Perry Neutral Newbie June 22, 2002 Share June 22, 2002 need abit more privacy to discuss the following... hehehe also more for benefit of current owners... i got a call from walter who told me that he was doing a private project on the windows regulator problem. he said he found out because in jta's record, they were suppose to indent the regulator for me.... but i am also just wondering if he is hanging around in this forum and has read about my query in the open forum... hehehehe according to him, this problem was already very prominent during jta's time. he was willing to help replace my regulators at $150 (parts + labour) per piece. unfortunately, mycarforum was down on thursday when he first contacted me, so i did not manage to post this earlier to ask for some advice from some of you. then when he next contacted me on friday, my car was already in ca workshop.... just some other details i found out when talking to him. - the window regulators are not originals from vw or skoda. but has been 'redesigned' locally to address the problem that is recurring on many skodas. - he will not be able to 'extend' this offer beyong too long a period as he says that he won't be free once he starts on his new job. dunno if it the regulator is reliable or not, but the incentive is a savings of about $100 ($250->$150). so if anyone of you is having the same problem, you might wish to contact walter and see if he can help you out. unfortunately for me also, i have never really met walter before when jta was still around, so it was harder for me to decide whether to take up his offer. i guess in the end, i decided to play safe and 'waste' some money lor.... ca did gave me one year warranty on the regulators.... btw, what happened to the rest of the guys/gals from sog? forum activity seems to have died down abit... all busy watching world cup ar? heee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear June 22, 2002 Share June 22, 2002 Tks for the details Perry. First of all, I know for sure CA reads this forum, so the LOUNGE is a useful place for us to talk like this... as for JTA, they monitor SOG in Delphi, now that we moved here, u can be sure they also read this forum - provided they still bother to since they have all left. Its funny that Walter can help u personally.. which makes me wonder if he took these regulators from JTA under the nose of the creditors and banks and now is reselling those. Also did he mention how is he going to fix it up for you? I didnt know that he is much of a techie. Also, he has found a new job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 22, 2002 Author Share June 22, 2002 Tks for the details Perry. Its funny that Walter can help u personally.. which makes me wonder if he took these regulators from JTA under the nose of the creditors and banks and now is reselling those. Also did he mention how is he going to fix it up for you? I didnt know that he is much of a techie. Also, he has found a new job? almost accidentally left out the first line, then everyone can see we are discussing about walter liao... hehehehe ok, back to your query.... if i have understood walter's explanation to me correctly, he did not take the regulators from jta.... in fact, he told me that although the record to indent for the component was there, jta never really 'executed' it (due to cashflow problems). so what he did was take an existing faulty one from an octavia (with the owner's permisson), then worked together with an engineer/technician friend of his and use it to mould(got this term??) a similar one, but with improvements and changes on what they think was the cause of the problems. he also added that he is currently using his friend's workshop for such work. out of curiosity, i asked him also if he was able to do servicing for skoda cars... but he said he is unable to obtain the tools/equipments, which skoda-auto only give to the distributor/agent.... so at the moment, he is unable to do this yet. not sure if he has really found the job or he just doesn't want me to take too long to consider (in case the longer i think about it, the more questions and doubts i will have... hehehe), but he kinda mentioned that he is starting work (never ask him do what or where) next month:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear June 22, 2002 Share June 22, 2002 If this is true, then I must say that this guy is resourceful! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonnytay Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 Hi Perry & Wifey, Nice to meet you guys at CA. Hope we don't get to meet each other too often, at CA, that is !!!! Outside of CA, it will be my pleasure. OK, by now, most of you will have known the condition of my Skoda. Took my Skoda to CA for evaluation (that's when I met Perry). Anyway, here's the quote I received. 1. FRT Bumper Cover (1) $750.00 2. FRT Bumper Reinforcement (1) S$480.00 3. FRT Bumper Protector Moulding (1) S$140.00 4. FRT Bumper Bracket (2) $66.00 5. LHF Fender (1) $190.00 6. LHF Fender Shield (1) $388.00 7. Side Signal Light Assy (1) $92.00 8. Head Light Assy (1) $426.00 9. Labour - Straighten, Panel Beat - $750.00 10. Labour - Putty, respray, FRT Bumper Cover, LHF Fender, Damaged Area - $600.00 11. Wheel Alignment - $120.00 Grand Total : $4002.00 + one thousand exclamation marks. Anyway, to be fair to CA, I did insist that any items with minor damage to be replaced and also indicated that cost of repair will be borne by the company where H&R occurred, so CA may be giving me the premium price. Spoke to a few saleman and Kevin when they were 'admiring' my car. Can see that they were quite eager to know more about the real Skoda performance from car owners, asking about mileage, top speed, pick up, etc etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Author Share June 28, 2002 woaaaah..... (add another few thousand exclamation marks... hehe) i'm going to archive this info back at home this evening... finally got 'motivation' to make me drive more carefully liao.... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 Can you request to send your car to your own spray paint shop??? How much do you trust CA sub-con paint job??? To let them know that you know your stuff, ask them to quote you on 'Bare Metal' paint job. i.e. they remove and strip the panel of all paint work, beat the panal back to shape, then they do their respray. result is damn good, but if re-spray not done well, bubbles will appear. This process will cost you a fair bit more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 somehow my memory fail me. what do you meant by Window regulator??? how is it damage??? can enlighten me again (i think you have told me before, but old man liao lah, memory no good ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perry Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Author Share June 28, 2002 somehow my memory fail me. what do you meant by Window regulator??? how is it damage??? can enlighten me again (i think you have told me before, but old man liao lah, memory no good ) actually, i also dunno whether the term is correct or not. found this website with some simple explanations: http://www.howstuffworks.com/power-window1.htm dun really know exactly how it got damaged:) btw, i still have the faulty part in my boot... maybe next saturday can show you pple at the ca meetup... hehehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonnytay Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 No lah. They are replacing the whole bumper and fender with brand new parts. I did ask them why the hell they need to panel beat then. They say it's the beating of the damage area inside the bumper which can't see from outside. Might be bxxxxxxtting, but I didn't bother as like I said, my cost is covered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 Since you are claiming against the other party, why not consider STAR? Heard that their paint work pretty good and they can do insurance claim as well. My car is also damage, thus I will be sending in 2 weeks later to have some panel beating and re-spray. But is at another workshop which is recommended by a friend. Price not cheap, but then job done is good. Unlike you, I got to pay from my own pocket... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PointyEwe Clutched June 28, 2002 Share June 28, 2002 Well, yours is about $1k more than mine when I replaced my bumper and headlights at JTA.... (With sloppy work under the droopy eyes of our dear Walter as a compliment from the house of course) Wooohooo maybe we can all change name to Robert liao from the way CA try to makan us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear June 29, 2002 Share June 29, 2002 Your insurance company will definitely black mark SKODA brand for having high repair charges for accident cars!!! I dunno what is the market rate but this does sound a bit too high to stomach. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...