RE: Share Your Lobangs

Blue

Hi Bro's,

Anybody out there who knows of any other stockist for koni (yellow) besides selegie spareparts? Decided to boycott the place due to inconsistent pricing [rifle] and very "kuai lan" attitude [sly] .

Helping a friend who wants to do up an EP 70 for fast road use....... [thumbsup]

Edited by Blue

Hi Mondeo,

Thanks for the lead [;)] , but do you have any numbers/names to let my fingers do the walking? Were you refering to tanly?

Hi Bro,

Just curious after a couple of days is there any marked improvements in performance after the wrapping done?

Was thinking of doin it but weighing the plus points against the $$$! [:(]

Thanks

Have you tried asking Fong Kim over at Ubi ??

You asking if there is marked improvement....meaning swapping the shocks ?? IMHO, you need to change the springs as well to lower your CG before you can corner faster. Just a change on the shocks will reduce the rolling part and max tyre to road contact, but to corner that tad faster, consider lowering your CG. Besides....it looks good !!

Hi GR, thanks for the comments but actually was refering to Mondeo's exhaust wrap.

Anyway intend to dump in some after market performance springs and totally agree it improves the looks!

Ohh..you mean mummified the exhaust ?? [:p]

Becareful on wrap....been known to cause mainifold to crack as pocket of air will be heated to super hot.

You can try thermal paint or some call it ceremic paint. Works just as well.

Thanks for the tip man [thumbsup] , does the thermal paint really insulates the heat?

If so is there any performance gain?

Blue,

Well, actually isn't mummified the exhaust! It is give a coating which applied a layer on extractor and the exhaust to keep the outside cool and inside hot (same as what Ghostrider mentioned, the product name - Thermo coating..I think)

The accelerator is more lighter and dun need much hard depress and can reach 3000rpm easily. To my opinion - it's worth to do it.

But do remember, since now easy to get the power, and be careful you will demand more after that fuel consumption will be higher.

Edited by Mondeo

Wah if that is so, I think I will get it then. Where do i go to get the Thermo coating and what kind of damage $ am I looking at? [bigcry]

Can it be DIY?

It needed remove out the extractor and paint the layer, can you DIY it [sly] .

There're few places can do this, I went Autofix for 3hrs job with $280.00 (depend what kind of car, 1.6l may lesser)

Give a call for enquiry or reservation first :64544940 (Chris)

Thermal Paint works dude.....but due to its thin layer, you need to repaint it after a few years. They used to do sandblasting on the exhaust manifold and then apply ceramic on to the manifold...but that takes three days and 400 plus. Now easier liao.....need to apply the paint only.

Contact Raymond from Auto Dynamic lor...he does the paint as well....I think in the region of 180 buck ?? Tel 67459702

Performance gain if you happen to be using a open pod airfilter....the engine bay is noticable cooler.

Going too as soon as I get my extractor found !! Still looking for one....... [:|]

But have seen the thing work....its good. They use to sell the paint for 30 bucks only...but its gonna be a pain in the arse to DIY.....need to remove the extractor to apply the paint.

But my engine bay is not so hot....so might be giving the paint a pass too........cos I dun wanna do open pod....sibeh noisy...the induction is loud. Later kenna roadblock also dun dare to step on the petrol.... [shocked][shocked]

So you interested for your Mondeo ??