Boats

Gilahonda

Anyone here in MCF have a boat for his/her personal usage? I need to know on how to get one and are there any other charges that comes with buying a boat (tax,etc).Do advise on how to get the license as well.Intending to get myself one by next year.

Thanks in advance! [cool]

Hi there... i dont know much abt the taxes and stuff coz i dont own one, but I do know that if it's for your own personal use it will be registered as SZ XXXXX and if you intend for it to be hired out, it will be SZH XXXX. but if u are swimming in money i suggest you can take a look at Azimut =P

As for the licence, it's known as the Powered Pleasure Craft Driving Licence or PPCDL. There are a number of yachting schools offering the course such as ONE15 Yachting School situated at ONE15 Marina, or SAFYC or People's Association Water-venture. After you attend the theory and practical lessons conducted by the school,Registration and Theory test is conducted at Singapore Poly while the final Practical is conducted by the Singapore Maritime Academy at Republic of Singapore Yacht Club. This licence will let you drive jetskis in addition to powerboats.basically it's anything with a motor, and for leisure/pleasure

PM me if you interested in doing the one offered by ONE15 yachting school. I've got the contact for the guy in charge.

Hi Cotrox,

Whats an Azimut?Is it a type of boat?Will check it out on the internet though.

For the cost of taking up a boat license,do u know how much will it cost me?A rough estimate will do.Most prob will be taking up the license only next year but i just want to be prepared before hand.Must research before commiting.

Thanks for the info bro!

the license will cost about $400-$500.. you must not have colour deficiency if not cannot take the license..

Edited by Detion

Detion is right,need to be certified by a doctor that you are not colour blind and the licence would cost around the 400-500 range. the colour blind thing is coz you need to identify the port and starboard lights of the boat, red and green respectively..various bouys and stuff like that. Azimut is a yacht manufacturer by the way.. =X very nice..very expensive also.. [laugh]

PPCDL 2 weekend can get..used to be $300+ limit is 12 person yacht iirc

Maintainance for a yacht + parking+ petrol is v v expensive...

1 trip to Malaysia island can hit $2k+,depend which site u go ..v xiong...especially when break down in middle of sea...good luck

used to play with friends for awhile..till BTH...end up they change to jet ski..LOL

typical yacht cause 100-200k+..can find cheaper in 2nd hand market..April just have the Boat Asia..miss the viewing?

generally, set aside around $1K++ per month for a small boat, weekend usage. It's an expensive hobby. Is your purpose for fishing, jetski, or simply to chillout on it?

If fishing, i've a better suggestion hehe

generally, set aside around $1K++ per month for a small boat, weekend usage. It's an expensive hobby. Is your purpose for fishing, jetski, or simply to chillout on it?

If fishing, i've a better suggestion hehe

Im most prob using it for fishing and leisure.

Wats ur suggestion?Dun tell me sampan hor! <_<

PPCDL 2 weekend can get..used to be $300+ limit is 12 person yacht iirc

Maintainance for a yacht + parking+ petrol is v v expensive...

1 trip to Malaysia island can hit $2k+,depend which site u go ..v xiong...especially when break down in middle of sea...good luck

used to play with friends for awhile..till BTH...end up they change to jet ski..LOL

typical yacht cause 100-200k+..can find cheaper in 2nd hand market..April just have the Boat Asia..miss the viewing?

thanks bro for the info.

yes missed the Boat Asia.

i wonder how to find a good second hand boat.search the net for this but most of it is overseas website

Detion is right,need to be certified by a doctor that you are not colour blind and the licence would cost around the 400-500 range. the colour blind thing is coz you need to identify the port and starboard lights of the boat, red and green respectively..various bouys and stuff like that. Azimut is a yacht manufacturer by the way.. =X very nice..very expensive also.. [laugh]

not to worry,me deinitely not color blind........

saw the azimut on the net bro and its spectacular and way beyond my budget! :blink:

Im most prob using it for fishing and leisure.

Wats ur suggestion?Dun tell me sampan hor! <_<

==============

If fishing local waters, u can book a boat with Capt for abt $300-$400 per 12 hour trip.

Check the Fishing forums for details.

I'm also interested to know the cost of a small boat for up to 6 pax, the price and the maintenance of it. No expert here?

haha,seems like we are in the same boat bro!

==============

If fishing local waters, u can book a boat with Capt for abt $300-$400 per 12 hour trip.

Check the Fishing forums for details.

thanks but nothing beats having ur own boat...........

Boats is like car, nothing beats having own boat. Anyway, you can try www.sgboating.com for some info. But info still lacking leh, anyone.

I used to go boating with my friend when I was a young chap. but now old liao hahaha.....OK things to note...

1) petrol is normal

2) the parking is the killer, if you want to park in a botel you need a marina membership which you have to pay a membership fee monthly. other than that it cost my friend $300+ for a small parking lot in punggol marina for a 17 ft speedboat. if you want to save some money, sign up lifetime membership for SAF yatch club i think it is the cheapest but not transferable...I got my license there also at sambawang...

3) maintainence of the boat , engine normal like car.

4) if you are not too rich you may wan to look out for those sale of power craft on the notice board of the marina ........saw quite a few for sale on RSYC notice board. go check it out.

==================

U know we fishermen have a saying.

"The 2 most happiest days of our lives r, 1st when we buy our 1st boat & 2nd when we sell it". [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Pisces69

I used to go boating with my friend when I was a young chap. but now old liao hahaha.....OK things to note...

1) petrol is normal2) the parking is the killer, if you want to park in a botel you need a marina membership which you have to pay a membership fee monthly. other than that it cost my friend $300+ for a small parking lot in punggol marina for a 17 ft speedboat. if you want to save some money, sign up lifetime membership for SAF yatch club i think it is the cheapest but not transferable...I got my license there also at sambawang...

3) maintainence of the boat , engine normal like car.

4) if you are not too rich you may wan to look out for those sale of power craft on the notice board of the marina ........saw quite a few for sale on RSYC notice board. go check it out.

===============

Petrol is a killer especially if your boat use a bigger(faster) outboard. And SG petrol is damm ex. If u can pump Msia petrol wud help a lot.

One short afternoon out can easily burn $200 worth of petrol. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]