Rules on Fog lamps

Jiayong

Fog lamps

The following requirements must be met when installing aftermarket fog lamps:

a) The fog lamps should bear approved markings to show that they have met internationally recognised standards. If they meet ECE regulations, they will bear markings, 'B' and 'F' for the front and rear fog lamps respectively.b) If the fog lamps do not bear any markings, check with the vehicle's importer or agent to see if these fog lamps are originally fitted or approved by LTA

c) The front fog lamps must cast a white or yellow light. They must be installed not more than 400 mm from the sides of the vehicle and at least 600 mm apart from each other. They should also be located below the headlights and at least 250 mm above the road surface.

d) The rear fog lamps must cast a red light. They must be installed not more than 400 mm from the sides of the vehicle and be at least 100 mm apart from the stop lamps. They should also be located between 250 mm and 1000 mm above the road surface.

Fog lamps can cause unwanted glare when improperly installed. Therefore, the installation must be carried out by qualified personnel in accordance with the product manufacturer's recommendations.

Note: If the fog lamps do not meet the above requirements, it must be covered at all times when the vehicle is being used in Singapore.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello guys...just wondering about the standard highlighted as above...anyone knows what standard is that? anywhere i can find more info on it?

or better still...any one knows any shop which sells fog lamps that adhere to this standard? hee hee....thanks for helping out...

not many after market ones are approved as they do not bear the marking that meet ECE regulations, unless you get the ones that are made for your car as an option. Having said that, even those also may not have the markings if they are in OEM packing sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

no lar! as long as your car was send for homologation with the fog light install, it'll be considered as 'legal' wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif the most is install but put on the fog light cover lor! when need to use espcially in MY, then remove them sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

Whats homologation?

and of course i intend to use in Sg roads lah...cos my front lamps not too bright leh although i change to the highest rating recommended for my lamps liao.

when a new model car need to be registered in SG, they need to be send to LTA for a homologation process, basically just check thru the car to approve for usage in SG unsure.gifunsure.gifunsure.gif

oh..then old car how?

hmm..anyway..u know where to find the old fog lamps? the ones like rectangle yellow colour ones...like the ones from the cartoon one..hee hee.

post-5-1091625197_thumb.jpg

but his comes neatly fitted onto the front bumper...the one that i am looking for is one that will be tightened on to the bumper fog light bracket by a screw...

damn..last time my friend had contacts to one set for $100 only...but he lost the contact....sigh..

Whats homologation?

and of course i intend to use in Sg roads lah...cos my front lamps not too bright leh although i change to the highest rating recommended for my lamps liao.

hmm...u fixed yr lights liao or nt....tt tiem u said u had 2 turn the screws 4 it...

mannz...look at the picture above....so stylo...which TP will want to argue?

more likely they stop me to ask if i can give them a ride...hee hee