Cyrix Neutral Newbie July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 u mean u bought ur K&N drop in for just $20? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyrix Neutral Newbie July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 wat do u mean by drop in????...is it the one that fits into the stock air filter box???...or is that the stock replacement filter n not the drop in filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shoi Neutral Newbie July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 Thanks for ur advise, i will go for it. Abit budget so will look for 2nd hand wan. Do u have ani lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lwongcc Neutral Newbie July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 huh?? no lar.. haha the cleaning kit is about 20.. think the filter cost arnd 90+.. can't really remember already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 quite hard to get... a new one might cost ard 80-100 depending on the model of ur car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wykh Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 Hi, Do anybody have experience of Blitz Drop-in Air Filter? http://www.blitz.co.jp/products/aircleaner/susfilter-lm.htm How is it compare against KNN, HKS? Where can I find it besides Autobac? TIA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 no experience with Blitz filter... most bros here recommend K&N drop-ins Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 one qn about K&S Filter? How long does a filter normally last? ie, after rinsing in water, reoiling, etc? Let's say if I take it out every 10K km (together with syn oil change), is that advisable? Or should I just take it out every 5K, like any other ordinary "paper" filter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched August 7, 2004 Share August 7, 2004 greetings bros and sis, Writing in to ask feedbacks for K&N Filters ... was wondering if the results are noticeable after fixing it. Me ride E46 320i. Thinking about adding power boost valve but not sure how effective it is. My ride is a bit if not too sluggish ... As for pick up timings, I'm pretty sure it won't be able to hit 7 secs. So no point adding all the unnecessary mods ... thanks once again .. thats pertty obvious wad....changing the air filter alone will not help getting your car into Sub 7....K&N is good...I personally installed one into my ride and result is that engine is smoother and abit more powerful....and in the long term it saves u a hell lotta $$ cos of tis long life span Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 7, 2004 Author Share August 7, 2004 actually I didn't say adding K&N filters will help me hit sub 7 ... I was saying its impossible to hit sub 7 by adding K&N filters and "power boost valve". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyrix Neutral Newbie August 8, 2004 Share August 8, 2004 (edited) Go for it... noticable improvement! bro...me riding a SIR...just put K&N cone filter but no realli great improvement leh.. maybe cos i DIY...not very gd maybe....hahahhahaha....but everytime accelerate...got pss pss sound....is tt normal bro??? oso...heard ppl say cone is very loud...but i dun find it leh...same as my original sound...... Edited August 8, 2004 by Cyrix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie August 8, 2004 Share August 8, 2004 cone filter or open pod improves on the mid to high end of the power band.... u will not have noticable improvements on the low end. btw, did u add a heat shield and fixed a CAI to it.... have better results. The loudness depends from one make to another, so maybe yours belongs to those more "tamed" kind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeang Neutral Newbie August 8, 2004 Share August 8, 2004 (edited) take a look at this K&N filter after only 3000km use..... Bascially oil is used for filteration, No douths it seems good just after install, but soon find my ECU requires/drawing more air in the morning(just start engine) then usual, the starting RPM shoot from 1800 to 2200.....(because air sensor kana oil from this filter) n it cost $80. hahaha now thrown into dustbin. Now working on Capsule.........really good but how to reduce or shield the heat from engine. once capsule heats up........ air too heats up, FC sure goes higher..... still testing for best material to isoluate the heat. Edited August 8, 2004 by Mikeang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie August 9, 2004 Share August 9, 2004 hmmm... i hav heard anomalies like high warming up rpm but it seems i didnt encounter such problems... been using the filter for years liao. Some of my friends over oil'ed their K&N, this might be the cause for high rpm. i'm using capsule myself, no way we can totally shield it away, only minimise. Unless u apply ceramic coat to the capsule inself and heat wrap ur exhaust manifold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeang Neutral Newbie August 9, 2004 Share August 9, 2004 thanks pal, tat filter is newly bought and it shows this problem, nvm will clean it up and test soon. as for capsule, did talk to Nigel, working now for the heat insulation, my 1st test so far ok, but yet to check how much temp. had it able to reduce. the material used is silica cover... 1st test show this material can withstand heat, next will be temp monitoring. will update here too once done : > happy national day to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie August 9, 2004 Share August 9, 2004 same to you .... . Do post some picts on the shielded capsule soon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...