HKS exhuast help

G2nogard

erm. :o and there is no meant to provoke civic.. LOL i do love civil. :huh:[:)]

just that i scare that i might choose a wrong car again.. VIOS and Lancer got the same bhp. Thus i get the wrong intention that by installing a HKS exhaust

might rise some bhp which will make the LANCER go faster. ( i love the Body of LANCER Ex pretty much :wub: )

think i will go for civic intega 2.0 **maybe only lol.. insurance must be very very high

Dont know lo.. mayb 1.6/1.8 civic ..... (don't know ley.. i really like the body of lancer EX [dizzy] )

hi bro

exhaust won't help you here.

You want power maybe exhaust headers and piggyback ecu

but for an NA car, gains will be very limited

actually la

the best mod i can think of for him is sprintbooster/3 drive

sure song one

I second this.. If TS's aim is just to improve acceleration (low end), this will be good enough..

There's a few in the market for EX.. It's legal too..

Plus the max its going to cost would prob be around 600 I suppose..

Change the stock air filter too.. HKS/K&N..

That would ease TS acceleration also..

If this still not enough.. Save up a bit more get a 1.4 Scirocco.. Insurance low and confirmed TS will forget about eating Civic ready.. hahahha [thumbsup]

hehe not i say one hor. i see youtube got 1.2kbhp evo/rex one hor

A good engine overhaul can set you back by 10 grands...and to strengthen it to take 1000bhp is gonna cost more.

correct. but can be done mah [laugh]

I second this.. If TS's aim is just to improve acceleration (low end), this will be good enough..

There's a few in the market for EX.. It's legal too..

Plus the max its going to cost would prob be around 600 I suppose..

Change the stock air filter too.. HKS/K&N..

That would ease TS acceleration also..

If this still not enough.. Save up a bit more get a 1.4 Scirocco.. Insurance low and confirmed TS will forget about eating Civic ready.. hahahha [thumbsup]

for his lancer should be very common and cheap. 3 drive should be around 200+ slightly only

yes Hurricane air filter is recommended. K&N oil will clog MAF filter

to summarise

HKS when installed on ur ride

will make it sound like a REX,

but moving off like a T REX.

1. Turbo or supercharger. Sure way to get power. I would prefer roots or twinscrew supercharger due to the linear power delivery. Makes your 1.5L as powerful as a 2L easily.

sorry, but wat do u mean 'twinscrew supercharger'? the brand is twinscrew?

Edited by Vinnmui

exhaustis only for air resistance or back-pressure released.If the exhaust pipe is too small or the muffler has a lot of air resistance then this can cause back-pressure. High-performance exhaust systems use headers, big tail pipes and free-flowing mufflers to eliminate back-pressure in the exhaust system.it seem help much to increase bhp.

To TS,

Put exhuast is good...only for sound effect lah, if it means anything to you. I used to drive Lancer GLX (last gen lancer) & install legal supersprint exhaust (Italian brand some more). Hp gain, not much, if at all, but the sound effect at over 3k rpm quite shiok.

You can also consider weight reduction mod, sure inprove performance & save FC as well. Change lighter crank pulley, clear the boot of things you do not need, change light weight bucket seats, & maybe smaller battery. Can change to lighter alloy wheels as well.

Edited by Kiadaw

correct. but can be done mah [laugh]

Can be done but you can also kiss your ride goodbye as a daily ride. It will not be drivable. Or rather...if you get stuck in a peak hour jam...you wish you taken a bus instead.

to summarise

HKS when installed on ur ride

will make it sound like a REX,

but moving off like a T REX.

No lin line 4 will sound like a boxer 4.... [:p]

just disconnect one of the spark plug wires and it'll sound like a rex already ma [laugh] [laugh]

THANKS all bro for the help.. its really a helpful information.

To be frank, after i sold my vios due to the high COE, i intend to buy a 1.8 or 1.6 civil.

I love the power of vtec, but i like the Lancer Ex body too :wub:

*reason why i compare with a 1.6 civil is because lancer got the same bhp like my vios sport. Hoping that after installation of exhuast can improve pickup and better driving experience than the vios. (cuz my vios- exit into the highway toward tuas- from the marina sq, on the slope , a big drop in acceleration.. LOL )

Now, knowing the fact of the HKS, cons and pro, guess its not wise for me to installed a high end exhuast and other modification ( seem waste of $$$ )

After all its about VTEC power ... lol [:p]

* but i had seen some WHITE lancer EX with a big pipe , and they can really pick up fast.. lol

Thank again.. really a big help

Dont expect armegaeddon cos that wont happen..sorry to burst your bubble...most legal exhaust gains are minimal...for NA tuning u want the most obvious gains is always compression and cams but that'll cost alot of $$$

just disconnect one of the spark plug wires and it'll sound like a rex already ma [laugh] [laugh]

It will sound like its gonna die...not like rex....hahaha

Can any senior bro help me on this issue? THANK [:p]

Knowing that Mitsubishi lancer EX 1.5 had a bhp of 109.

If i were to install a HKS full exhaust system ($9xx) how much more bhp will be increased? (no other modification)

109bhp + how many more bhp for the HKS

*after installation done, can it at least on par with civil 1.6 125bhp?

Thanks again

no definately not ..

but still i can give you some very positive feedback about changing exhaust.

after changing it , you will feel that you car sounds much better.rumbles better .

even if it doesnt increase you pickup or speed or whatsoever , i am sure

it definately sounds nicer !

its your money so your call.for myself always being a sucker for exhaust nodes , i will go for it

if i have the cash to spare.

so there you go .good luck in your hunt and enjoy ur car and exhaust for the next few years to come.

but you can easily make your boxer to sound like an inline .

change to equal length extractor and downpipe .