2002 Primera revisit......

Super7

Hi JGOH,

I've not seen this Pug yet. Is it in S'pore already? MrBoobs may wanna go for a test drive. Or have he?

thumbsup.gif

The 307SW will be introduced at the SG Motor Show in a couple of weeks. nod.gif

Edited by Jgoh

Your Presea can do 190kmph??? For a 1.6L, that's rare. Care to share what mods you have? You can then tell Rex owners that you can have them for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper if their car is stock standard, during long highway race.

What in your car "kicked-in" at 190kmph?

I dun mind spending money to get your type of performance in your car. Might do wonders to my 2.0TS.

Happy motoring.

[laugh][laugh] agree with you on the taking a plane idea! I just realised that I am a sucker for wagons. Saw a Mazda 323 wagon and dreaming for a 156 sportswagon. Even a Rio Wagon would draw a second look from me! [crazy]

yeah, the 323 wgn does look good........... same for the 156... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup] ........... Legacy GTB Wgn lahgi [thumbsup][thumbsup]

"...BTW, wif the dials in the centre, u gotta keep swivelling your head left n right to watch your speed each time u drive up north! [:p] Neck ache ah.

yeah, i am also wondering how to cope with those dials in the centre and yet keeping our eyes on the road in front???...... [rolleyes][dizzy][shocked]

cheers [nod]

Looks like your friend is getting mellower............Porsche ---> high perf Saab ---> AR156 ---> Primera. Is next targer a MPV......... [laugh][laugh]

i think so, coz he should be in his mid 50s now, but a very nice guy who likes talking about cars..... owned a kart track or two in mainland china not too long ago.....

guess one day he'll cycle to meet me [laugh][laugh][laugh]

cheers [thumbsup]

Get your ex-boss into MCF and we'll be able to share his experience man!! [thumbsup]

would like to but guess he's abit too busy with his own business and leisure things........ will find out from him anyway...

good suggestion [thumbsup]

Bro....u dun seem very clear what kinda car u looking for. From Camry to T5 to Octavia Turbo to Primera. Going one big circle I also blur liao! [dizzy]

i have tried for the last 2 months finding out what makes his Presea go so fast..... unfortunately still no answer leh?!!!!!!!............... [rolleyes][dizzy][nod][thumbsup]

Edited by Super7

LOL..... yeah, basically i want something 2nd hand with some oomph ($$$$ no enough for new ones)..... then realise also that with same amount of $$$$$ i can have new normal family saloon which has the look (Primera) and some novelty touches..... so with same outlay, i have some choices (quite opposite choices i muz admit...but i am ok with tat...)....

in short, my satisfaction can be derived from opp. kinds of enjoyments.... call me split personality or something like tat.... [laugh][laugh]

tis confuses you???....... good news for you:- here's more confusion.... i also enjoy my cheepo 73 celica 300% [laugh][laugh][laugh]

cheers [nod]

Edited by Super7

Ok-ok, i got a brilliant plan. Keep the Celica and forget everything else. Save the money n get a WRX-beating Presea instead!! Haha.... [laugh][laugh]

hey, you are the man with the right idea [thumbsup][thumbsup] ..... i would have done juz that if not because wify likes the soft water bed on wheels (aka Camry)... [laugh][laugh] ..... that's why the Primera may appeal to her, or the functional Legacy GTB Wgn (tested 3 days ago) may sway her mind from keeping the mush-mellow Camry..... [:)]

cheers [nod]

Nothing...I have done no mods...no special filters...no special spark plugs.

So I spent no money on performance upgrades.....YET!

Only upgraded my wheels (rim+tyres and my shocks).

Personally, I don't think 190kmh is anything special.

I've done 170+ i a '90 Sunny 1.5EX Auto, 180+ in both a 94 Elantra and a 96 Mazda (both 1.6L Auto) Speedos may not be so accurate for them...but definitel within plus minus 5kmh....so that is still quite fast for these cars.

For the Presea R10, the stock 1.6L engine (GA16DE) is capable of 120hp at the flywheel.... although less if there is a cat conv. .... mine comes stock without a "CC". And even '90-'93 Sunny 1.6 have the same engine. So don't underestimate them too.. [;)]

And I failed to mention one problem with my stock radiator....when travelling above 5000rpm for more than 5-10 mins, the engine temp will start to rise above the halfway mark. 190kmh=5700 approx. in 5th gear. So I will usually slow to 160-170, just around 5000rpm, to cruise and let the engine cool to slightly below half.....

Anyway...at 190 (my speed limiter kicks in then), the engine will cut off momentarily. The first time, it usually cuts off until my speed falls below 185....then the engine comes back. The second time it happens...for some reason, it will only come back after the speed falls below 180......

....To put things in perspective, Gadgeter's Impreza 1.6 M can hit 205kmh, while Cool's 1.5 Auto Corolla G9 can hit 200. 190 is slow to me....when they can pass me just as my speed limiter kicks in.....

anyone knows how to disable the speed limiter temporarily.....have to put back for ROV inspection.....

Presea if not in good condition, can only beat a WRX for about 5-10 mins....after that have to slow down to let the engine cool a little. [:p] Like mine [thumbsdown][blush]

Wow! I now have a healthier respect for the Presea. thumbsup.gif

Have always liked its exterior and thought that it was way ahead of its time when first appeared. Even looks fresh today. sunny.gif

Thank you for the.....uh..."Respect".... [laugh]

Anyway....I'm one of the few crazy Presea drivers around....most drive around more sedately...

I actually prefer the interior (fabric) ....always liked the plush 1.6L car.

hi Jgoh,

...Couldn't have agreed more with you that on looks alone, the Presea beats most cars hands down.... [thumbsup][thumbsup] .... even the Mk2 also looks good....rare for a Nissan car 10 years after its first launch [:)]

cheers [nod]

I can be a vouch for him. Super hard to follow him in traffic! Had to full throttle everytime and still barely catching up! [sweatdrop]

Woe to those who think the black Presea is just another Presea! [laugh]

Your Presea can do 190kmph??? For a 1.6L, that's rare. Care to share what mods you have? You can then tell Rex owners that you can have them for breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper if their car is stock standard, during long highway race.

What in your car "kicked-in" at 190kmph?

I dun mind spending money to get your type of performance in your car. Might do wonders to my 2.0TS.

Happy motoring.

Hee hee... my Corona 1.6 GLi hit 200km/h [thumbsup] stock!!... and other forum guys Impreza 1.6GL hit 205km/h... another one Corolla G9 hit 205km/h too.... in fact one of the member who drive a bimmer was really surprised to see the G9 right behind him!! [thumbsup]