Overheating

Ididbobe

Sad day today for my Reddy.... [bigcry] This is the first time that he died on me! [:(] It was already making weird noises last night and then the fan (dunno which one) wouldn't go off even after I had stopped and turned off the car.

Today just as I entered the carpark of my office, Reddy suddenly stalled and died...... [furious] It was only then that I noticed that the temperature was at MAX ie. the RED BAR!! Tried restarting and some smelly fumes came out so I stopped and wheeled it into a parking lot.

After 2 hours, I came out and filled the Radiator with abt 1.5 ltrs of water and it seemed ok. Tried then to drive to Saber's but barely out of my office complex, the temperature rocketed to the Red bar again [confused]

So managed to get him back in the carpark and am waiting for the towtruck now SIGHHHH.....so sad I hope the gasket not blown or hv to have PREMATURE SCRAPING! [angel]

Crossing fingers now. As a lesson to other Bro's out there, don't forget to check your water levels?!! I can't rem who told me that I dont need to keep filling the water and it shd be fine but it totally slipped my mind...

Oh well...lets see what happens in the next few days....

I just c yr story [bigcry] got 1 time my ride oso got tis problem the drove to the cpark suddenly my front hood got smell & white smoke i realize my water temp is near red guage, i drove to a empty slot & off the engine, after a while when it cools down alot then i start again check tat the fan not working i knock few time it works, could be the fan motor not strong already or goin to spoil liao give problem, now when i drive along i will look at my temp. Hope our bro here the ride get well soon.... bro ididbobe got c my msg call u up soon [sly]

Bro,

So sorry to hear about your overheating. Let's hope your engine ok man. This is one of those times when one appreciates those temperature gauges that beep when they reach 95 deg. I once had a leak too and had it not been for the gauge beeping like siao, I probably would have driven until it died too. I strongly recommend these gauges to bros cos with old cars, you never know man.

Let me know how Reddy comes along.

Thanks Bros! Its really weird cos after I sent to workshop they nothing wrong leh...kept it running and driving and no overheating??? WHAT GIVES?? Siao...i think maybe its the radiator fan cos the noise came from there. 6 more months, not sure if I wanna get anything new tho'....

Those beeping gauges sound mighty handy!! Where do i get me one? :)

Edited by Ididbobe

Thanks Bros! Its really weird cos after I sent to workshop they nothing wrong leh...kept it running and driving and no overheating??? WHAT GIVES?? Siao...i think maybe its the radiator fan cos the noise came from there. 6 more months, not sure if I wanna get anything new tho'....

Those beeping gauges sound mighty handy!! Where do i get me one? :)

Car accessory shops should have them. Ask for those which beep. With 6 months left, I would just get a second hand one or not bother at all. Some guys do sell them on Marketplace, but remember that you would still need to get it installed so it would only make sense ifthey'resellingem real cheap. Mine came with the car.