AMSOIL rocks!

PowerRanger

grandfather a member, recommended me 10W-40 for city driving and going to NSH. Anyway, wats e diff between both 10-30W, 10W-40 and 5W-40 or 5W30?

Sorry, i am a noob in engine oil.

Your 10W40 is going to thin to SAE40. Your 5W40 will do the same if you whack NSH. Use the 10W30. Can drive in city and can drive NSH. You change oil every 10k? If yes, no problem. A 10W30 can do the job well.

You are driving a Sunny. Using a 10W30 is not going to kill it even if it is 4yrs old.

It really depends on the condition of the engine and not the mileage, although higher mileage usually means relatively higher wear. Both my family Iswaras are using 10W-30, one is 9 yrs old but only clocked 60+k km, the other is 8+ yrs old and has clocked 90+k km. Used to lube them with the ACE 5W-30 but had to switch to Pennzoil 10W-30 since the ACE Hardware store in JB closed shop... [bigcry]

How much are they selling Pennzoil 10W30 up north? Is it the dino version with Purebase? Any luck in finding Mobil Super HP 10W30 there? I went to some Mobil kiosks and don't find any. Only the XHP which comes in 20W50 and the Super S at 10W40.

The 3 litre Pennzoil 10W-30 is selling for RM25 at CT Auto, Tmn Tasek (near Danga Bay, seaside area). Not very sure about the Purebase, but I think I came across it last time when I was reading the fine prints. Will try to check when I get a bottle next month for the next service. As for the Mobil, haven't seen any 10W-30 before, only the usual Mobil-1 5W-50 and the 0W-40.

By the way, if anyone's interested: Speedworks JB just started selling the Fuchs 5W-40 Race oil (and only this particular model and no other) at RM270 for 5 litres. They're selling it coz they find it works better than the Elf they're also carrying, according to Kelvin who works there. They also carry the Torco range and its additive.

Opps, [:p] Saw your order liao. Paiseh, I will let you know the collection details via email.

Yes I just checked the Amsoil ATF bottle here and it meets the Mercon V specs.

Dear forumers

We have a new Amsoil order coming up. Shipment expected to reach SG by end October. Please let us know if any of you want to order any of the Amsoil stuff which we do not currently carry and we can pack it in for you. Please PM me what you need.

Regards. [thumbsup]

Hi guys, it seems like amsoil is very fasinating leh...i just took over a mit colt but there is still 1 more servicing w C&C, do they use reputable oil? or shd i be bringing my own oil for them to change?

need guidance,,, thks thks [flowerface]

For all those who are interested, this is Amsoil's SAE30/10W30 virgin oil analysis.

Amsoil Synthetic SAE 30W Heavy Duty Diesel Oil (Product Code: ACD)

NOTE: This was previously listed as a straight 30W but now is also listed as 10W-30

Batch #: 8848(J or 1)35

Lab: Blackstone Laboratories

Sample Date: March 23, 2005

TBN: Not Done, listed as >12 from spec sheet

Aluminum 0

Chromium 0

Iron 2

Copper 0

Lead 1

Tin 0

Molybdenum 0

Nickel 0

Manganese 0

Silver 0

Titanium 0

Potassium 0

Boron 0

Silicon 3

Sodium 2

Calcium 2787

Magnesium 14

Phosphorus 974

Zinc 1028

Barium 0

Sus Viscosity @210F 62.0 (Should be 62-74)

Flashpoint (F) 465 (Should be >420)

Fuel % -

Antifreeze % -

Water % 0

Insolubles %

Forgot to add. It has a HTHS of 3.4 so it is damn near stable. In general it is cheaper than most of the other Amsoil PAO oils.

Please note the absence of moly in there. Please note that HDEOs are not friction modified.

Edited by Genie47

Genie,

just got myself a bottle of Pennzoil 10W-30 recently, and it doesn't have the Pure Base thing you mentioned, only the Z-7 additive (whatever it is... zinc?) which they claim only they have.