Air con

Fabiaman

Hi Perry,

Driving up to Genting should not be a problem for octy, if fabia which I considered a little low on power and acceleration, can do it, octy can.

Driving up the highland, do not worry about the engine, be willing to revs and keep the engine buzzing at all time so that you are always on the power mode. If auto, leave it at D1 or D2 if the slope is very steep and keep the revs buzzing while going up the incline. The engine will not damage. If you are unwilling to revs and if the slope is too much for the engine load, then it may stall, and the worst is that it will not re-start after that.(maybe that the skoda that breakdown)

For me, I like to trial a taxi going up, make him be my guide and lead because they are current on the road condition and know where are the dangers.

Handling wise for skoda, no issue. happy motoring.

All right [thumbsup] , that's the way I like it, once in a while revs the engine up and loosen up a little so that the engine is more flexible.

If once in a while we bring the rpm up and keep it revving at higher rpm for a short drive, then at least the carbon don't accumulate that much and the engine got good exercise also. [sunny]

If you like you can always leave the auto at one gear lower so as to maintain higher revs for de-carbonising. [scholar]

Many ppl are afraid of revving their engine for fear of damage. To me as long as the engine is warm up and revving below the red zone or red line of the rev meter, there should be no worry. Even if there is slightly more wear on the moving parts it is only microscopic and do not bother us at all.

[:)]

Since we are at the topic of air con... let me share with you guys.

CA called me yesterday to tell me that they understand my air con was not fixed even after 2 tries at their workshop. And sadly, my warranty expires in July 2002 (one year warranty). So out of goodwill they ask me to send my car in for repairs on whatever that was faulty and pay the full sum for labour and parts. They will then kindly help me claim from Skoda (no guarantee) the parts cost. But no matter what I have to pay for labour cost if I understand them correctly.

So nice.

Maybe not....

I sent in my car before the expiry of the warranty to fix up 2 faults on the aircon and to change oils etc for servicing. Disappointedly, nothing changed in the condition of the aircon - which had a low fan speed and problem with compressor kicking in. So 1st trip was wasted as they didnt get anything fixed besides changing my oil and plugs.

Second trip I specially went down and left my car from early morning and go to work by train. I was bent on getting the 2 problems I have on the air con fixed... this time round, the fan speed was fixeded BUT the air con still does not kick in sometimes esp during cold starts....ie no change!

So now they tell me pai seh that warantty expired after 2 tries on getting the car fixed and tell me the good news is that they will help me claim against Skoda for the parts. What do you think?

The way I look at it, on the safe side, probably you have to pay for everything if you let them fix.

What about talk earlier that the case was left open before the warranty expire, so that you can claim from Skoda. Have they considered the case closed already?

At this juncture, should asked them, warranty still on or not. If not, how to claim warranty from manufacturer, somemore flooded there at the moment..

I'm quite interested as to how they solve your fan speed problem. Any idea what was the cause?

I would not try to go as far as KL as I am not sure of the way. Malacca I sure on you, as for KL I need to check with my colleague if he is free to guide me into KL City. I HATE KL traffic and road signs, cause I dun understand.

So when you wanna do Malacca???

You are so right, as long as rev below redline you are safe man. The engine is design not to get damage if rev stays within the redline region.

Don't know leh, after the last check at CZ Auto, no complain on the air-con. [rolleyes]

If you noticed, when the air-con compressor cut in and out, there is no sound like click or clock at the engine area. It just cut in quitely, look like the relay unit in inside the compressor and not external like many other car.

Air-con is not locally fitted but from manufacturer.

The aircon was ok again after the no cold air experience last week. But today it happened again. Quickly sent down to CA while the problem is present. Sam did a quick check and noticed that the compressor was not working. Later he called to say that they couldn't detect the problem and I need to leave the car there for another 2 days for them to remove the dash board etc. to check the faults. [thumbsdown]

So what happened to your a/con and did they do anything to it? Was it covered under warranty - hope that this will be solved and won't incurr extra $$$. [:/]

My suspect is the electrical connections or some contact problem some where. My air-con is okay so far.

For my case then, they also say to remove dashboard to change the thermal sensor inside. I did not change anything.

Look like this seem to be a fleet problem, knowing a few of the fabia experience this problem.

It was supposed to covered under warranty then, and they even ordered the part from Czech and already arrived. But now, don't know leh.

Edited by Sky8807

we have already taken leave on the 4th week of sep... [:)]

but still in the process of deciding where to go.... actually, veron is quite a seasoned malaysia visitor... she can also speak some simple/basic malay, so anywhere should be ok for us.

malacca got anything to do ornot?

wah, quarter end very tough for me lah. But I will see how 1st.

Malacca quite boring in fact if you as me. I just want to go there to play golf.. hehe

[sweatdrop] Hi! My fabia also exp. aircon problem of late. Need to turn to 4 b4 got any aircond. Worst with the weather so hate, all my backseat passenger can't tahan leow. Anyone got good recommendation on workshop to send to would be appreciated.

Hi Peter, I got exactly the same fault... its one fo two faults which I highlighted to CA when they just started shop. Thankfully they rectified this fault on my 2nd visit to them (1st visit nothing solved).

What I experienced was that the fan speed was real slow and until 3rd or 4th speed do you really feel any "air" coming out.

My suspect is the electrical connections or some contact problem some where. My air-con is okay so far.

For my case then, they also say to remove dashboard to change the thermal sensor inside. I did not change anything.

Look like this seem to be a fleet problem, knowing a few of the fabia experience this problem.

It was supposed to covered under warranty then, and they even ordered the part from Czech and already arrived. But now, don't know leh.

I got a rude shock from Sammo when he told me that the bill comes is $300+ [jawdrop] ( for a/con switch and expensive labour) & is not covered warranty as there is a wiring fault; and that the car has been tempered with, I couldn't believe it as my car was never serviced externally except for JTA.

Went down to CA and had a long discussion to find out what happen... seems like JTA was the one who "tempered" with the car - wire bypass the fuse which was blown - as a result a/con switch burn.(can be dangerous ) [knife]

As I kept asking a lot of question, Sammo had no choice but to explain the whole thing to me - must say that my impression of him changed, he was quite patient and helpful - best part was he later gave me a "discount" - need not pay for the a/con switch and labour, just paid for the fuse, a/con gas & refrigerant - abt $70 +. [sweatdrop]

Later realised that there was no radio reception, some of the switches at the centre panel not working, suspect that during the cousre of dismantling the dashboard, the connection was loose or something. also My power window was "crossed" again!( was worried abt this item not covered under the warranty or find out more problems etc, as this was fixed a few times by JTA). Sammo was quite helpful and say he'll try his best.

The car was fixed including the power window (but he wouldn't want to elaborate on the power window...but assure that it's ok now) [thumbsup]

sorry for the long message [lipsrsealed]

Nowadays, most authorised car agent charge by the hour. The longer the time taken to do a task the more you pay.

From you case, it shows that JTA is doing a shabby job, unprofessional and quick fix. CA workmanship is giving us some confidence and hope they maintain quality and standard, then the higher cost can be justifiable.

Sam, on initial contact seem unfriendly, after a while then find him okay. Glad to know that your long discussion paid off and only have to fork out $70+ instead of the hefty $300.

The radio was installed by a local radio shop. So connectivity of wiring is not the best but if not disturbed shd be okay.

So now you car is okay. Thanks for sharing. [:)]

Meow.............as Faibiete was told by them that the aircon switch blown [mad] . But how come the aircon still can work intermittenly??? [dizzy] In that case Meow Faby also "Blown"??? [dizzy][crazy][:/] How abt yours Faby also??? [dead][lipsrsealed]

That's a fightening experience to send there [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] as Fiabiette mention abt after changing the faulty parts some of the things not working fine via power window etc. [bigcry] Are they telling the true that the switch blown????. [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]??? Or .........

Sky any comment !!!!!!................................MEOW

According to them, not all cases are the same. Mine may be peculiar to my case only. Only thing I am still wondering is how come most of us have some kind of aircon problem near 1 year.

FYI, my power window, radio etc. is ok now - back to normal.

Don't think anything blown. Otherwise, cannot work liao.

As for what is the cause of the intermittent problem, I think both the agent and we driver are still lost. They, agent, is just eliminating the possibilities and troubeshooting the cause and yet to get the answer.

For the case of the power window, if you somehow disconnected the battery, and re-installed it back, it may give you this problem. Just go to the battery terminal and remove and re-installed the 3 fuses above the battery box, it should rectify the problem.