Maroon5 5th Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 i also love everything about singapore...6 yrs back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 i miss those days where i can bring egg to the fried carrot cake stall order plain ( i think $0.70 cents only) then add the egg i bring thats 20 yrs ago Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 He is...capable of doing BOTH at the same time....it's known as multi-tasking. btw, where's our favorite wise whitish bear bava ? sipping soda in north pole or mating in the wilderness ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Yes, I do miss the old days of doing that. And also the use of a tiffin carrier or opal leaves as food wrapper. i miss those days where i can bring egg to the fried carrot cake stall order plain ( i think $0.70 cents only) then add the egg i bring thats 20 yrs ago Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) yes there is nothing wrong to hope for improvement in the gahment, but we should not discredit it like it is worthless, like what many forumers are doing and calling for blood. you can see many forumers are venting their discent on the gahment and openly calling for votes against them in the coming election. is this being grateful, contented with what they already have, and fair to the one who provided for our lives ? if everyone heeds their call and we overturn the ruling gahment overnight, one who has delivered sterling results (albiet with many areas of improvement), can you sleep well at night ? yes, provide feedback and seek improvement , and bear in mind a chinese wisdom. "drink water, remember its source". "drink water, remember its souce"... interesting that you should cite this because I have 2 points to highlight revolving around these four words as well 1. I give thanks, recognition and credit to the old guards that has brought Singapore from the ruins of of the last war to what it is now. That's a great accomplishment that both pro and anti current establishment will have to agree on. But let's be clear about the 'source'... The old guards are the ones who achieved that. NOT the ones in goverment now. Please don't confuse the mediocre performance of current office holders with the accomplishments of their predecessors .... it only insults the nation building forefathers. 2.Singaporeans who are in the mid 40s- 60s are the ones who worked through the period of most rapid change in Singapore's development to date. They have, in one way or another, contributed their share of effort towards the vison of the nation building forefathers. However they are also the ones who are having their jobs replaced by 'FTs' mass imported by the current establishment....so much for 'drink water, remember its source' To assess the current government, we should score them on how they have performed. NOT by biased personal feelings nor by the results of their predecessors. The problem is that the current government set themselves on a pedestal and claim to be great men of talent deserving of the multi-million dollar salary. Can you blame the masses for feeling shortchanged when these same men of talent show that they are unable to do a decent budget or when they can allow a dangerous terrorist to escape from a supposedly high security facility while on a toilet break? I don't mind paying ... even if it's slightly overpriced. But at least the goods should be delivered. Edited January 4, 2011 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) Sorry, double post Edited January 4, 2011 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 Maybe the best paid CEOs also couldn't deliver the best performance. Life is never fair one lah. Some are chosen because they can deliver good speeches. Articulate their way through. I hope voters can see through such wayang-kings and not vote for them in the coming election Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) Maybe the best paid CEOs also couldn't deliver the best performance. Life is never fair one lah. Some are chosen because they can deliver good speeches. Articulate their way through. sorry, system error - double post Edited January 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) Maybe the best paid CEOs also couldn't deliver the best performance. Life is never fair one lah. Some are chosen because they can deliver good speeches. Articulate their way through. sorry again, system error... multiple posts Edited January 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) Maybe the best paid CEOs also couldn't deliver the best performance. Life is never fair one lah. Some are chosen because they can deliver good speeches. Articulate their way through. sorry again, system error... multiple posts... pai seh Edited January 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 aiya if ur go to another country to earn more than u are in ur own country,more stable life..of coz u will love them i asked alot blangla,myanmars,indian FW, they also like here though their pay lower at least they can feed themselves,send $ home,nice buildings around,can earn $...compare to them there... it's natural to think such way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) I think most of us is contented with what we have now . However , the ground people are discontented with their policies which will greatly affect our future and future genarations. Dont you feel that this country is now more divided. We have the " poor " who is struggling to meet ends needs , the " mid class " who doesnt know why SG is worth defending , the " FTs class" who say they love everything about Singapore but doesnt seem to love Singaporean ! , the " gaymen " who are making things wrose by spending millions of taxes trying to intergate the various groups the wrong way. The BIGGER picture look ugly I love everything about Singapore and I love Singaporean too ! How are they going to love Singapore if they doesnt love Singaporean ? Must love all kind of Singaporean , the poor , the rich , the middle class , the old , the sick , the ah neh , the ah tiong ..... love them all , can you ? can they ? I am in agreement with what you said. Our gahmen is well capable of self-praises, some justifable, some not. We know where they have done well, where they have failed and there is no real need for us to give them praises as to do so not only will make them more arrogant but also become complacent. We need to keep pointing out where they are not performing so that they can't sweep things under the carpet at the same time take fat pays home every month. If we keep quiet, we will be in fact accepting their mistakes, it's better to keep them on their toes (with our votes for a start) than to keep our eyes shut and keep quiet. Edited January 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) Its human nature to want things to be better, no matter how well off they are. I believe contentment is an important virtue to have. But that does not mean we should stop improving when we can. I think that life here in Singapore are perhaps better than most countries (1st-3rd together). Again this is an opinion, & a guess as I have not been to every country! But why not go better, if we know it can be done, just saying. I do agree the government is doing a good job, but it is a great job? I am not so sure, for I am not so sure, how much is attributed to the ministers, & how much is attribute to the "background" people, who get probably a small faction of these ministers. Higher pay-> bigger expectation. They have it upon themselves. Its up to them to prove their worth. Just like a club buy an expensive player, who demand high wages, fans expect him to perform as well as his pay. Fair? Just saying. Exactly, if the soccer team pays top dollars for a player, this player simply has to deliver the goals, and not miss goals or sore 'own-goal' yet still has the cheek to say "no one is perfect"... which is a lame excuse..... Edited January 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 yes there is nothing wrong to hope for improvement in the gahment, but we should not discredit it like it is worthless, like what many forumers are doing and calling for blood. you can see many forumers are venting their discent on the gahment and openly calling for votes against them in the coming election. is this being grateful, contented with what they already have, and fair to the one who provided for our lives ? if everyone heeds their call and we overturn the ruling gahment overnight, one who has delivered sterling results (albiet with many areas of improvement), can you sleep well at night ? yes, provide feedback and seek improvement , and bear in mind a chinese wisdom. "drink water, remember its source". Realistically, you dont have to worry that the MIW will be voted out overnight.... we just need enough opposition voices in the parliment to provide check&balance... isn't this what parliment is about?..... this is good in the long run for sgp. There's no quarantee the future bunch of MIW will be as capable (not to mention be better) than the current bunch (btw can you guarantee it?), if the MIW is given overwhelming majority in the parliment, things can go really wrong if there's no one to check and confront them. Wake them up and ask them admit and face up to their mistakes before it's too late. If they start to create a mess, they need to be told to fix it while the damages are still manageable. We need whistle blowers in the parliment to protect singapore's future as well as the ordinary men. You don't see the need for check & balance? Why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 you realise why usa needs to print 600 billion dollars of bill while our country doesnt need to ? because our gahment has built up the reserves and our sing dollar is strong. see the difference between a long term benefitial policy and one with public welfarism ? thats why our gahment is always professing long term sustainability, in public services. why people cannot see the wisdom in the unpopular policies ? Precisely we need check n balance to make sure the MIW dont make mistakes and lose a big chunk of the reserves.... do you still remember the blunters they made in some mega investments? Please dont tell us these are honest mistakes and no one is perfect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 i miss those days where i can bring egg to the fried carrot cake stall order plain ( i think $0.70 cents only) then add the egg i bring thats 20 yrs ago a no frills hair cut is only $3....?? Unfortunately starting pays for dip or degree holders have not changed much, but costs of life's basic items has gone up much more, not to mention costs of housing / transport.... this is tough for the ordinary men who work hard / improve themselves yet cant catch up (in case same forumers here go "work hard, improve yourself blah blah blah...) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 In the Today newspaper dated 4 Jan, there is an interesting letter written by a HR guy on the FT policy. I too agree with him. The ruling gahmen has opened the flood gates way too big already. Too many FTs who come in and duplicate the productivity of our singaporeans. Too many smug and arrogant ones as well who dun want to hang out with us locals. Pinoys prefer to hangout with Pinoys. India indians prefer to gel together rather than assimilate. And also in the same Today newspaper, it was reported that the gahmen is trying to delay the voting process so that new citizens who are sworn in after Jan 2011 are given the chance to vote. This pretty much shows their strategy. Why would someone who has stayed here for a couple of years get the same voting rights as me who has grown up here for 30plus years?? Ant new batch of leaders the are trying to groom..... lucky and balakrishnan...dun know steady beh... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...