Oracle SUN Cluster

Sunlight

trying my luck here.

Anyone can give a very rough estimate on the cost to build a SUN CLUSTER?

thanks

trying my luck here.

Anyone can give a very rough estimate on the cost to build a SUN CLUSTER?

thanks

Around S$20-26k depending on configuration. Approximate price, non committal.

I don't work for Oracle, one thing I will say, they're respond time is [thumbsup].

Around S$20-26k depending on configuration. Approximate price, non committal.

I don't work for Oracle, one thing I will say, they're respond time is [thumbsup].

Oracle maintenance fee is killer [knife]

ever heard of server consolidation aka viirtualization ? few k $ niah. Solaris is dead, why bother ?

cannot consolidate due to application

Oracle maintenance fee is killer [knife]

Go for their maintenance contract. My side run their blade servers,

the noise is a killer, just like in a airplane, only louder. Personally,

proprietary, you can only get what's needed from their agent here,

no one else deals with their spares. If you ask me, well, reliability

as good as a HP Proliant.... if you know what I mean. <_<

10-12 servers on one blade rack, 4HDDs one server.

Two words.

FARKING NOISY! [shakehead]

Plus point, well, if you wanna call it plus, is expandability without the space, by the time you wanna expend,

hahahaha.. might be EOL for that model.

ever heard of server consolidation aka viirtualization ? few k $ niah. Solaris is dead, why bother ?

Not really dead lah. Boh Hwa only. [laugh]

Go for their maintenance contract. My side run their blade servers,

the noise is a killer, just like in a airplane, only louder. Personally,

proprietary, you can only get what's needed from their agent here,

no one else deals with their spares. If you ask me, well, reliability

as good as a HP Proliant.... if you know what I mean. <_<

10-12 servers on one blade rack, 4HDDs one server.

Two words.

FARKING NOISY! [shakehead]

Plus point, well, if you wanna call it plus, is expandability without the space, by the time you wanna expend,

hahahaha.. might be EOL for that model.

SUN servers do generate lots of heat. Plus my office air con not cold.

I think it will die early so better have a cluster to make sure got failover. [cool]

my boss decide....not me

Going to run into the 100s of ks.

Rack/UPS/Router/Firewall/Backup/Spam blocker (If running mail server)

your boss gonna be in a bad mood for a long time. [laugh]

Tell your boss, if can, go cloud for mails, small server for file storage/ domain/WAN.

Less maintenance.

I think it will die early so better have a cluster to make sure got failover. [cool]

My server room is 24/7. I already kana everyday in and out. :wacko:

buy sun and maintenance contract also. then the maintenance wont be killer.

Yeah, after finish, extension is DCS. (Die Cork Stand) :D

Oh, also on the heat issue, if your aircon break down or some clown turns it off by accident, the whole room

where the servers are kept becomes a sauna in no time flat! No joking, windows also got steam hor. :D

Oh, also on the heat issue, if your aircon break down or some clown turns it off by accident, the whole room

where the servers are kept becomes a sauna in no time flat! No joking, windows also got steam hor. :D

siao liao. my boss think about $$$ only. save $$ on electricity the central aircon is set at 25C.... think better get a fan to blow the servers

Bro. 25C NOT ENOUGH! Fan is not cool. My server room is set at 20C 24/7. How to save $$$ on electricity? [shakehead]

Donno where your boss gets his info from, drinking buddies I suppose. :D