Presea 3rd Gear October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 I saw this while driving. (2 good shots out of 10 ) I never noticed the springs before. Are these on all GT wings? Does it keep the wing more stable under high loads? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rx7_lover Neutral Newbie October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 (edited) most GT wings usually have pillars without springs.... personally I don't see the point of the springs because when you race the wings are suppose to create downforce where as the springs reduced the downforce in a way because the springs will cause the the wing can move up and down usually to the path of least resistance.... but I myself am not sure of the physics of this.... it is only my 2 cents.... anyways it looks like a cosmetic GT wing rather than one that actually does what it is suppose to do (create downforce) Edited October 13, 2002 by Rx7_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 nice GT wing..but sometimes wonder is it practical on road use..since if it actually works...it would probably work at high air speed which is about 160Km/hr and above. .... furthermore the correct angle of attack is neccessary to generate the downforce ie: negative lift. If the angle of the 'wing' is not set properly...in a worst case it would even create 'lift' hahaha......lifting the rear of the car at high speed....ki nd of scary rite? The most important thing is to understand the flow over the particular car first and then putting such 'wings' in effect to generate downforce at the right places... another concern that alot of ppl is not aware of is if it actually generates the downforce and if it is huge!!! ie: 50-60kg at 200km/hr.... then imagine having a person sitting on your boot concentrating only at the 2 attachment pts...ummm.... results is obvious... But then at the end of the day...it sure look nice and fierce... that all its purpose on a road car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowsix Neutral Newbie October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 Near my workplace, there is a Mazda 323 with bodykit and initially there was a GT wing not unlike the one u posted before. I think there are very few Mazda 323 with spoilers and this one really stands out. However, saw it recently and no more wing. Also saw a Mazda 121 with a GT wing last time but now switch to a milder spoiler. Too bad I got no chance to ask the owners why they change from GT wing to no wing/spoiler. If my money too much, I might get one too but think the added weight outweights the benefits since I hardly speed anyway. I mean speed above 120 km/h, that is! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 GT Wings are not allowed under LTA Rule I would love to get one installed on my ride if it wasn't for the fact that its a no no by LTA ...and since its so prominent...its a really big magnet for TP can refer to my posting for now regarding the rules http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...h_string;#58304 tried accessing LTA site, but modification section seems to be down for the moment... wonder if they're changing the rules again http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/vehmaintain/maintain_mod.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 I doubt they would ever approve... considering the safety aspect of it..not to the own car .... but to a motorcylist travelling behind a car with a GT wing ...if the driver suddenly jams its brakes..............ummmmm the result could be fatal.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 yup...dun think they'll ever approve... just wondering why the site is under maintenance though... perhaps some other changes to other rules Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowsix Neutral Newbie October 13, 2002 Share October 13, 2002 Oh I see. No wonder the owners took it off. Thanks for the posting on the mods. Had a fun time reading them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 (edited) FF drive needs GT wings meh? In term of stable, ask them put a tone of rock inside the boot better! Edited October 14, 2002 by Mondeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 (edited) >>>>>>>>>.............FF drive needs GT wings meh? In term of stable, ask them put a tone of rock inside the boot better! .......... .... ie you can see things we all cannot see.... in chinese saying:- one needle poke, can see blood comes out!! ........ see things much better we all...... yah, juz add weight lor, why bother with wind or spoiler /???....... cheers Edited October 14, 2002 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 Wah, feeling like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 Actually... still wondering since GT Wing not approved by LTA, was wondering about the stock spoiler on the Skyline GTR and GTT ... Isnt that a GT Wing too? (not aluminium/steel though...like that pass?!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowsix Neutral Newbie October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 Hmmm... that is a good question! I wonder why too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear October 14, 2002 Author Share October 14, 2002 I guess if it is stock, LTA can't do much about it. Since the car has already been approved for import, and during the initial inspection, the "GT wing" was passed. For modifications, they can be as stringent as they want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 in a worst case it would even create 'lift' hahaha......lifting the rear of the car at high speed....ki nd of scary rite? Maybe the owner is a pilot? Tot he can take off in a cxxxxxc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 If not passed. Just ask the inspector during the inspection that why Yellow cab's Turbo GT wing can pass but yr dun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 14, 2002 Share October 14, 2002 If not passed. Just ask the inspector during the inspection that why Yellow cab's Turbo GT wing can pass but yr dun. Mondeo, that's a good one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear October 16, 2002 Share October 16, 2002 I saw this while driving. (2 good shots out of 10 ) I never noticed the springs before. Are these on all GT wings? Does it keep the wing more stable under high loads? Wah!! u good man... how did u took the pic while the car is moving?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...