I don't understand Mandarin

Windwaver

:wacko: chinese will do i think, some of the ppl there sure noe chinese but i think they cant speak well for this 2 language

its ok to tell them at the begining you're from SGP... then use your chinese or english and see which language they prefer / are comfortable with. [:)]

司马春衫 is a metaphor using an ancient story. 吾不能学太上之忘情也 is roughly "I cannot overcome emotions like the saints"

Thanks!!

how do we translate 仁者?? --- gentleman, or something else? [:)]

aren't kbox and ktv very similar?.... i mean in a general way, both have system + screen to go with the singing... food and drinks. of course some types of ktv have extra :o

:blink: wrong ktv is the one with gal to accompany guy one kbox is the room u get it urself n u sing with ur fre nde

Thank you for the song!! ........... i will explain word by word the remaining 80% until it becomes part of you... if you buy me kopi gao gao, on?? :D

Sure mate! Whoz got nice ICE in their rides har? Next old skool MU can blast that song until the cops come! [laugh]

(1)

吾至爱汝,即此爱汝一念,使吾勇就死也。

吾自遇汝以来,常愿天下有情人都成眷属;

然遍地腥云,满街狼犬,称心快意,几家能彀?

(2)

司马春衫,吾不能学太上之忘情也。

语云:仁者

Sure mate! Whoz got nice ICE in their rides har? Next old skool MU can blast that song until the cops come! [laugh]

they will take a while to come coz they gotta radio HQ ask for reinforcement who can understand the song..... by then we go home liao :D :D

:blink: wrong ktv is the one with gal to accompany guy one kbox is the room u get it urself n u sing with ur fre nde

last time i went ktv with few frens but told the mamason no girls please.... she showed long face but no choice coz we paid for the room, drinks, food, she cant chase us out......... :o cant do this too often else the ktv bans us... :D

kbox dont have old songs for old folks like me and frens, ktv got... :D

I REMEMBER this one very well :wacko: though i m not a cantoness, my friend said tried saying that in hk and get badly beatten up

Yes the phrase is POOK KAI.

To SG this is like "Broke" to them is Die on the Street.

They find this very very vulgar...

i believe the ah beng or ah lian in the modern society use the word " knnbccb" very often until they feel there is no meaning in this sentence anymore, for example you accidently fall down in front of your ahlian or ah beng friend, they will simply say ": walau cb, like that also can fall down " laughter"

There are some people need to use KNN, CCB to link all their conversations.

LIKE :

KNN, that bloody Ah Tiong, CB, cut my queue, KNN, don't know I got Ang Kong one arh ? CCB I pull his hair and KNN push him out of the Queue.

You translated "good man" which is probably appropriate.

Speaking of "仁", in the center of Chinese politics both old and now, there is the concept of "rule of virtue and policy of benevolence." which is Confucious' 德治仁政. This is quite a contrast from the Western notion of "rule of law". This often cause misunderstanding and cultural clashes with the West in the past and new. This probably has a great impact on typical Singaporean's interpretation of "rule of law" when you see people rationalizing certain behaviour which are illegal, but not morally wrong.

Thanks!!

how do we translate 仁者?? --- gentleman, or something else? [:)]

last time i went ktv with few frens but told the mamason no girls please.... she showed long face but no choice coz we paid for the room, drinks, food, she cant chase us out......... :o cant do this too often else the ktv bans us... :D

kbox dont have old songs for old folks like me and frens, ktv got... :D

NOW Kbox got the very old old songs aldy, i hardly listen to new song cause i think they are rubbish song. so i sing mostly all old song, then my friend will ask me which era im born de de in a sarcastic way

Yes the phrase is POOK KAI.

To SG this is like "Broke" to them is Die on the Street.

They find this very very vulgar...

broke is commonly used by my mum, she always say po chan liao mei you qian mei you qian

There are some people need to use KNN, CCB to link all their conversations.

LIKE :

KNN, that bloody Ah Tiong, CB, cut my queue, KNN, don't know I got Ang Kong one arh ? CCB I pull his hair and KNN push him out of the Queue.

i like this example lol, but sometime i use the word walau and cb when i was kidding for example in work " walau this kind of cb case again, the cb dunwan admit liability now third party provide evidence liao then come gei siao cb with me

Edited by Cindytan

broke is commonly used by my mum, she always say po chan liao mei you qian mei you qian

Po chan is normal term for broke or bankrupt...

In Singapore people use pok kai to mean broke also, but in HK it is considered far worse... although people also use it often in normal conversation

One of the guys I work with, out of 10 sentences 8 will begin with pok kai or DLLM [laugh]

i like this example lol, but sometime i use the word walau and cb when i was kidding for example in work " walau this kind of cb case again, the cb dunwan admit liability now third party provide evidence liao then come gei siao cb with me

u new here? lol

Po chan is normal term for broke or bankrupt...

In Singapore people use pok kai to mean broke also, but in HK it is considered far worse... although people also use it often in normal conversation

One of the guys I work with, out of 10 sentences 8 will begin with pok kai or DLLM [laugh]

Po kai - fall flat on the street, hahahaah.... down n out [:(]

sometimes i think DLLM is just like commas and fullstops in the vocab of HongKongers :D ......... and tiu is their exclamation mark :D