Cerano 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 (edited) I think he meant a straigh thru exhaust system. Its very loud!! But it still won't gain anywhere near 10-15HP. At most just 3-5HP. And low end suffers as well. If TS really die die wants to beat a 1.6L civic.... Can but must spend lots of $$$ 1. Turbo or supercharger. Sure way to get power. I would prefer roots or twinscrew supercharger due to the linear power delivery. Makes your 1.5L as powerful as a 2L easily. 2. Prefer NA and want legal? Can be done. Change your engine internals to lightweight crank, conrods and pistons. Balanced them and up your redline. Change your cams and valve springs etc (a full head work). Low end will suffer but you high end will be like a 2L as well. correct. if you want to chase civic, forced induction is the way. i wont go into detail but you know rexes can easily be modded to 400-500bhp... even my SC ride is 1.8L but has over 3.2L power note that TC is much easier if you wanna go aftermarket bro. SC u can only change the boost with pulleys. Edited May 12, 2010 by Cerano ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chogokin 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Might as well buy Civic or a better ride. I have seem ppl lup HKS , low end suffer then mod again to improve it. Jus like my friend mod to win a stock car ..... very funny leh ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Correction...Rex wanna hit 400whp is not easy...with 4WD a lot of power is lost and you need to hit 520bhp on crank...and with that power, you have to go FMIC cos even the biggest TMIC is not that efficient. In short its not impossible...just be prepare to spend a lot of money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Correction...Rex wanna hit 400whp is not easy...with 4WD a lot of power is lost and you need to hit 520bhp on crank...and with that power, you have to go FMIC cos even the biggest TMIC is not that efficient. In short its not impossible...just be prepare to spend a lot of money. not 400whp bro. bhp. anyway engine overhaul can easily make 800-1k BHP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 anyway is Civic the new performance benchmark for mid size sedans? why TS want to match civic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 actually la the best mod i can think of for him is sprintbooster/3 drive sure song one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 anyway is Civic the new performance benchmark for mid size sedans? why TS want to match civic? i thought civic quite power for NA engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 not 400whp bro. bhp. anyway engine overhaul can easily make 800-1k BHP WAH.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 WAH.... hehe not i say one hor. i see youtube got 1.2kbhp evo/rex one hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Can any senior bro help me on this issue? THANK Knowing that Mitsubishi lancer EX 1.5 had a bhp of 109. If i were to install a HKS full exhaust system ($9xx) how much more bhp will be increased? (no other modification) 109bhp + how many more bhp for the HKS *after installation done, can it at least on par with civil 1.6 125bhp? Thanks again Y u wanna win civics? installing exhaust wont do wonders to your car..in fact your car was not designed as a performance car to start with in terms of power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 (edited) *after installation done, can it at least on par with civil 1.6 125bhp? You'll beat the Civic because you sound faster. Edited May 12, 2010 by Krado Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Maybe TS can add stickers instead? Together with the exhaust sound = boomz liao. Cannot match civic but sound & look fierce good enuf dio boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 is TS trying to beat any specific Civic ? or all civic in general? If you just dun like 1 civic, use your 900 bucks, go and rent some sports car for a day, tia him like tissue paper for the day then back to reality with a slightly larger ego and a slightly smaller wallet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accordboy 1st Gear May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 Hi TS, 900 bucks for an exhuast n u expect rocket performance meh...The most is 5hp you gain...Buy car/mod car is for own interest n not for winning or chiat other cars..Remember, one mountain is always higher than another..You never be happy if you mod car to win/chiat others.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 if TS wants to beat the civic..might as well buy another B series engined civic ma...stock already can win the new FD civic...heck even the D series SOHC can do it...if u want a fast car in the 1st place u shldnt be even thinking about buying a lancer in the 1st place...unless u like its aggressive looks which i agree it has...its either buying a COE car which u can do up and give u the best bang for the buck or either that break the piggy bank and go get yrslef a properly fast car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 12, 2010 Share May 12, 2010 ...heck even the D series SOHC can do it... You sure? D17A1 maybe... D16W7... pui... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G2nogard Neutral Newbie May 12, 2010 Author Share May 12, 2010 (edited) THANKS all bro for the help.. its really a helpful information. To be frank, after i sold my vios due to the high COE, i intend to buy a 1.8 or 1.6 civil. I love the power of vtec, but i like the Lancer Ex body too *reason why i compare with a 1.6 civil is because lancer got the same bhp like my vios sport. Hoping that after installation of exhuast can improve pickup and better driving experience than the vios. (cuz my vios- exit into the highway toward tuas- from the marina sq, on the slope , a big drop in acceleration.. LOL ) Now, knowing the fact of the HKS, cons and pro, guess its not wise for me to installed a high end exhuast and other modification ( seem waste of $$$ ) After all its about VTEC power ... lol * but i had seen some WHITE lancer EX with a big pipe , and they can really pick up fast.. lol Thank again.. really a big help Edited May 12, 2010 by G2nogard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
G2nogard Neutral Newbie May 12, 2010 Author Share May 12, 2010 (edited) erm. and there is no meant to provoke civic.. LOL i do love civil. just that i scare that i might choose a wrong car again.. VIOS and Lancer got the same bhp. Thus i get the wrong intention that by installing a HKS exhaust might rise some bhp which will make the LANCER go faster. ( i love the Body of LANCER Ex pretty much ) think i will go for civic intega 2.0 **maybe only lol.. insurance must be very very high Dont know lo.. mayb 1.6/1.8 civic ..... (don't know ley.. i really like the body of lancer EX ) Edited May 12, 2010 by G2nogard ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...