Aaron_soh80 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 does driving a QQ have an added side effect of leading people to think you're living beyond your means? Nope... only feel xia sway to drive or sit on it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 planing to get small car...go for chevrolet spark..go 170KM/hrs...with 4 ppl...i've tried it..save fuel too..SIN-KL..to n fro 5x no prob... We are not born in yesterday.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starengine Neutral Newbie June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 may not be, i bought my OPC matrix 4 yrs ago, pay full cash, also got friend say i should take loan and get better car or normal plate. We all have our own way of saving and spending. To me, car is not sth I must have, so I only buy it when i have enough spare cash. Owning a car is just to bring me more convenience and make myself happy cos if you're driving (esp an OPC) QQ you're unlikely to have paid in full? cos if you have that cash most people would have plonked down on a deposit for something else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 lol... why you reply to me ? ... I'm QQ driver too man... haha I think the sale person didn't warn you about the side effects of a AMT car of such small CC. I have absolutely no problem driving in my MT 0.8 QQ. I can do up MSCP slope fully packed in gear 2. In Expressway, I drive in all lanes just dun hog when the car behind is faster that's all. Regarding flyover, I guess the inability to drag gear makes your AMT suffers alot that's why you got horned. =) Whatever all the others said... FC good can already as that's the area you LL have to spend but you spend less ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 the QQ CAN go up multistorey carpark even with air con on, and almost 350kg load in te car, 3 big size and 1 small size passenger. Annoying thing is halfway going up the slope, it will engage into 2nd gear from 1st gear, the car will jerk abit, but it will still go up. Just use the manual mode to lock it into 1st gear. Other cars with automated-manual transmissions sometimes shift into 2nd halfway up a slope, but they probably have more power and torque than the QQ so not so noticeable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelwong 2nd Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 lol... why you reply to me ? ... I'm QQ driver too man... haha I think the sale person didn't warn you about the side effects of a AMT car of such small CC. I have absolutely no problem driving in my MT 0.8 QQ. I can do up MSCP slope fully packed in gear 2. In Expressway, I drive in all lanes just dun hog when the car behind is faster that's all. Regarding flyover, I guess the inability to drag gear makes your AMT suffers alot that's why you got horned. =) Whatever all the others said... FC good can already as that's the area you LL have to spend but you spend less ;) not specifically replying to anybody lah, just happened to click on your post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 planing to get small car...go for chevrolet spark..go 170KM/hrs...with 4 ppl...i've tried it..save fuel too..SIN-KL..to n fro 5x no prob... 2nd that... pica and spark are taxis in vietnam.. maybe thats a testament to their reliability? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TourDe-Wlands79 Neutral Newbie June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 Just got my 1st 1.1M QQ at a good deal and I love every bit of it! Main reason I love it cos it's cheap and affordable. Looks cute and decent to drive. Plus, it's comfort on the inside too. Having fully paid it, so I don't have to worry for the monthly installment where I'd easily have to fork out 1k/month if I choose my desired peugeot 207cc. Performance-wise is not that bad. I can manage to overtake cars traveling at 80km/h, and can easily hit 100km/h, still feels stable and safe inside. Also, no problem of going uphill whatsoever. I would say owning and driving a car makes me very happy at least now that I'm free from public transportation. I think this is a good decision to purchase QQ afterall. Next, I will upgrade my tyres and rims to make it more sporty and safer on the road Chery QQ ftw! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clneosg Clutched June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 ya. selling my QQ as wife seldom drive the OPC car. Only 5400km only less than 1 yr.... I also drive my QQ during weekends, so nothing to xia xuay about. Also pay cash in full. No big deal. I am currently driving new Volvo S80 2.5T. So what's so xia xuay about QQ? It is just a vehicle where you can enjoy the noise of the car that sound like, hm... a sports car becos sports car make alot of noise! haha... It is all up in the mind dude! So long as you are confident and wallet lots of cash, no big deal on those blokes who don't have cash and yet live beyond their means earning measely salaries and still buy cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) hi ts my buddy changed from a nissan sunny to a QQ manual cos he wanted a low cost vehicle to go from a to b.. i ask why dun buy picanto he says was abit expensive compare to qq and i said kelisa will be better but he felt the QQ being bigger and all.. it is not true that china cars are better than boleh land any wira that you meet can flat a china car, and moddified wira and flat my lancer and avante which i drove to malacca, my 2.2 litre fiat kenah flat by wira and waja in 2008 when i went KL... so yup.. and the wira full load btw.. and some kelisa / kranchil has really good handling, my msian uncle and wife are 90kg each plus their son about 70kg made it up cameron highlands faster and more ahead that my uncles in wish, altis and axio.. anyway my friend regretted.. he says that QQ is ok just that servicing and maintence is costly. for starters brakepads is $130 per pair not forgetting that its a very small car.. kelisa brakepad is $60 sing a pair change at local agent.. everytime something spoils you change it then something else will spoil.. he says that his servicing is nearly a price of a merc, no kidding.. we know cos we used to help our boss send their E200 kompressor for service at c&c ubi and help them pay first... 1st yr it was ok, 2.5yrs onwards it starts to be shitty and now 3.5 years onwards its merc pricing. i can arrange lunch for you to meet him and his QQ.. he is stuck with it anyway.. one of his neighbour saw him with the QQ bought the QQ and in 6 months sold off later the neighbour bump intonhim and was shocked.. he was like i bought the car cos i saw you driving for one year plus so i thought not bad after i bought so heartache, and you are still driving, my friend laugh cos he is stuck with it.. there is nothing wrong with the car unlike some pple say until very chia liat just that servicing and maintainence for wear and tear is high so very heartache.. not cos the car cannot perform etc.. unless you got good friends going china often then its still ok cos my friend went shanghai the other time and bought alot of parts back, a pair of brake pads was like $15 sing.. so he bought parts back to keep for change if wear and tear or for servicing lor... the car is ok, really.. just that local agent ketok you good news is that his QQ can reach genting highlands without problems and he whack his QQ to 145km/h on NSH. I went to Malacca last year in a 1.6 lancer and met an orange auto QQ at causeway.. when i reach malacca and after i checked in, put my bags and freshen up abit, i left the hotel and at the lobby i saw the same QQ at the traffic junction outside my lobby. the QQ was about 30mins behind me which i thought it was not too bad actually but to save you money in the long run, i suggest you get a picanto, or kelisa cos kelisa can do everything in jB confirm got parts, picanto is a good car my buddy a high flyer just sold off the picanto which bought when in uni, and sold off cos spend 20 days in Taiwan office and car under used everyday sitting in the underground carpark haha :) sometimes i go help send for servicing etc haha its a good car and reliable and looks cute and not too shabby.. plus always go back to c&c for servicing and pricing is still ok.. go for reliablity, cheap to own but expensive to maintain no use.. i rather you get picanto, getz or boleh car, at least its quite reliable and for that pricr very few complaints... good luck in deciding.. Edited July 1, 2010 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 the Picanto looks small on the outside, is decently spacious for 4 adults on the inside, with the ability to carry a decent amount of stuff in the boot.... and still has that lively engine note to bring the car up to speeds.... Chery QQ on the other hand, i think in it's 5th generation (as in improvement versions) if i'm not wrong, has a really decent interior build quality that will shame cars costing twice or even thrice as much....its really decently well put together, and not using those cheap and brittle, thin plastics (as in the first few versions).... such cars do make sense as a cheap motoring alternative to taking public transport and offers more than enough comfort levels for 2 adults and the occasional ferrying of another 2/3 adults in the rear.... a pity though is Chery Vertex, who don't know how to package this car to compete against the Kia Picanto....and their servicing really telok.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Stress.........Dont know Chery QQ...or Hafei Lobo...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Just got my 1st 1.1M QQ at a good deal and I love every bit of it! Main reason I love it cos it's cheap and affordable. Looks cute and decent to drive. Plus, it's comfort on the inside too. Having fully paid it, so I don't have to worry for the monthly installment where I'd easily have to fork out 1k/month if I choose my desired peugeot 207cc. Performance-wise is not that bad. I can manage to overtake cars traveling at 80km/h, and can easily hit 100km/h, still feels stable and safe inside. Also, no problem of going uphill whatsoever. I would say owning and driving a car makes me very happy at least now that I'm free from public transportation. I think this is a good decision to purchase QQ afterall. Next, I will upgrade my tyres and rims to make it more sporty and safer on the road Chery QQ ftw! WTF? r u serious ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Stress.........Dont know Chery QQ...or Hafei Lobo...... Both ur choice are suxs bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) i hate those people who look down on budget cars.... you're one of them.... stop being so snobbish on China cars.... you don't know what you're laughing at.... Edited July 1, 2010 by Ferraricalifornia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yenyenpark 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) so what is the summary?? any bro wanna share? I saw a Chery QQ with broken handles (plastic handles) near Chevrolet showroom when I went there few months ago.. really wish to know if it's the model issue or etc.. I wonder should I downgrade from my Jap to smaller CC car, since I hardly use the car.. (normally I ride to office in good day to avoid heavy traffic) Edited July 1, 2010 by Yenyenpark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TourDe-Wlands79 Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Yes, I'm serious. I love my QQ. My opinion is mostly reserved for 1st time owner and to buyers who dont want to be tied up by the monthly installment like I do. As I still want to have my monthly savings for bigger project in life. Back to topic and I'll reiterate: The latest generation QQ is a good car. Cute and decent to drive. Most importantly, It can get you from point A to B. It can ferry you with additional 2 adults at rear like some bro mentioned earlier. It can go upslope with ease. Though I believe if you want a QQ, go for the 1.1M(A) version as you will get the extra power for the initial pickup and during highway cruise. You won't regret paying a little more for better performance. What's more, it has CD player/radio, 4 power window controls, fully air-conditioned and a pair of front fog light - just like every cars do these days. Simply put, it's a very basic car with all the essentials you need from a budget car. However, I do agree in comparision that Chery QQ can't compete with more reputable small cars ranging from the likes of Picanto, Swift, Peugeot 107 etc. for feature and performance-wise. The main competitive edge QQ has over them is the affordability. For summary, it all depends on your priority. For brand-new, it was the cheapest of all back then. Still, you can get a 2nd hand QQ then laugh at the price you pay cos it cost merely 20k with almost 9 full years COE. Ultimately, I believe every car has their market and fan-base. If Chery Vertex could do more to their service package and throw in more goodies to stay competitive, I forsee QQ will be as popular as any other small cars of the same range anytime soon. Now that I had upgraded my rims and had the all weather tyres (yokohama ES300), I love the performance and the Shell-V power that boast my QQ even more! It's an enjoyment to drive my QQ LOL.. So, Chery QQ ftw! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 (edited) There is nothing wrong with buying a china car, and there is certainly nothing wrong with buy an OPC chery QQ being one of the cheapest in the market in 2008-2009... In fact if you ask me the A1 is decently built and another china car to see is the Chana Benni... Chana is very decent and it drives and handles well... and its a China car, nothing wrong with that... its value for money, spacious and it sure beats taking and squeezing in the MRT and bus.. If you go to china now, you will be shocked off your socks cos the cars in China now, are more more advance than some Korean and Thai made cars in Singapore, the only problem is that the local agent brought a much older car to sell in Singapore.. My Beijing friend who is now in Shanghai, they are all high flyers, told me that the Hafei Minz was the car that her father drives when she was a kid, that was a good 21 years ago... People who go around sterotype and bash China cars or critises the owners are shallow... and go around saying that the car lack safety features etc, the car will blow up etc, i mean lets get real how many QQ actually gets blow up??? and I see more other make cars such as Korean, Jap etc... and taxis alike getting into accidents on PIE causing a string of jam more often than I see a QQ getting involved in an accident, as a matter of fact I never saw a QQ breaking down at the side of highway or involved in bad accident... and at the end i feel that one should excercise careful driving and not because your car comes with many safety features you go round raming your car and endanger other people's life... If you go around district 15, there is an Orange auto Chery QQ park outside a semi D along the main road, that house is estimated to be about 3.5-4million, such a big house... so people who straight away sterotype and say that pple driving OPC QQ are poor, they are wrong and of cos these bashers PROBABLY do not have a house that cost 2Million and above.. I was once marketing one of the expensive string of property in the east, I was shocked off my socks, the terrace house cost 1.82 million, and corner terraces was 3.3million per unit... in that stretch of 18 houses, i only saw 2 Merc; one E240 and S280, another car was Estima, next in line was Accord... and the rest of the cars were Altis, Lancer, Slyphy, Civic, City and sunny (ssssss)... they are so rich lor... some of them have their houses paid in full already, they stay expensive house drive normal cars... I salute them... they are also not the type that go around looking down on people driving QQ or Hafei, cos they all tell me that houses are assets, cars liability.. if they dun have family they will buy 1 litre cars... So please don't go around bashing people buying budget cars, there is really nothing wrong with it... The only issue with China cars, especially the likes of QQ, is that the local agent is really terrible and they tetok the owners when send for servicing... many owners sell their car not cos the car sucks but rather they dislike the agent... thats the only and the biggest complain ever... Edited July 1, 2010 by Meganut ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...