Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 9, 2009 Share October 9, 2009 been reading thru forums and web.quite confused with all these terms.what do they mean by a bricked PSP?what happens if from a custom firmware version 3+ has been upgraded to official firmware version 5+?is this considered bricked?or is there still a way to install custom firmware? i've been playing around with a 2nd hand PSP2006 coz i love meddling around with gadgets. (no intent to play 'games',just experimenting.just like playing around with a PC registry,overclocking,etc.just a hobby) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear October 9, 2009 Share October 9, 2009 bricked means spoil liao...just like bricked router, bricked modem....electronic component inside device being fried or something like that... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 9, 2009 Share October 9, 2009 been reading thru forums and web.quite confused with all these terms.what do they mean by a bricked PSP?what happens if from a custom firmware version 3+ has been upgraded to official firmware version 5+?is this considered bricked?or is there still a way to install custom firmware? i've been playing around with a 2nd hand PSP2006 coz i love meddling around with gadgets. (no intent to play 'games',just experimenting.just like playing around with a PC registry,overclocking,etc.just a hobby) Don't know anything about the PSP, but in general "bricked" means that the gadget has stopped working and there's practically no chance of getting it working again. Generally, it carries a non-hardware related implication, and the most common cause is corrupt firmware. This can screw up a device so bad that not only does it stop working, there's no way to update it with working firmware either. This is why I'll never upgrade my router's or DVR's firmware while they're working fine. One power trip or one bad data transfer, and boomz, instant bricks. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 9, 2009 Author Share October 9, 2009 thanks bros for the definitions.but so far,i see that the PSP is working fine except now it's in official firmware version 5+..thought of trying to install custom firmware back coz previously it was on custom firmware Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geminik Neutral Newbie October 9, 2009 Share October 9, 2009 (edited) PSP of older batch, when bricked (spoilt due to improper installation of software or corrupted firmware) they can be reflashed using a pandora battery and magic memory stick. If ur custom firmware is upgraded to an official firmware, u will need the pandora and magic memory stick and a fat psp. Alternatively, u can use a new method called ChickHen exploit and mod ur official to custom firmware. This method works for all batches of PSP and it do not need any special tools, juz the software and an original memory stick. Edited October 9, 2009 by Geminik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 16, 2009 Author Share October 16, 2009 that's wat i'm trying to do but unsuccesful.it seems that the chickHen just won't run on my PSP.are there any additional steps on running it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 16, 2009 Share October 16, 2009 Go in JB (cheaper), get your set upgrade/downgrade for you. Only RM20. They are expert there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 16, 2009 Share October 16, 2009 some years back i hands itchy tried to upgrade my new pda firmware myself, used the upgrade software downloaded from web and ran for the whole night but didn't show signs of complete... left it connected there until the 3nd day, decided that its gone... true enough, it was bricked... heart pain for weeks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie October 16, 2009 Share October 16, 2009 yeah just bring the set in then let them do it for u........can get games install into memory stick too...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X_RAIDER Neutral Newbie October 16, 2009 Share October 16, 2009 But take note, warrenty by SONY will be void after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikamura Neutral Newbie October 17, 2009 Share October 17, 2009 any realiable shop in SG rather then JB? heard from friends that it cost about $10 to do it in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie October 17, 2009 Share October 17, 2009 Anyone wanna let me try it? Dun worry.......psp would brick so easily.....my psp upgrade / downgrade firmware so many times.....no issue so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnolard Neutral Newbie October 17, 2009 Share October 17, 2009 u upgrade to sony official firmware means u can play ahem games anymore.... so dun ever do such a thing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear October 17, 2009 Author Share October 17, 2009 for a fee?or for free? coz i want to pick up some skills too.(not for profit,but for own knowledge) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie October 18, 2009 Share October 18, 2009 Free service lah........but no warranty ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...