Lorry Drivers who slam their doors on your car

Saviourwu

Last sunday i was waiting for my friend at the carpark.

Switched off my engine and wind down my window while waiting for my friend.

A honda stream came parking beside me.

His front passenger opened the door first and i overheard him telling his kids to take note of the car beside and open their door gently.

Smiled to him after hearing that.

u must be staring at him without blinking for minutes, as he parking his ride... [laugh]

In my case, I did the following:

1. Make police report

2. Make accident report at IDAC with police report (they will make direct reference)

3. Find a workshop to repair the damage (was quite fortunate, they were willing to take my case and do 3rd party claim)

That's why I asked the question whether you can just call off the whole thing if it is too much of a hassle. I believe there is no harm trying, but do consider the time and effort needed for the admin and follow-up.

have u been following another MCF case...? that one damn fierce... end up LLST!!! [;)]

i think it works only if u catch the lorry driver in the act and state your demands on the spot

i waited for the lorry driver to return and i kpkb. in the end i got what i wanted [:p]

lesson learned, dont park ur car beside lorry or vans:)

When i first got my car and got a serious dent and paint chip off from bloody lorry, since then I always hate lorry drivers, not all but most that I have observed is they simply idiots....now i park my car at my house the MSCP where lorry and vans cannot go in (I'm glad my town councilor or HDB put a height limit bar at the entrance of the MSCP here)

Edited by Hulk

When i first got my car and got a serious dent and paint chip off from bloody lorry, since then I always hate lorry drivers, not all but most that I have observed is they simply idiots....now i park my car at my house the MSCP where lorry and vans cannot go in (I'm glad my town councilor or HDB put a height limit bar at the entrance of the MSCP here)

choose a parking lot is impt.. i'm lucky my MSCP got quite a few 1 - 3 lots... and those are taken by 'regulars' furthermore.. the lorry drivers at my MSCP are quite 'considerate'.. i'm more afraid of those full size MPV and SUV... this one must siam far far...

1) try not to park near lorry/full sizze MPV/SUV

2) choose lots with walkway at the side (hence u can 'eat' into those area)

3) choose those 'VIP' lots if possible...

4) park 'nearer' to OPC car.. (dont do in on fri night)

5) make friends with those drivers u know and always park along side with them...

haiz... driving so kan chor liao.. parking also must stress, crack your brain... :huh:

Edited by Itsec

scratch their cars.. pour paint also can... no worries.. they report to police also no use.. this one CONFIRM!!! [laugh] It will be classified under act of mischief.. at most warning letters... [:p]

I don't understand, then why Michael Fay kena caning?

seems like there are getting more and more lorries around my house area. Anyone else experiencing the same issue?

My dent is still there, i've endured through the most painful moments by looking at cars around me and seeing dents in them. Still cannot get over completely as the dent is indented so much that i can almost put my whole fist on it....

Today i saw a honda civic park head in by mounting curb with his front bumper and don't care at all. Scraping sound very loud, but after parking, owner just walk away. Why can people don't care about their cars when we care so much... How do they do it...

according to buddhists saying, detachments from materialistic things.

we're in Singapore and we don't have the luxury of parking spaces....lets face it....

Face it ??? I hope you are not of those bochaps that anyhow open car doors and hit onto other cars just because parking lots are small. Reason like this are made to shriek responsibilities and don't blame the parking lot :wacko:

Edited by Renegade777

I think so people just bochop......

For me if the space is tight and I know I will probably knock onto the opposite car, I will open my door gently. My door as a plastic strip so its the strip that will hit his door, no stratches or dents. Just basic courtesy I guess. If we don't want others to do the same to our cars, then we should at least don't do the same to others.

My car's metal is very thick so I am not worried about dents. Mostly just scratches or chips on the pain. Then someone bang my bumper and make a sctach on it and never admit..... Forget it lar......

scratch their cars.. pour paint also can... no worries.. they report to police also no use.. this one CONFIRM!!! [laugh] It will be classified under act of mischief.. at most warning letters... [:p]

Ya... some people think we cannot touch them bec they are "protected' by the law...

Well.. the law cannot be everywhere everytime right?

Tho' they may yaya papaya now, we can "suggest" to them to have frequent checks on their cars and houses, as there are many cases of "ah long" throw paint on cars n houses too.. [sly]

according to buddhists saying, detachments from materialistic things.

perhaps all of us should learn to be a monk... detach from our car and not feel so painful.... but still, why can't lorry drivers just be more considerate just a little... [hur]

because they are not monks

Sorry to hear about ur unfortunate encounter. These kinda thing is usually hard to claim from , unless you caught the fellow right in his action which very often unlikely to happen. I always park a few lot away , despite the fact that I need to walk a longer distant , just to be away from lorry and vehicle which personally do not own by driver. Fact is, they will not care becos car dun belong to him. In cases of slaming door to door, he will not feel the pinch.

Next time , park beside an evo or ferari ...confirm safe.!!!!