!Can anyone confirm?

any model that carry a HONDA is good. [lipsrsealed]

How about Freed GL7? THe central walkthru feature is really attractive, and the 2 middel row's captains seats are comfy++

Have anyone tried walking through the 2 middle row captain seats to reach the rear seats? How is it? Maybe I am too fat, but I find it awkard, and this makes it difficult for elderly to access the rear seats.

I rather have the 8 seater version where I can tumble the middle row seats forward so that I can access the rear seats easily.

any model that carry a HONDA is good. [lipsrsealed]

Oh yes, is a dream of every Singaporean to own a Honda at least once in their lifetime, and if it's comes with a VTEC, they will die with no regrets. [lipsrsealed]

Have anyone tried walking through the 2 middle row captain seats to reach the rear seats? How is it? Maybe I am too fat, but I find it awkard, and this makes it difficult for elderly to access the rear seats.

I rather have the 8 seater version where I can tumble the middle row seats forward so that I can access the rear seats easily.

I only seen the 7 seater, so only can give my comment on 7 seater. I like the walktru very much. I am >1.7m, middle build and I found no problem for me to walk through to 3rd row.

However, I think interior of Freed is looks cheapo due to material use. And also, my leg always hit the front.

I need to dig my old post, I did a very short review on Freed 7 seater long time back.

Oh yes, is a dream of every Singaporean to own a Honda at least once in their lifetime, and if it's comes with a VTEC, they will die with no regrets. [lipsrsealed]

Haha, maybe my next car is Honda? [drivingcar]

I only seen the 7 seater, so only can give my comment on 7 seater. I like the walktru very much. I am >1.7m, middle build and I found no problem for me to walk through to 3rd row.

However, I think interior of Freed is looks cheapo due to material use. And also, my leg always hit the front.

I need to dig my old post, I did a very short review on Freed 7 seater long time back.

Ok, found the link:

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...092;freed\

Finally I got the chance to view the 7 seater (CL package) Freed at Fabulous Motor at Upper Paya Lebar (Sorry, no car to view at Excalibur).

Like:

1) The walk in concept of 7 seater is . I am more than 1.7 m tall and yet I can walked (bent down a bit) from 1st row to 3rd row. My kid will surely like it a lot (which is not so safe in fact ).

2) The interior and the layout is good, very spacious. I guess maybe due to it is a much taller car, I feel it is much spacious as compare to Stream.

3) The seat at driver seat and 2nd row is very spacious and comfortable.

4) 3rd row also feel quite good, as the car is tall.

5) The sliding door is goood, the left side is with power door.

Dislike:

1) Not sure how true (based on SE), it seems that 2nd row of 7 seater can not be fold down, only 5 and 8 seater can

2) The dashborad is too broad, and my knee hit the right hand side panel where it has certain portion pertruding out when I want to exit from the driver seat (maybe can solve by adjusting the seat a bit)

3) Certain parts of the car is very plasticky.

4) The way the 3rd row was fold is not very good.

5) Do not like the rear look.

5) The car is a bit too narrow and tall (just my personal opinion). As it is narrow, I am wonder can it seat 3 in one row

6) No enough compartment.

I heard another MIM MPV is coming and is base on Toyota/Daihatsu model.....but duuno when though.... [sweatdrop]

Yes, from Perodua. It is copy of the Toyota Passo Sette which is now sold as a PI car, and the Daihatsu Boon Luminas. If u like the Passo Sette, maybe wait and see if Perodua will sell cheaper.

This is just like Toyota Passo = Daihatsu Sirion (Boon) = Perodua Myvi.

Edited by Sgnick

I've not tried the Mazda 5 yet, but the price is quite abit higher ($85k?) I think. The 2L capacity also sort of discouraging me too.

May check out the Isis. What is the pricing if anyone know?

Currently I'm driving a 1.4A sedan, power is so-so but I'm still ok with it. I guess power is not so much of a priority for me. Tested drove KM's Freed before and it definitely feels more powerful than my current ride, though I only have 3 passengers inside during the test drive. Not sure how its like if there are 6 passengers.

I tried both the Freed 7GL and 8GL. I personally prefer the 8 seater as the way the 2nd row is folded (collapse fwd totally) presents an easier entry to 3rd row compared to the 7 seater. Yes the walk thru is pretty cool and I dun have much problem using that. But I guess for elders, its gonna be a little difficult for them to bend down and walk thru.

If the Sienta Xlimited is $10k cheaper than Freed 8GL, I definitely do no mind choosing it. Anyone who got one recently and for how much?

i got a quote of 1600-1800 without any NCD...

you sure the Freed aisle can walk through? i had to walk sideways to access the last row of seats...

today i saw an Airwave...driver revving the nuts of the engine...it wasn't going significantly as fast though, as it should be going despite all that revving, yet it still makes so much noise...and it's not a very nice sounding engine noise to me...

you all sure Honda's of today is the same as the past?

i got a quote of 1600-1800 without any NCD...

you sure the Freed aisle can walk through? i had to walk sideways to access the last row of seats...

today i saw an Airwave...driver revving the nuts of the engine...it wasn't going significantly as fast though, as it should be going despite all that revving, yet it still makes so much noise...and it's not a very nice sounding engine noise to me...

you all sure Honda's of today is the same as the past?

Today is the era of TSI and DSG liao.

Side track abit. Can any existing owner of Freed or Sienta review how much is your yearly insurance?

My Sienta OPC is $500 last year and $550 this year.