CarPC .. in my avante

Krazz77

Just to share my carpc ...

I have a carpc in my hyundai avante for about 3 years now.

Recently I have upgraded to a ATOM chipset (from the old VIA mini-itx board)

Showing some pics I took during the install.

Testrunning the setup at home desk

carpc01.jpg

The carpc with its mini-itx ATOM board

carpc02.jpg

Fitting the VGA touchscreen

carpc03.jpg

Fitment to the console

carpc04.jpg

Mess of wires

carpc05.jpg

PC mounted below driver seat

carpc06.jpg

Amp mounted below passenger seat

carpc07.jpg

First mounted and boot to Windows

carpc08.jpg

My frontend

carpc09.jpg

A full screen mtv

carpc10.jpg

Integrated Garmin

carpc11.jpg

Coming upgrades:

- starhub mobile broadband, can watch ppstream incar liao

- OBDII install (Avante uses CAN-bus)

- USB DVB-T and DAB

- Bluetooth handsfree

Some people might ask... why put a PC in the car?

- HDDs can put many many GBs worth of serials/songs blah blah .. literally tons..

- Big screen GPS

- Price.. it costs much less than the SONYs or Alpine double dins, yet performs as good. (Total setup less than SGD 1k)

- Outperform those yucky china double dins by alot

- I'm geeky and loved the curious look from frens exclaiming ... "You have a Windows in your car!!"

To get this setup running, there's lots of details. Feel free to ask me questions. Can email me at [email protected]

I have also started a carpc build thread in sgsoundsytem for those whom are interested.

http://www.sgsoundsystem.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25519

Cheers,

Danny

woah, moved your interests from CH to MCF already huh?

Generate more interest mah. Plus i setup the sgsoundsystem carpc build thread to show how easy it is to build your own carpc. Just get the right items and you are good to go. Install in your avante la .. :D

bro, well done man!

i have same idea 3 years back. but my lancer is only 1 din. try mod it to 2 din, but C&C don't supply 2 din to me. can get 1 din monitor from china, too dim on sunny day. found a space between air blower and coil box. enough for my used notebook. plan to take out the mainboard and fix there. [:p]

Very cool...do u still need a mouse & keyboard?

got internet access?

I believe all he need is a usb port so that he can plug his 3G stick into it.

Generate more interest mah. Plus i setup the sgsoundsystem carpc build thread to show how easy it is to build your own carpc. Just get the right items and you are good to go. Install in your avante la .. :D

Starting own business right.. [laugh]

bro, well done man!

i have same idea 3 years back. but my lancer is only 1 din. try mod it to 2 din, but C&C don't supply 2 din to me. can get 1 din monitor from china, too dim on sunny day. found a space between air blower and coil box. enough for my used notebook. plan to take out the mainboard and fix there. [:p]

What happened now? Things are much less expensive these days.. heheh You should "upgrade" .. hehhe

Very cool...do u still need a mouse & keyboard?

got internet access?

Not really needed when in use.

Cause the screen is a VGA touchscreen.

Mouse and keyboard is mainly used when installing, troubleshooting, copying stuff etc.

Yes. I used a Starhub mobile broadband (free with surflite), bu seldom use lah. Maybe for webradio once in a while. Seriously.. who surfs net while driving?? !! Maybe passenger can lah .

honestly, i do not encourage ppl to install stuff in the car tat distract the driver. (e.g dvd player)

but this PC thingy really impressive and really comes in handy when u need internet access, chk emails urgently...

swee lar! [thumbsup]

but i dun tink it comes cheap rite?

Starting own business right.. [laugh]

No leh.. I'm not a supplier or anything leh, maybe have a few leftover stuff or something. In fact, in my other thread in sgsoundsytem, I have links on where to get the items. My posting is mainly to show people what can be done, share information. Hopefully someone will build a carpc in their car. One person playing is super sianz one lo.

But of cos.. if people want to ask me to build them a carpc for them, i could help lah... but it's not a biz per se lo..

honestly, i do not encourage ppl to install stuff in the car tat distract the driver. (e.g dvd player)

but this PC thingy really impressive and really comes in handy when u need internet access, chk emails urgently...

swee lar! [thumbsup]

but i dun tink it comes cheap rite?

Well, seriously. I seldom access the internet with car pc. I use the carpc mainly to listen to an enormous (really alot) playlists of songs and mtvs on the move. One good thing is the garmin GPS runs together with song in the backgrond and cuts in when you need to make a turn. Another thing is that i go JB every weekend and i can watch movies in the car while jamming on the causeway.

Well, the misconception is the cost. I'm a cheapo guy, that's why i go down this path. It performs much better than a china 2-din and has more expandabiility, but cost much lower than an alpine or pioneer 2 din. If you follow my other thread in sgsoundsystem, you will learn that cost is not alot. Alot of the parts are available locally. Only powersupply and VGA touchscreen needed to be shipped. All in with the optional items (OBD , DVB, DAB, Reverse CAM, GPS, DVD-ROM) , around SGD1k ...ok wat..

Cheers,

Danny

Edited by Krazz77

Well, seriously. I seldom access the internet with car pc. I use the carpc mainly to listen to an enormous (really alot) playlists of songs and mtvs on the move. One god thing is the garmin GPS runs together with song in the backgrond and cuts in when you need to make a turn. Another thing is that i go JB every weekend and i can watch movies in the car while jamming on the causeway.

Well, the misconception is the cost. I'm a cheapo guy, that's why i go down this path. It performs much better than a china 2-din and has more expandabiility, but cost much lower than an alpine or pioneer 2 din. If you follow my other thread in sgsoundsystem, you will learn that cost is not alot. Alot of the parts are available locally. Only powersupply and VGA touchscreen needed to be shipped. All in with the optional items (OBD , DVB, DAB, Reverse CAM, GPS, DVD-ROM) , around SGD1k ...ok wat..

Cheers,

Danny

i like this idea... [thumbsup]

u do a convert or using dc power?? what's ur batt capacity?

bro

if ask u to install in my avante , how much u going to charge ?

with everything in ...

thanks

Ermm .. i also dunno leh. I not a biz.

Anyway.. just follow my sgsoundsystem thread for this few days. Depending on your choice of configuration, you'll be able to get most of the items locally by yourself. Once you accumlated the items, i could help you install or you could go to any audio shops. It's just a simple 3-wire power supply connection... hehehh

Drop me a mail if you want to sample my avante setup.