Jaason Neutral Newbie August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 Should we turned off or on the OD (overdrive)? What difference will it make? Better power, fuel consumption or...? Also, the shift from D to L or 2. Can we make the gear shift on the drive or must come to a stop first? Please advice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zombie Neutral Newbie August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 I remember reading in Toyota Corona manual that OD should be turned 'ON' for better efficiency..... correct me if I am wrong.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 you can shift the auto gear on the move, just remember to take your foot off accelerator when you do that. unless you going from drive (D, L or 2) to reverse ®, then stop the car completely before you shift the gear stick. for safety reason, some makes also require you to depress foot brake fully before you can shift into R. OD should always be on/activated/etc, for better FC. unless you want to drag your car (like when you feel like racing with the ah beng beside...) then deactivate OD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 err.Tien. Chevvy got OD meh? How to deactivate it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 Correct me if I am wrong but OD should be turned on for better FC. OD allows the car to change for 4th gear (i am quoting an example from my Matrix) and allowing the car to shift into higher gears promotes better FC. The indicator light of the OD should be off when cruising and only upon overtaking or the driver wants to drop from 4th gear to 3rd gear, then should the light be on. In normal driving circumstance, just drive normally without touching the OD button. Just my 2 cents worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bernard_2 Neutral Newbie August 12, 2004 Share August 12, 2004 Right place OD to on when normal driving... you can feel that engine go smooth and gear change much more smooth too and of cos better FC. When you off your OD. U can feels tat the gear is dragging and give U more power in overtaking. But FC will of cos higher (just like manual gear dropping from higher gear to lower for more power). OK long distance travelling just on OD when want to overtake just off it Gear will drop after over take on it back. Simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 not sure if optra is same as aveo... for aveo, there is a HOLD button on the gear box, near driver side. depress the button to de-activate OD (the HOLD light will light up somewhere in the instrumental panel). this means overdrive is off and gear will not go to 4th gear. press the button again to pop it up - OD activated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 Huh??? OD off means that the car will not reached 4th gear meh??? You sure bo??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 Also, anyone know if it is at certain speeds that auto cars generally switch gear 4 cos if city driving, always at max of 70 to 80 km/h, will we hit gear 4, if not, OD on or OFF no diff right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 When OD is off that means your car is allowed to drag to a higher rpm then change gear whereas when a OD is on car, the rpm will be drag to the most of 3K+ then change gear liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 i am confused liao, pal. in normal circumstances, i do not press the button with at the gear change lever. once i press it, the display will show OD. according to some frds.. if the auto gears work up to highest gear, by pressing the OD, it will drop one gear and then rpm and power will continue to raise after i press the button again and the OD wording disappear from the display. this is for extra pickup/power for overtaking. if on normal driving, to press the button, initiate OD. can have better FC on tt ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 will it be harmful to the auto gear tranny if OD is on all the time ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 OD button is present in my Toyota Vios. Usually, the OD button is activated and the system is OD-ON mode. The display on the screen will NOT be shown as this is the default driving setting. This means that when it's time to change from 3rd gear to 4th gear, the car will switch for you. When the OD button is pressed once, the OD-OFF light comes up to indicate that the car is limited to 3rd gear, or that the car will drop from 4th to 3rd gear. This causes the engine to rev up to match the speed and to allow you to overtake much more easily. Now, if you really want to try to drive an auto car like a manual sometimes, here are some scenarios that you can experiment on:- Upon approaching a corner, press the OD button to drop to 3rd gear. In the apex of the corner, switch down to 2 (2nd gear) and floor it. Upon exit, switch back up to D (with OD-off still enforced). Power out of the corner in 3rd and then press the OD button again to allow the car to go back to normal drive mode. Disclaimer : Please exercise caution when trying this move out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 irrespective of speed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 It won't be harmful yo your car. Just that it will consume more petrol thats all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 When you are at 4th gear then when you off your OD then your car will auto drop to the 3rd gear and rev to a higher rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 for normal driving OD shd be on. (meaning u dun see any 'OD off' sign on the instrumental panel). then when driving & u activate the OD(meaning OD off) the RPM will shoot up, will drop down 1 gear for more power(thus higher FC). u can shift gear on the move but not advisable as it will spoilt the transmission faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ecaf Neutral Newbie August 15, 2004 Share August 15, 2004 bro, our protege got HOLD button, not OD button right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...