Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 Mine is Accent 1.5A 2002 First half tank OK, 2nd half tank now very sluggish. Move off need to go beyond 2500RPM, used to be 2300RPM. Pickup to cruise at 100KM/H used to be below 2500RPM, now 3000RPM. At cruise speed about 300RPM more. Reasons I can think of (Need Confirmation, anyone experience this) 1) spark plug failing? - used 4000KM NGK copper 2) battery dying? - workshop recommended battery change 1 week ago 3) DIY oil filter magnet? - 1 week ago placed magnets around oil filter and one under oil tank 4) Engine oil dirty? - dark brown colour, more than 6 months old Shell Helix Ultra but only 7000KM. 5) Fuel filter clogged up? - placed some ceramic fuel savers into fuel tank, 1 month ago. 6) wrong mixture of petrol? - loan my car out 1 week ago, came back with full tank. Used to pump Shell 92(old version) 6) ANY OTHER IDEAS HELP!HELP!HELP!HELP!HELP!HELP!HELP! Thanks all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 (edited) Have you considered a clogged catalytic converter? This can cut down on the exhaust, giving it not much room to move except backwards. Just a thought, but given a 2002 ride it shouldn't happen but it's a possibility to consider amongst the points you've mentioned. Edited November 13, 2003 by Armored_Saint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 Thank mate. I'll mention that too if I need to bring it in for repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 Hi, what's your idle rpm now. does it fluctuate. how about fuel consumption, any reduction ? did u have this symptom before u did any of the mods u described ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 (edited) Idle is still around 1000RPM before move-off and 800RPM at traffic lights. It does not fluctuate, TPS should be OK. Fuel consumption seems to dip as I need to make higher RPM to travel at my style. Last Saturday, did the DIY oil filter magnet. Previous mods all removed for a motor inspection, only left CAI to the front and magnet on the fuel line and grounding, that was 1st Nov. Sluggish from Monday evening. I used to get this sluggish-ness when stuck in a traffic jam for 30 minutes, start/stop movement. Sometimes, when I slowdown suddenly, almost stop and need to move off and the auto-gear siao siao, a bit for that move-off. Now move off from stationary traffic light also like that. Please advise. Thank you Edited November 13, 2003 by Jimmyl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 Is it still under warranty? If yes, sent it back to Komoco... Heard Hyundai Auto Gear box not trust worthy.. 1) spark plug failing? - used 4000KM NGK copper Not sure. 2) battery dying? - workshop recommended battery change 1 week ago Dont think so. 3) DIY oil filter magnet? - 1 week ago placed magnets around oil filter and one under oil tank Should not be the cause. 4) Engine oil dirty? - dark brown colour, more than 6 months old Shell Helix Ultra but only 7000KM. Time to change liao. 5) Fuel filter clogged up? - placed some ceramic fuel savers into fuel tank, 1 month ago. Not sure. 6) wrong mixture of petrol? - loan my car out 1 week ago, came back with full tank. Used to pump Shell 92(old version) If you were using 92 before you loan out your car, then this wun be the cause.. 6) ANY OTHER IDEAS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 How come you need to send your car for inspection when it is only 1 year old? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 (edited) The inspection was actually a Motorspa by Hyundai. They get the Korea engineers down yearly for a free checkup using some advanced equipment. So you think it's the gearbox. I am going to Genting next month, dunno car can tahan or not. Edited November 13, 2003 by Jimmyl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 ok, maybe u could try the following quick checks/fix. I'm not an expert, but these simple checks might be of use to you. 1) Check batt contacts..is it loose or has powder coat on terminals. Good to remove and retighten again. Ensure good contacts between terminal and lugs. Clean if necessary. 2) Retighten the grounding points on your ground cables. ie remove and clean the surface and tighten again. 3) clean your spark plug cables. I used carb cleaner sprayed onto a cloth and wipe them clean. U can also remove your plugs and check on it's condition. 4) Finally reset your ECU by removing the negative batt terminal and connect it after 15 mins. drive around and see if the problem still occurs. if still the same, consider replacing your fuel filter first. might be clogged, since u mentioned that u put some ceramic additive. hv u also tried to drive hard alittle (just to clear some carbon) > 4k rpm for abt 5 secs on s'pore roads. (not asking u to speed, but u know what u need to do). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 If I remember correctly, are u driving an auto tranny ? perhaps you could do an ATF on your gearbox. check the dipstick to see the colour of it. should be clear / pinkish colour. let it drip onto a clean paper napkin. see if there are any deposits. So you think it's the gearbox. I am going to Genting next month, dunno car can tahan or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 1) Check batt contacts..is it loose or has powder coat on terminals. Good to remove and retighten again. Ensure good contacts between terminal and lugs. Clean if necessary. DONE, was good 2) Retighten the grounding points on your ground cables. ie remove and clean the surface and tighten again. DONE, was good 3) clean your spark plug cables. I used carb cleaner sprayed onto a cloth and wipe them clean. U can also remove your plugs and check on it's condition. Need to go home and get the tool 4) Finally reset your ECU by removing the negative batt terminal and connect it after 15 mins. Try later drive around and see if the problem still occurs. if still the same, consider replacing your fuel filter first. might be clogged, since u mentioned that u put some ceramic additive. This one can DIY? hv u also tried to drive hard alittle (just to clear some carbon) > 4k rpm for abt 5 secs on s'pore roads. (not asking u to speed, but u know what u need to do) Should be no problem trying this, since car so sluggish. Try later The ATF is fine, just checked this morning Thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 (edited) did u check ur tyre pressure? and how's the engine oil color like? Edited November 13, 2003 by En0203 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 (edited) check what the Korean guys did exactly? my bet is a confused ECU.. not sure wat was done before the inspection, but with the removal and adding of stuff, the ECU will get a little confused... the another small contributing factor maybe the fuel ceramic stuff or/and the magnet.. suppose to go thru a "cleansing cycle" period.. last but not the least.. go clear carbon.. safely!!! Edited November 13, 2003 by Vidz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 I can teach u how to replace yr fuel filter.. done it on my ..however u need to know where that thing is first. And also find where the fuse to the fuel pump is also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 Tyre pressure did not check. Will DO. Engine oil dark brown like the darker part of this icon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 U were saying cruise at 100km normally rpm 2500...but now become 3000 ?? am i right ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 The Korean chap just hook up some wire to the electrical parts of the car and volia a report is created. Will try the reset ECU and see how Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimmyl Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Author Share November 13, 2003 Do you know any where to buy the filter cheap? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...