Avante: Squeaky steering wheel

Peqasus

Hey noticed my 2 yr old avante had this squeaky noise whenever if steer to the rite. Left is normal. Looks like hv to bring it back to KMC for warranty. anyone with similar issues??

this tread has been here for abt 24hr....3 posts...2 from TS..

where are all those ppl who give a tump up for avante in tread like 'avante vs forte vs cruse vs fit'?

Is there a need for a reply like this? It doesn't even address TS's concern.

Anyway, to TS, i started having this squeaking sound from my steering wheel recently, be it left or right. It is really high pitch. After checking with my mechanic, it is the plastic/synthetic rubber rubbing against each other between the steering wheel and the mounting. Not a safety concern for my case. Make sure wheels not rubbing against fender.

Perhaps, you can describe more how the squeak is like. Is it a long tone squeak, or is it squeaking at certain interval? Is the pitch high? When did it start? Does the turning feels more resistant than before?

it sounds more like 2 plastic rubbing against ea other. so far googled ard realise not many avante owners hv this problem.

how to replicate squeaks

- turn wheel fully to the rite,

- straightening....squeak.

more like squeak squeak and not a long squeak. turning feels ok. anyway booked a slot with KMC this friday to check it. driving to malacca on 27 Nov so tot better be safe than sorry. then again worried if after svcg they do more things make it worse. haiz.

based on my driving habits i am not surprised right turning may hv issue. on average, i need to circle (right hand bend) 8 times up 8 times down 4 times weekly for my multistory parking. too many cars so hv to park at lvl 4.

park 4 times per wk, 16 times (up down) per parking, 2 rev per time, 52 wks a yr = 6656 revolutions per yr.

my avante coming to 2 yrs tat means i've turned right 13200 times more then my left turn.

seems like a very unbalanced wear and tear. the qn is, i know avante is electronic steering. so wonder wat r the possible wear and tear parts. Camry has this issue acknowledged by toyota. but googled so far no much similar issues on avante. then again could be a smaller user base.

Hey Lynaug, was ur problem rectified finally? or jus live with the "mice" inside the steering wheels?

Edited by Peqasus

I am driving with mice. Not too big a concern as it can't really be heard when music is on...

Anyway, the road noise and engine revving sound is so much greater than the squeaking.....

heyproblems solved

I reported the following issues

1) Squeaky steering wheel: They lubricated the steering column

2) Front right wheel has knocking sound over high bumps: Replacement shock gas absorber.

Woohoo...now feels like the first time i took my avante. the new absorber soaks up the road imperfections better!!!!

tats becoz even myself, avante owner dun hav this prob leh.. so how to comment???

My Altis(08) has this issue.Sent back to BM and got it rectified.They didnt just lub but replace the entire steering assembly.Your problem may be solve temporary.It may come back after the lub wear off.I'm similiar to you,monday to friday up and down MSCP.But I doubt is due to up ramp,if going up ramp will have this issue,then most likely the affected parts is shock/damper.And I dun always chiong up ramp,do it slow and steady.unless the rack and pinon so weak,cannot tahan up ramp.