Vios or City?

Morris

I prefer City over Vios. I am driving a Toyota and sick of the long queue at service centre. Toyota car too common. Heard Vios engine quite noisy - not too sure. But dun like vios cos

1) Instrument panel at the centre... driver dashboard very empty.

2) Rear seat cannot be fold.

3) Rear disk brake - brake pad worn faster and need replacement frequently. drum brake last longer.

4) Body weight too light - thk only 970Kg. Not stable at high speed.

5) Factory fitted radio - thk freuency is different and what if the unit broke down??

3) Rear disk brake - brake pad worn faster and need replacement frequently. drum brake last longer.

hehehe... tot most pple prefer disc brake to drum.... many pple lamenting why the new hondas are using rear drum.....

Disk or drum doesn't really matter to me. Only know that brake shoe last longer than brake pad. Furthermore disk always rust after rain. Awful. Anyway can always convert drum to disk - thou Honda owners are well known for modification??

But the SE at Honda seems rather rude and unwilling to give accessories. I've heard of those at BM, guessed this one was from BM also (just kidding). Don't you think that the interior looks abit too plastiky?

Black. What about you?

Ya lor.. the SE told me late May or early June, sigh! Just sold away my car and now need to tahan for few months without car.

Mine was very friendly. Cos I was recommended to her by another friend who bought a Civic from her. managed to get some freebies such as reverse sensor and alarm from her. The interior looks definitely better than my current car.

Disk or drum doesn't really matter to me. Only know that brake shoe last longer than brake pad. Furthermore disk always rust after rain. Awful. Anyway can always convert drum to disk - thou Honda owners are well known for modification??

Think disk brake is better. why? drum brake is covered up, thus the brake dust cannot escape. as such, drum brake always have the problem of squeaky noise after somethimes..very irritating shakehead.gif

many ppl must have experienced b4....i think the Mit lancer cars have this issue. I have seen a few fren's Mit lancers dated from 1999 model to the 2002 model, all have this rear brake squeaky noise..think the 2003 model will be the same....even the se at C&C driving a Mit lancer admit to this shortfall....

Agree with you. Vios is cheaper, ABS with EBD, twin airbag comes standard. Very good value. 4 disc brake as well. But I still choose City. I need a bigger boot and a foldable rear seat. was thinking of Suzuki Liana initially.

I don't think it's necessarily fair or even accurate to say that disc brakes are always better than drums (and this might not what you're saying either). In the end the proof is in the pudding, in terms of braking effectiveness (distance), efficiency (fade) and feel. Of course, everything else being equal, discs should make a better case, but saying that car A has rear discs and car B has rear drums, therefore car A has better braking is way too simplistic. The application is just as important as the contents.

Edited by Seansene

As for me, i didn't like the suzuki. Yes the fact is that it is big. But because of this, the car is slow. And not forgetting paying 63K for a 1.3M car??? Not my kind of spending

My friend booked the 1.6A saloon for 69k and will be getting it next tuesday. Delivery is very fast considering the fact that he booked it early this month. Basically the liana is very tall 1545mm giving you a commanding view. Equipment is good, 2 air bag, ABS, Sport rims, side skirting and most important "Made in Japan". It's like driving a european car as the control for headlight and wiper same as euro models. the boot is 420 litre. It also has climate control which are usually found in luxury car. 3 head rest at the back seats as well and not to mention the new sporty facelift. It's a rather good buy. He was deciding between Mit lancer and liana initially.