HELP!!! Sports Rim better in what way?

Solokid

Hi Guys

I am driving a New Sunny EX1.6A , Champagne color. I am still using the original 15" steel rim with wheel cover. Can anyone please help to clear some of my doubts:-

1)Is sport rim confirmed lighter than my steel rim? [confused]

2)Apart from cosmetic effects...does it help in enhancing FC/torque/pick up? [confused]

3)I heard that the car stability at high speed will be affected if I change to sport rim. True/False? [confused]

4)TC is selling a set of 4pcs for $360? Is it a good buy or not? I am deciding between 2 design...1 is 5 spokes and the other 6 spokes....does the spokes make any difference?

Really appreciate all your feedbacks/comment.

[gossip]

BTW, anyone drives this car with steel rims and later changed to Sports rims? If yes can tell me what's the difference? [confused]

Here is my take on it. Others may come in later to advice.

1)Is sport rim confirmed lighter than my steel rim?

Not really, you gotta look for the better ones that are lighter, and naturally they are more expensive. Racing brands are normally lighter like ENKEI, RACING HART. Conti rims like MOMO are heavier by default. [blush]

2)Apart from cosmetic effects...does it help in enhancing FC/torque/pick up?

It helps in a way reduce your FC and pickup acceleration if your rims is lighter. However, if your rims are heavier, you may experience a back-fire, FC jialat , acelration even worse. [shakehead]

3)I heard that the car stability at high speed will be affected if I change to sport rim. True/False?

TRUE but for the better. Sports rims normally got a wider patch in contact with the road, so your braking distance and your stability will improve naturally, especially in the wet. [nod]

4)TC is selling a set of 4pcs for $360? Is it a good buy or not? I am deciding between 2 design...1 is 5 spokes and the other 6 spokes....does the spokes make any difference? Cannot comment. The better ones are branded ones and they are within the S$800 or more for 4 pcs. Check what brand they are ... as they could be Taiwanese or Malaysian brands. I am not saying they are no good but check their weight with your current wheel. If heavier, they should not weigh more than 7 kg on their own. Else again, the whole idea may backfire on you. [shocked]

Just remember this :- That 4 wheels are the only contact your car has to the road. So if possible, dun stinge cause your life and those in the car depends on that 4 wheels. Choose a good tyre package to suit the change as well. [nod]

Edited by Hitman

Many thanks to you Hitman! Your fast response is greatly appreciated. I have been thinking about this matter for many days.....

I think those sports rim at TC are from Taiwan... The service advisor said it is lighter than my steel rim.

Does steel rims really "sucks"??? Initially, I thought they are lighter and save petrol because I see a lot of TAXIs using them. Then the wheel cover is also very easy to wash... if sick of them, can request a set from TC anytime FOC....

Let say I am willing to spend only $360...is it worth changing? The main reason is to improve my FC and pick up....

Thanks.

Regards

Solokid

Depends really ....

Steel rims are there to save cost for manufacturers .... are they heavier or lighter, I really dun know as I never used one before. Maybe the others can help. [:|]

The main reason why I never used one before is primarily because I dun like the look of it. Skinny rims they are and from the back, the car looks like a big fat machine with skinny legs [laugh][laugh]

If they are lighter as claimed, then you will experience better pickups and FC as you would like. But bear in mind, you gotta take the advice for your advisor with a pinch of salt. Once u purchase, there is no turning back. Whatever you experience from then on forth is final .... even if u experience worse FC and pickup, there is no turning back. [:/]

Edited by Hitman

Go look around tyre and rims shops, u could easily find one that suits ur taste. There are generally two types of sports rims, one is forged rims and the other is cast rim, forged rims are stronger, if you an engineer then probably u will know why...

Weight wise, it all depends, steel rim are generally narrower compared to sports rim, cos of this they couldn't handle as well as sports rim... So it's a tradeoff at times, then u also need to determine what kind of ride u prefer, stiff, comfort? a larger size rim will result in lag if ur car isn't powerful enough, so ask around first before u start throwing ur money down the drain...

No need lah ... just carry them and estimate can oredi lah. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Remember, if it feels heavy bare .. try to figure what it will weigh like with the 195/55/R15 tyres on them [crazy]

Take that and go to another rims shop liek Stamford Tyre to estimate other rims weights around and compare. [nod]

Edited by Hitman

IF steel rims are narrower than sports rim.....

Can I use back my Bridgestone tyres on the sports rim since both are 15"????? The tyres only 1 month old...throw away very sayang....But must admit they are a bit noisy.... now economy bad so cannot wate leh... [sunny]