Chain Collision

Arikevin

I was involved in a chain collision. total there were 8 cars involved and i was the 4th car.

wad is the usual outcome for the one in the middle?

pls advise and thanks very much in advance.

I was involved in a chain collision. total there were 8 cars involved and i was the 4th car.

wad is the usual outcome for the one in the middle?

pls advise and thanks very much in advance.

It depends.If you only hear 1 bang,you claim from the last car.Similiar to the car infront.I believe your car hit the car in front?If the car infront hear 1 bang,he also claim from the last car.If the car infront hear 2 bang,and you hear 1 bang,means he claim from you and the last car.If he hear 5 consecutive bangs,he claim a little from each of you.I know it's confusing.How many bangs you hear?if 1 bang,claim last car,more than 1 bang go sort out who causes the additional bang.Hope it helps. [blush]

hear 1 bang or 5 bang, after tio bang, sure all forgot... :D

If forget,all say 1 bang lor. ^_^ That's what happen when people are the middle car,all will kei siao and say 1 bang!and the last car suck thumb cause he doesn't know whether his 1 bang will cause so many bang. [laugh] With that,only the last car insurance fly.the rest should be ok.

Ur insurance company will claim from the 5th car to the 8th car. But the 1st,2nd,3rd car will claim ur insurance + the 4 car behind ur car. Was in a Chain Collision 3 years back mine was 5 cars. I was the 3rd car. that's how the claim goes.

End of story 1st car NCD will not kana. But u'll see a HUGE spike when u renew ur insurance next year.

From the damage you should be able to assess to a certain extent. If the guy hit your rear first then you hit the front car, the damage on your rear will be much worse than the damage on your front, because your boot already absorbed most of the impact before you hit the car in front. If you hit the car in front first, his boot's damage will be quite bad, etc. It's a chain of assessment to come up with something useful.

why first car got spike in insurance premium when the other cars are paying for the repairs? is it because nowadays insurance also clamping down on accident-prone drivers?

i heard 4 bangs one after another.. knn! dun wanna relive tat moment

Oh..Tat's kinda bad.I think at that point of time,you should just let go the brake,let it kiss the car in front so they can "feel" the impact and you're not in the fault. [sly]

insurance companies will go by the Barometer of Liability Assessment (BOLA). See attachment.

Except for 1st car, every one else behind will be 100% liable (meaning NCD wiped out unless you've NCD protection in your policy).

The vehi in front of u will claim against your insurance, likewise you should claim 3rd party against the veh directly behind u.

Of course, there are exceptions and complications, such as when the car in front of u and the one directly behind u decide to send their veh to the same workshop and cook up a co*k n bull story (e.g. u hit the car infront, panic and reverse then hit the one behind. I'm not joking, this is a real life example).

Barometer_of_Liability_Chart_v3_dated_1_Jun_08.pdf

Hi bro. Think i mislead u. The 1st car will not get any spike in its insuance. but from the 2nd to 8th car all will have a spike in the insurance. Most of them might have their NCD taken away from them expect the 1st car.

Best advice is try not to tailgate in the morning heavy traffic(Not saying TS tailgate. :) Cos sure got kuku drivers E brake for no reason to cause this kind of accident.

wah..still have flashbacks of my own chain collision. A white edix slammed his brakes at PIE towards changi(Eunos exit).Can't see for wat reason coz i was 2nd car behind him.there was a black Jazz in front of me.Jazz couldn't brake in time,banged straight to the rear.I managed to e-brake till ABS activated.heng that managed to stop just about 1 feet away coz i always keep a safe distance while driving.(first time experienced ABS,indescribable feeling)

LUCKILY,i did not let go of my foot brake.Just as i was about to feel relieved that i didn't bang the Jazz,few seconds later,3 bangs to my rear.and all this while my foot is planted on my brakes and didn't manage to bang the jazz in front of me.

My insurance claim all the way to the 3 cars behind me.feel sad for the car behind me.could see that the car is just 2mths old,a new VIOS.P-plate some more..Up till now,i do feel really lucky for not letting go of my brakes.if not,confirm my car will bang in front and my NCD gone too.Thank God!

u're involved in the accidentl along aye towards jurong ah? i think was 2 days ago around 10am

mine was yday at ard 1045hrs.. the first car was a lady driver wif a baby onboard.. there was another chain accident on the opposite direction.. this was my first car accident involving other vehicles. i was expecting shouts/fights/ugly scenes. but everybody was calm and jz take down plate number/ic/tel number.

btw, there was an accident 2 days ago at the same location also?

Edited by Arikevin

the scene yday was like a movie accident scene.. got music playing in the background and when the collision happened, the music disappeared and the sound effects was very loud!

the scene keeps repeating in my head now damn

insurance companies will go by the Barometer of Liability Assessment (BOLA). See attachment.

Except for 1st car, every one else behind will be 100% liable (meaning NCD wiped out unless you've NCD protection in your policy).

The vehi in front of u will claim against your insurance, likewise you should claim 3rd party against the veh directly behind u.

Of course, there are exceptions and complications, such as when the car in front of u and the one directly behind u decide to send their veh to the same workshop and cook up a co*k n bull story (e.g. u hit the car infront, panic and reverse then hit the one behind. I'm not joking, this is a real life example).

i have read this chart and it is useful

the scene yday was like a movie accident scene.. got music playing in the background and when the collision happened, the music disappeared and the sound effects was very loud!

the scene keeps repeating in my head now damn

i saw an accident near amber road....