How to stop taxis from stopping suddenly anywhere they like?

KARTer

We often see passengers flaging down taxis from corner of the road junction where traffic is heavy and cars are getting in / out from one road into the other.... the taxi will just cut lanes and stop right at the junction disregarding other cars !!!

Taxi drivers will blame the passengers who insist the taxi stop as and where to pick / let down the passengers. The passengers will say: he drives the taxi, if he decides to stop, i cant control him.

Why not fine both passengers and taxi drivers who cause taxi to stop at road junction / double yellow line / no-stop zone etc etc.... taxi whichs cut lanes suddenly should be fine: if they are cruising and looking for passengers at the same time, take left most lane.

Or: issue free 'passnger-license' to all who take taxi, but deduct demerit points if they are caught flouting the above rules, once all demerit pts are exhausted, he will not be allow to take taxi and if he does, impose heavy fines, 30% of the fine goes to the taxi driver who reports such 'illegal' passengers. Taxi drivers who bring / report such illegal passegner to the station will be given free drink and nasi lemak lunch etc in addition to 40% of the fine.

chicken and egg story..the passenger will argue its the taxi and vice versa..anyway traffic enforcement is so lax in a small city state..how to expect anyone to really take it seriously? if the authorities are serious..then better look into illegal parking 1st

maybe MHA cant find enough to joint TP? why not get in few FTs to help enforcing the rules. I guess most FTs from nearby regions are used to RM50 and MHA cant trust them?

:ph34r: u wan Lui Tuck Yew to hire more Ahmads and Fatimahs? dun sabo leh. later your wish become real. haha [laugh]

Edited by Ah_Zai

:ph34r: u wan Lui Tuck Yew to hire more Ahmads and Fatimahs? dun sabo leh. later your wish become real. haha [laugh]

does not affect me in a bad way..in fact more carpark/traffic wardens means that my driving will be smoother [cool]

My last and only accident involved a taxi which sudden slow down becos a paasenger flag him at taxi stand. Nb couldn't stop in time. From then onward I hate to see taxi and always look out on them when on roads, u never when they going to "chu" pattern and make u kiss them.

Why not fine both passengers and taxi drivers who cause taxi to stop at road junction / double yellow line / no-stop zone etc etc.... taxi whichs cut lanes suddenly should be fine: if they are cruising and looking for passengers at the same time, take left most lane.

Which main road is not double yellow line one?

Like that must flag cab inside carpark liao? [dizzy] even then the road inside carpark also double yellow lei!!!!

I got one interesting incident to relate. Happened this afternoon.

Location: Sims Ave East, Towards Bedok Central, Traffic Light Junction Opposite Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour - after bustop but before left filter lane into Chai Chee Drive.

I was on the left-most lane, as i need to turn left onto Chai Chee Dr. At the traffic light junction, I am the second car behind a Comfort Sonata Taxi.

The Green Man has been on for a while, when this family crosses the junction - Two middle-aged men with a elderly female at the lead, a couple (related to the first three) pushing a pram brings up the rear. Midway across the junction, first three see the taxi and seem to be discussing amongst themselves whether to take the cab. [My family muses whether they could all fit in.] Then the elderly lady seems to ask the cab right via the front passenger window whether he could take her to the destination. She gets in the rear seats, then the first two men seem to wave the taxi off, the lights turns green, and the taxi moves off, ONLY TO STOP RIGHT AFTER THE TRAFFIC LIGHT.

At the point, my dad and I were like.... The family catches up to the taxi, and takes time to board, while i was forced to signal right, watch the second lane for cars and filter out and back onto the left lane to make the filter change onto Chai Chee Drive. No big deal, but very annoying.

Whose fault is it here?

a) Family - for i. deciding to hail a cab at a traffic light junction, ii. taking their own sweet time to board and iii. getting the taxi to stop right after the junction for the rest of the family to board?

b) Taxi Driver - for deciding to take on a fare at the traffic light, when the lights were close to turning green.

Sometimes it takes two hands to clap. I know the taxi-drivers have it bad - times are hard, and if potential fares complain if a cab does not stop to pick them up, they could incur black marks if the taxi company sides with the potential fares. But at the same time, potential fares should know when and where is a best time to hail a cab. The incident i experienced was a mix of the worst of both scenarios.

Which main road is not double yellow line one?

Like that must flag cab inside carpark liao? [dizzy] even then the road inside carpark also double yellow lei!!!!

hhahhahaaa, there must be reasons why LTA put d-y lines there... pls dont ask me, ask them

or they have to put some designated taxi stands as on other countries

If a similar situation results in holding back a long queue of cars behind, then something has to be done coz it inconvenients too many other cars and usually this is peak hour traffic or on a perpentually busy road.

LTA can decide time/location to enforce 100% and other less critical areas/time-zones can be differentiated with another colour instead of yellow lines?

I got one interesting incident to relate. Happened this afternoon.

Location: Sims Ave East, Towards Bedok Central, Traffic Light Junction Opposite Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour - after bustop but before left filter lane into Chai Chee Drive.

I was on the left-most lane, as i need to turn left onto Chai Chee Dr. At the traffic light junction, I am the second car behind a Comfort Sonata Taxi.

The Green Man has been on for a while, when this family crosses the junction - Two middle-aged men with a elderly female at the lead, a couple (related to the first three) pushing a pram brings up the rear. Midway across the junction, first three see the taxi and seem to be discussing amongst themselves whether to take the cab. [My family muses whether they could all fit in.] Then the elderly lady seems to ask the cab right via the front passenger window whether he could take her to the destination. She gets in the rear seats, then the first two men seem to wave the taxi off, the lights turns green, and the taxi moves off, ONLY TO STOP RIGHT AFTER THE TRAFFIC LIGHT.

At the point, my dad and I were like.... The family catches up to the taxi, and takes time to board, while i was forced to signal right, watch the second lane for cars and filter out and back onto the left lane to make the filter change onto Chai Chee Drive. No big deal, but very annoying.

Whose fault is it here?

a) Family - for i. deciding to hail a cab at a traffic light junction, ii. taking their own sweet time to board and iii. getting the taxi to stop right after the junction for the rest of the family to board?

b) Taxi Driver - for deciding to take on a fare at the traffic light, when the lights were close to turning green.

Sometimes it takes two hands to clap. I know the taxi-drivers have it bad - times are hard, and if potential fares complain if a cab does not stop to pick them up, they could incur black marks if the taxi company sides with the potential fares. But at the same time, potential fares should know when and where is a best time to hail a cab. The incident i experienced was a mix of the worst of both scenarios.