Audi Multitronic

Porker

all tat i know is tat the Multitronic offered by Audi has CVT??

nothing to hoo-ha abt in terms of performance smoothness etc etc.. IMO its as good if not worse as any tiptronic autobox offered by other makes...

if u really are asking in such terms.. then i'd suggest u wait for the DSG transmission tat is used by both VW & Audi.. tat one is indeed SOMETHING to HOO-HA abt ..>! [;)]

[reply]

What do you guys think? Is it a good system? Any problems so far for current Audi owners?

Multitronics is not rocker science orendi in market for a quite a few years thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Ranging from Jap to Conti cars

Didn't drive a audi b4 but the VW is ok nothing to complain thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Btw, u now consider Audi wink.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

My ex boss had a chipped 1.8T with CVT.

Sounds ok. A bit of transmission lag during step off .... that a hint of clutch slip during driving.

His fuel economy is astoundingly good (for 200+ bhp). 10+km/l.

DSG is even better. But the maintainence could be high.

2 clutches to service. 2 clutch actuators to worry about.

I dunno. I'm scared of such techno boxes already.

sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

agreed! The CVT multironic transmission has not much of oopmh in the pick up. CVT's tardiness still bleeds through. not the real F1 action that you would imagine.

Look for transmissions that couples with manual gears, like:

1. Alfa Romeo

2. Opel

3. VW

Problem with some of these systems is that they are manual gears, hence there is some jerk when you rev hard to change the gears.

Heard that VW overcame that with using two gear shifts at the same time. Hence MCFers are rejoicing over this already!

[reply]

Just looking around bro cool.giflaugh.gif

U sure look around for many varieties laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Btw, both Audi and VW 1.8T is a reliable car no breakdown for my ex for the past 2 yrs thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Cheers sunny.gif

aiyo bro.. spend money of course must look around for the one I love most. Else later drive for 1 yr then sian already [thumbsdown]

I hear the Audi Multitronic is the most advanced/best CVT so far, some patented thing lah. But I wouldn't go for CVT in the first place. Can't stand the feeling of accelerating without my tachometer rising at all! Besides, distinct gears still more fun.

Ya, I think DSG is the way to go...

hehe.. like what I told Nemesis. Spend hundred plus thousand ---> die die have to make sure its the one I love the most. If not buy already then sian after 1 or 2 yrs then hong gan liao. Like marrying a girl and regreting the decision after sometime [rolleyes][sly]

[reply]

hehe.. like what I told Nemesis. Spend hundred plus thousand ---> die die have to make sure its the one I love the most. If not buy already then sian after 1 or 2 yrs then hong gan liao. Like marrying a girl and regreting the decision after sometime rolleyes.gifsly.gif

It's hard to stop the itch 2 to 3 years later no matter how much u love the car inlove.gifinlove.gif, the car makers will still manufacture cars that are more advance and nice.

So if u like the car and is within your reach, Y not wink.gif

My $0.02 sunny.gif

DSG is like the BMW SMG and alfa Selespeed. It is not an Automatic gearbox. Where as the Audi Multitronic is fully automatic.

Only set back is, you do not get to feel the tachometer climbing very fast like normal car. And the gearbox cannot take too much torque..However, you will be surprise the speed climbs pretty fast.

The good part is, you still can play around with the steptronic like a manual car. You can drop the gear say from 5th to 3rd and use the enginer brake into the corner and full gas to the metal to exit the corner.. Wonderful [thumbsup]

Have tried it on other auto gearbox and the car tend to jerk forward faster without much engine brake..And spoil the fun..

U were referring to the Multitronic? Well, i've never tried it, but i've experienced the Civic CVT. Not my cuppa tea lah, I enjoy seeing the tacho climb, n e engine roaring.

I noe DSG is something like SMG, but the difference is that it has a twin clutch. Tat's the technological breakthrough. Let's say you're in 2nd gear, 3rd gear has actually been engaged already. Once u pull the paddle to shift up, the OTHER clutch engages, while simultanously disengaging the 2nd gear clutch. Result is u change to the next gear seamlessly, without any apparent loss of power. (No gap during which the wheels are not powered)

Audi CVT (Multitronic) is using Metal Chain where as the honda CVT is using the conventional belt. Thus, you will feel the rubber band effect and would not be able to do engine brakes as it is simply not strong enough.

I agreed with you that DSG will be the next good thing to have..

Currently, the are three types of CVT implementation.

1. The convention belt system (Think the manufacturer is some holland firm). Basically, use by every car maker with CVT.

2. The Audi MMT CVT (This one is using a metal belt with lots of teeth and links). Suppose to be as efficient as a manual clutch as there is not splipage and power lost compared to the convention belt.

3. The Nissan extoid (forgot the spelling). This one uses some metal balls or watever. Costly to built. Can take more torque then the Audi MMT system. Supposely as efficient as audi's MMT.