Air scoop

Fabiaman

Not to worry the rain, those scoop come with the shutter to close when it's rain, otherwise Collin Mac will very busy one hand for steering, one hand for gear shift, one hand for pouring the water out frm the window [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Definately got water, good example should be WRX-big air scoop, but the vent should not be fixed above the engine. But even for our normal drive, still got water came frm the road(engine below) to engine room, espeically drive on the road ''pool''.

Oic... ok... that means we can make the air scoop for our direct air intake also right? Liike that sure cold air intake liao...... [;)]

Guest Triggerhappy

Good question leh! Anyone with experience with these air scoops? I feel that these stock air scoops all design sure solid solid one.. if wet, there will be ducts for water to flow to harmless part of the engine (can alo wash engine bay at the same time mah)

Can say the same for those aftermarket cut hole type of airscoop... sure kenna problem if didnt install properly. [pirate]

Then how do cars like Evo 6 & 7 works? they have some kind of air scoop on the bonnet... so when i rains... then how?

i have seen a couple of Coronas with air vents cut in the bonnet cover. Seems well designed cos I actually took a peek at it, there's another layer beneath the grille, probably for the water to flow off or something...

There are many accessories shops out there selling "fake" airscoop which uses a plastic air scoop look alike and stick on to the car bonnet using 3M tape... I thought you need a foolish guy to buy that crap since it very ugly if installed and the fake air vent facing the front will increase the drag. Anyone saw anycar installing such piece of junk?

Is it? The next time u see that car... give the drivers email or something.... would like to find out from him.... more.... [:)]

If you see the Charade owners, maybe you want to ask what they are thinking in their mind when the bought and stick this dummy scoop on the car? Interested to understand their thought process. [:p]

Yah of course.... usually found on Charades....

Don't understand... think it's like that they just want the looks.... but not the real thing.... i like the real thing!! [:p]

3M tape?? End up may loose the airscoop while driving, or even the windscreen may also kenna, then stop the car to pick it back frm the road side. [laugh][laugh]

Yah lor, the double sided tape will not last if the car is constantly travelling at high speed. If the scoop comes off, picking up from the roadside is no issue... only problem is if the bonnet stick so well , that the paint comes off together with the scoop. [:/]