Phochem Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 dunno JB well and the coilover only slight more than a month old. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 you mean ARB??? yes the car does come with one but when the coilovers were installed for the 1st week everything was good. only recently when going up/down MSCP the sound came. Funny thing its that the squeaking sound comes only when 1) the car is travelling ard 20km/h or slow (steering straighten), slight 2) when going over hump (steering/wheels straighten), slight 3) when going over hump (steering/wheels not straighten), lagi loud and almost irritating. wah si bei sian arh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 then in sing u buy from who? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 from speedworks Mr Loo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 at least u get back form the source,go back complain lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 Check the ARB. See if it needs tightening. Or simply the coilovers are not compatible with the ARB. I had this problem as well. My ARB was from the EP82 Starlet (round backside). Others have installed these on their EP70 Starlets (square backside) w/o problems. Mine squeaked like a mouse on low speeds. I was pretty sure the springs were squeaking from a pretty stiff suspension system. So I got the ARB changed to the EP71 (square backside turbo Starlet). Squeaking stopped. For your case, your car's ARB is already considered stock. My opinion is that the coilovers might be incompatible with your ARB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie March 8, 2004 Share March 8, 2004 got to let the workshop check 1st, the installer recommended by Mr. Loo. Wah, if not compatible still need to spend on another set of coilover liao. so far only D2 and KW have coilovers that fits my car but the price i see liao faint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 solved the squeaking problem liao. He raised the ride height by abit and sprayed some lub on the springs and the sound gone. He told me the sound comes from the rubbing of the spring betw the surface of each wound and also the ride height(lower) he set during the 1st installation was not suitable for my car. btw, you got any idea what kind of lub he used??? i tot of getting a can just in case the squeaking comes back again aft this coat wears off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 10, 2004 Share March 10, 2004 Could be WD40 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...