Comment on Crimestopper CS2016FM

Psfong

Have installed the 2016 few months back, bought from Ben as well, nice guy.

I'm the one who inform Ben about the installation wiring problem that was done in Paya Lebar.

My e-mail to Ben on the 2016 installation and usage which I think is useful to others is below.

I'm interested to find out from others on the range of 2016. So far, in open area it is great, once in a basement car park shopping center, the range is not too great.

> Some questions if you can answer:

>

> 2. On testing the distance, the result is

> dissapointing. Tried it at IMM car park (Park in

> Level 2), my wife is one level below the car park at

> Burger King. I triggered the alarm and the alarm

> pager is not triggered at all. The straight line

> distance is definitely less than 500 meters. Any

> idea why ? My front screen is tinted with Ray Cool ,

> will this affect the range ? Any other way I can

> improve on the distance, is there an external

> antenna that I can install ?

>

> 3. The signal light sometime blink/sometime do not

> blink. Have checked the wiring, looks ok, when it

> does not blink the relay within the alarm either did

> not sound or sometime sounded "weird".

>

> A few points to note related to the installation:

> 1.The installer did not install the engine start

> disable correctly. I managed to find the wrong

> wiring and corrected it.

>

> 2. The installer used an underated diode for the

> light blinker. It does heat up easily and there is a

> potential of fire hazard. I have since changed the

> diode to a higher rated components.

>

> 3. The installer do not know how to re-program the

> alarm. I have managed to do it on my own, but for

> those who do not want to temper with the alarm and

> not technically minded most likely will not be able

> to do so, as there is a need to ground the "BLUE"

> wire before the alarm can be programmed.

>

> Some of the great features that I changed which I

> find it generally useful are:

> - Active Re-arm (default is OFF) set to ON

> - Passive Lock (defult is OFF) set to ON. Need to

> set this or the car will not be lock when te active

> re-arm is activated.

> - Parking light on w/disarm (default is ON) set to

> OFF. I find this annoying, others may like it.

> - GREE/RED Wire function set to MAP from default

> Trunk POP. As the trunk POP is not installed, using

> the default option will cause problem.

> - Disarm on trunk Pop (default is ON) set to OFF. As

> the trunk pop is not installed, pressing the trunk

> pop will disable the alarm as well even though it is

> not functioning.

> - Open door warning. Set to 5 sec from default of 60

> sec. This reduce the time for the alarm to warn you

> there is a door that is not locked properly. 60

> seconds is too long.

like to ask you a few questions:

1. regarding the auto rearm - when 2016 auto rearm, does the door lock together when it is rearm or only the alarm is rearm and the door is not lock? i tried my 2016, when it is auto rearm, the door is not lock.

According to what you said, i must set the passive lock to ON, so that i can experience auto re-arm with auto-lock, is it?(Of course, if i set passive on, i run the risk of leaving the key in the car and car is lock)

2. did you install boot release? when release boot or forget to close the boot, will the alarm be activated?

At the present moment, the boot is not related to the alarm. if i forget to close any windows and activate the alarm, the alarm will trigger to inform me that the door is not close. But it does not happen for the boot.

3. My parking light does not light up, even thought the default programing is on. I tried to change the default to off. but it still does not work. so the wiring is wrong, right? how can i check on this?

4. my shock sensor does seem to be sensitivity to my rocking of the car. But when i shake the sensor, it works. therefore the location is important. where should i place the shock sensor?

5. for the door lock, when i first enter the door and abt to drive off, the door will auto lock ... but if i unlock and let my pax off the car, then i drive off ... can it auto lock again

let me try.........

1. regarding the auto rearm - when 2016 auto rearm, does the door lock together when it is rearm or only the alarm is rearm and the door is not lock? i tried my 2016, when it is auto rearm, the door is not lock.

According to what you said, i must set the passive lock to ON, so that i can experience auto re-arm with auto-lock, is it?(Of course, if i set passive on, i run the risk of leaving the key in the car and car is lock)

mice: 2016 takes arm and lock as two different issue. YES, it will arm but not lock.

2. did you install boot release? when release boot or forget to close the boot, will the alarm be activated?

At the present moment, the boot is not related to the alarm. if i forget to close any windows and activate the alarm, the alarm will trigger to inform me that the door is not close. But it does not happen for the boot.

mice: boot release or not, if u didnt close your boot, after either 5sec or 60sec, the alarm will chirp and also contact the remote pager to alert the user.

but dun tink , the stock 2016 can detect unwind-up windows. only unclosed doors.

3. My parking light does not light up, even thought the default programing is on. I tried to change the default to off. but it still does not work. so the wiring is wrong, right? how can i check on this?

mice: check wif installer on the wiring, did he connect to parking lights or signalling lights.

4. my shock sensor does seem to be sensitivity to my rocking of the car. But when i shake the sensor, it works. therefore the location is important. where should i place the shock sensor?

mice: try to giv your front tires a light kick, to see if it triggers the alarm. rocking the car may not hv sufficient Gs to trigger it.

5. for the door lock, when i first enter the door and abt to drive off, the door will auto lock ... but if i unlock and let my pax off the car, then i drive off ... can it auto lock again

mice: wun lock...

> Some questions if you can answer:

>

> 2. On testing the distance, the result is

> dissapointing. Tried it at IMM car park (Park in

> Level 2), my wife is one level below the car park at

> Burger King. I triggered the alarm and the alarm

> pager is not triggered at all. The straight line

> distance is definitely less than 500 meters. Any

> idea why ? My front screen is tinted with Ray Cool ,

> will this affect the range ? Any other way I can

> improve on the distance, is there an external

> antenna that I can install ?

IMM walls are beri thick, if i park at level two, i can trigger the car anywer in level two. but if i go up/down, i can only do so if i am at the row of shops closest to the CP, anywer else cmi...

u cannot use straight line dist to measure. not accurate one

as for my range, its somewer abt this: park at MSCP level 4, through a HDB block(read as no line of sight), the up to 14th floor still can trigger. i tink this is gd enuf for me.

mice

Hi Mice

1. auto arm and auto lock

mice: 2016 takes arm and lock as two different issue. YES, it will arm but not lock.

danieltan07 : but if you read Tankm comments, it seems that if you activate the passive lock, it will auto lock. just wonder i am reading him correctly?

mice: boot release or not, if u didnt close your boot, after either 5sec or 60sec, the alarm will chirp and also contact the remote pager to alert the user.

but dun tink , the stock 2016 can detect unwind-up windows. only unclosed doors.

danieltan07: it doesnt happen to my 2016. when boot is still open, after 5 sec, alarm will not chirp. it will only chirp if the door is open.

mice: check wif installer on the wiring, did he connect to parking lights or signalling lights.

danieltan07: yup, have to check with dickson, liao

mice: try to giv your front tires a light kick, to see if it triggers the alarm. rocking the car may not hv sufficient Gs to trigger it.

danieltan07: kick the front tires, still does not triggers the alarm.

danieltan07: what about if i activate passive lock?

1. auto arm and auto lock

danieltan07 : but if you read Tankm comments, it seems that if you activate the passive lock, it will auto lock. just wonder i am reading him correctly?

mice: neber tried that function, as is worried abt been locked out by 2016

danieltan07: it doesnt happen to my 2016. when boot is still open, after 5 sec, alarm will not chirp. it will only chirp if the door is open.

mice: let me try mine again to9

danieltan07: yup, have to check with dickson, liao

danieltan07: kick the front tires, still does not triggers the alarm.

mice: i tink ur sensor position may hv an effect on where it is. lets try this. find the sensor, open the dorr if necessary. arm car. stick ur head n arm near the sensor and give it a light tap. the leds on the sensor shld trigger, and the alarm, should chirp, remote too...

danieltan07: what about if i activate passive lock?

mice: answer as #1

nice interaction, keep it coming ... helps to clarify some of my qtns too.

mice

bro, as u use 2016, u will find out more interesting facts, that we neber even tot or realised when buying...

[gossip] more

mice

Edited by Bluemice