Lycanthrope 4th Gear October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 test drove tucson and santa fe today tucson - pickup is quite good , can feel its perkiness , but handling wise could be improved, love its new accessories ..start/stop button , moon/sun roof,18" rims, spacious interior , but would prefer to have a 2nd row aircon vents , good sound insulationn , but gears changing i feel a bit weird , reverse camera is on the rear mirror ..cool !! Santa fe : pick up is enough to move her , but handling is good , stable and firm , not much gadgets to play with though, love its space and its rear aircons , and the 7 seats, if only can add the push/start stop button ..its will be best noted that tucson , max km/hr is 240 , whereas santa fe maxx is 220 , does it matter ? now 2 added dilemma ....dunno what to choose ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 Saw in today ST newspaper, Sorento is selling at $99K for limited units at KIA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 thats is the EX version Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silkworm Neutral Newbie October 23, 2010 Share October 23, 2010 Attractive drop in price as price drop bigger than COE drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 wonder ... 2.4litre cars for eg..santa fe compared to tucson . which one is more marketable , easiler to sell off ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie October 24, 2010 Share October 24, 2010 MPOV, 2 litres engine will be in favor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 wonder ... 2.4litre cars for eg..santa fe compared to tucson . which one is more marketable , easiler to sell off ? SHld be the lower CC able to sell off better. Cos of the rd tax here, 2.4L rd tax higher. Like the previous tucson, more popular than the santa fe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear October 25, 2010 Share October 25, 2010 (edited) Tucson will be the potential choice over santa fe liao due to resale popularity as compared to santa fe , could be difficult to sell in future , unless they decide to sell santa fe at an even lower price so guys currently with tucson or test drove the tucson ..please help to comment on tucson before confirming the deal .... Edited October 25, 2010 by Lycanthrope Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie October 26, 2010 Share October 26, 2010 You are buying the car right, most importantly is how you feel on the car, does it cater to your lifestyle and demand? Tucson Pro look good from the outside, feel good to drive with. Cons Front cabin abit small to me. Engine... not sure why I dont like the sound leh wahahaha, can sound proof lar Price abit on the high side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentux 1st Gear October 27, 2010 Author Share October 27, 2010 hey pentux, long time havent caught up with you. Hope your SX doing fine. Quick ques; since the one petrol cap incident it has never happened again? For the last 3 pump fills have had to force the cap open :-( . So now i have a tactic; i get the pump attendant to standby at the cap -> i press the button -> he lightly "palm-punches" the cap -> after 3-4 times it pops open. Hahahah.. 2 person strategy to open a cap, for a car barely 6 mths only.. "Kia -> the power to surprise" hi, yah happened once only...y dun u brg bk ask KIA take a look n fix the prob....make some noise...i am waiting for my KIA "recall" letter to come b4 i go bk n ask them to fix my seat. the seat where is foldable to allow people to move to 3rd round, the padding at the back came off...need their help to put bk the screw...not sure u understand me or not...came out super long time ago...probably 1st week i got the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 hope they get it fixed asap for you too pentux. Seems so far the issues with first batch of sorentos are mainly cosmetic only, nothing structural or engine related. Saw another white SX last tuesday lunchtime at beach road. Its a very impressive color for the sorento, but because of the rain this past week there were "streak marks" running down the side, like a bit yellowish marks on the side of the white doors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BuB Neutral Newbie October 28, 2010 Share October 28, 2010 White look big & nice but when its dirty... that is what I am afraid of yellowish mark, if not clean or wash up... the stain will stay there for sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sko Neutral Newbie November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 Saw that EX is going for $99,999 while the SX is going for $117,999. Any bro here happen to know the reason? Price difference between the two used to be $10,000 only .... .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anshng Clutched November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 coz nobody want to buy EX so they have to make it cheaper to make it sell?SO far most of the ones i saw are SX Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear November 3, 2010 Share November 3, 2010 i rather buy santa fe with sunroof than the sorento EX lah .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divedarren Neutral Newbie November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 just fyi, review comparison between the santa fe and the sorento, same source: Santa Fe Sorento factor in different engine types/specs for the US market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sko Neutral Newbie November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 Thanks for the links. Seems like a rather favorable review of the 2wd Sorento, other than the 'raspiness' on engine drag and 'bumpiness' in the ride. Not major issues if one is a lighted footed driver traveling on the relatively smooth sgp roads ....I suppose ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear November 4, 2010 Share November 4, 2010 both using the same engine and transmission leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...