Road trip to Chiang Mai Report.

Shor

There are, i think, five crossing points to thailand

When i was at kelantan, there is a ferry to cross sg golok to thailand side

Betong confirm have. I was there b4. Over at the MY side is called Pengkalan Hulu....

U have to exit at Kuala Kangsar and proceed to Grik if u use NSHW.

When in March? Can you enter Vientienne in your Singapore car, when you have entered Thailand through Sadao Border post? I read that you have to enter and exit through the same border post, else tell the border post at the time of entry that you will be exiting through some other border post and details will be sent to that border post by snail mail and unreliable.

Is there a border post in Betong? And if I enter through that what options are there for stay? I had bee n through Sadao twice and given a choice would prefer some other place to enter Thailand.

Nainar

Probably from Gd Friday wk.

I did enter via Sadao (Danok) and exit at Pdg Besar. No issues so far, same car. Remember you sign the log book when u return the Customs declaration form? I did the same at Pdg Besar too.

Thanks for the reminder mate. Yes, the Visa on arrival is only for 15 days and I will be cutting it close. I will get the visa from embassy.

On your suggestion, to do Ayuthaya on the way back, how can I do it? I plan to drive along Mekong river and that is why I go all the way to Ubon Ratchathani to come to Pattaya. Are you suggesting, from Hua Hin I head straight to Nakhon Sawan and do Sukothai from there?

Nainar

Ok, Huahin to Kanchanburi then to Sukotai.(stay)Skip Ayutthaya as it is too near a distance from Kanchanaburi(150km)

But on yr way back from Chiangrai to NE regions do Ayutthaya last as it is easier to to drive to Chumphon

From Pattaya to Chumphon, U have to go in BKK-very confusing.

Dun forget to bring yr vehicle log for the visa

what type of car u car driving.. ?

but lao is right hand driving... opposite... side of ours.. confusing abit...hahhaa

if my car can get into lao.. will drive to Laung Krambam !!

guy if on the way from huahin from BKK.. remember to stop over to see the million bats flying out of the cave from 545-7pm.. but after 630 pm will be too dark...

millions of bats fying out become like a smoke chain..!!

well , i did a Sin-BKk in 25hrs with 4 hr rest in Trang...Solo !! I guess that was one of the best part of my life driving..

free and relax... so close with nature...

advice.. pump full at malaysia border... and fill nearer to BKK for cheaper fuel .......!!

i guess at my currrent age... i doubt i can do it again..

it is just about 3 yr ago i do a Sin -BKK - Kanchanburi drive... well...!! age is catching up i guess

there were a group trying to do Mymarmar trip but reject due to permit..!! signnn.!!

Edited by Saggi

Anyone have any idea if our car can get into combodia ?

I was trying to go by surin border into combodia.. anyone got any information on that ??

Ok, Huahin to Kanchanburi then to Sukotai.(stay)Skip Ayutthaya as it is too near a distance from Kanchanaburi(150km)

But on yr way back from Chiangrai to NE regions do Ayutthaya last as it is easier to to drive to Chumphon

Aaah, I get it now. On the return leg, from Pattaya goto Ayuthaya and then come down to Chumpohn, avoiding BKK. Thanks for the input mate.

About entering via Betong, where can I stay? If I go to Pattani to stay, it is @100 kms from Hat Yai and my second day drive from Hat Yai to Hua Hin will increse to @900 kms. Is the drive along the coastline, 408 scenic, making the extra effort on the second day worth it?

Nainar

Im confused. I did overnight in Chumphon last month. It's a town near Surathani.

What has Chumphon got to do with driving in NE region?

Im confused. I did overnight in Chumphon last month. It's a town near Surathani.

What has Chumphon got to do with driving in NE region?

Dont be lah!! I was confused as well till Joseph clarified. As I understand he meant to do it in the return leg, from Pattaya go to Ayuthaya and the come down to Chumpon.

Nainar

from pattaya to chumphon - dun think there's a need to enter bkk. There are seaside roads leading to route 35 (toward hua hin)....

oh ya, route 35 is fantastic. u can floor ur gas pedal all the way and it's a free road.

Edited by Cba6p

from pattaya to chumphon - dun think there's a need to enter bkk. There are seaside roads leading to route 35 (toward hua hin)....

oh ya, route 35 is fantastic. u can floor ur gas pedal all the way and it's a free road.

You would have to take Route 9, the southern ring road of BKK right? Is that what Joseph bro is suggesting to avoid? Route 35 looks enticing especially the run along the coast line.

Nainar

All highways lead to BKK ( Its a big place pop. 8 to 9 million people )only whether U are doing it on a different HW. U will eventually get out from BKK whichever way U go in but it is very confusing once U are in.

OK, the reason being to stay a night in Kanchanaburi and then drive 150km to Ayutthaya to stay is a bit nearby so drive from Kan. to sukhotai ( stay)then do the Ayutthaya on the way back from Pattaya instead OR do the NE regions first then the North and Central.

Reason being from Chiangrai to Nong Khai is a long and tiring drive, I did one from Phayao to Si Saket , take like 12 hrs.

Route 35 is a HW not a seaside road , U can floor the pedal and its a free road and not scenic but U can see sea salt farming

Its not like Phuket or Koh Samui

U can floor the pedal and its a free road and not scenic

roads that u can floor pedal do not need to be scenic....u have no time to enjoy the scenes anyway. hehe

Yea, remind me of the time I was speeding and came to a beach area in Chaam,was lookin at the beach or rather the girls in bikinis

and bump a BKK pickup. Luckily there was no damage to the pickup,but my car .........urh!!

Yea, remind me of the time I was speeding and came to a beach area in Chaam,was lookin at the beach or rather the girls in bikinis

and bump a BKK pickup. Luckily there was no damage to the pickup,but my car .........urh!!

Hehehe!Bikini's, beach babes and kissing the rear of BKK pick up. They all add up.. Is Chaam beaches pretty nice? Is it good to stay in Hua Hin or go to Chaam?

Nainar