Advice on Capacitor

Volk74

I have a velocity vr6000 6-ch amp in my car, people are telling me that I need at least capacitor or some voltage stablizer between the battery and the amp.

I need some advice on these.

What is the use of a capacitor?

Roughly how much? Can I put by the side of the amp at the boot instead of the engine compartment? (since it is like a big test tube with a digital counter)

Thanks.

capacitors basically used to store charges.. but hor alot of ICE ppl dun advise on cap first.. tat will be the last item if u want to spend.. a cap muz be place as near to the battery as possible ( i think theres a certain length not to exceed ) u can get a 1. someting farad at ard $150 plus and above...

for ur case i think get the voltage stablizer will be better.. ehehh but a cap lookks nice.. ahah

Its 880watts isn't it? Whats the power output of your batt and alternator vs the power draw of the velocity (can't seem to find its specs online)? You either need a better batt or alternator (in which nothing else will help) or good grounding to prevent any flickering of interior lights etc. Do you notice anything different after your install?? If no, then you're prolly fine. I havent used a cap, but everyone who's in the sql ice scene to say dun bother wasting money on a cap.

I am using a 1300w monoblock amp to drive my 12 inch subwoofer. I dont see the need for capacitors now. Maybe after I added another amp to power my front component speaker then I will need.

If your power exceeds 1000w in your system, its advisable to get a cap to help bridge the surge when you pump up the vol. This will help ensure that your speakers get enuff juice and not bottom out due to lack of power.

But since yours is a 6ch amp, it is unlikely that you have hugh power for your bass. Its is usually the subs that draws the most current.

If you have seperate bass amp, and your overall power exceeds 1000w, get a 1 farad cap to bridge. The other way is to use a power regulator...but that one cost a bomb....at least 1k plus...those who play with SPL would benefit from it most.

There are 2 school of thoughs....one is for caps while the other against. I am for cap...personally I find my bass and overall sound is smoother with the cap than without.

i agree wif this. Unless u feel there's a diff (like flicking of lights when u pump up the vol) den u get one loh. For me, im using 2 x 800W amps powering a 12" sub and 2 x 6.5" components wif no problems so far. [;)]

What about mine? I have 2 amps, 600w and 800w for both front and rear component speakers and also subwoofer?

Do I really need a capacitor cos I have change my dry cell battery less than a year each time so does installing the capacitor solved my problem?

Does your amp clip when you pump up the volume ?

Try playing some trance music with lotsa bass passage and swicth on all your electricals like lights, air con etc...see if your lights flicker when the bass hits. If so, you prob need a cap as the supplied current is not enuff.

bro,actually a cap is a must in car audio .becos if u listen to loud bass. after a few minutes.u will find that the bass become very soft without a cap.normally ,if total up u got 1000w ,u need 1.0 farad cap,if 2000w u need 2.0 farad to power yr system.try listen to yr system with replaying only one song then u will find the different.

yes, u definitely need one if u want loud bass with powderful amps and speakers.....drains lotsa current from battery causing the voltage to drop at the amps. This usaully result in loss of bass and distortions. [:)]

Edited by Normal_aspirated

Its 880watts isn't it? Whats the power output of your batt and alternator vs the power draw of the velocity (can't seem to find its specs online)? You either need a better batt or alternator (in which nothing else will help) or good grounding to prevent any flickering of interior lights etc. Do you notice anything different after your install?? If no, then you're prolly fine. I havent used a cap, but everyone who's in the sql ice scene to say dun bother wasting money on a cap.

agreed...work out the charging capablities of ur alternator 1st..

I ve these on board..wifout the cap

-Alphine 3544 bridged driving a 12" 500W JBL subwoofer

-Zapco Z200 driving a pair of component Orion P6.2(front)

-Carver K220 driving a pair of component CDT CL61 (rear)

All the AMP r 200RMS... [:)]

Edited by York

Better put capacitator later you never know.. your battery might mati.

Also when people like you likes to play with ICE.

I sometimes also scared sometimes for my battery...

actually this is true..

for me.. i'm into SPL.. IE, i wanna blast the sxxt out of my speakers... got a cap attached to my amp that powers my rear components and 10 inch sub.. b4 installin the cap, when i pump up the basss, the amp will either clip, or the bass no kick or i see all my lights (ALL, includin the speedometer lights) dim down...

those who play SQ.. u don often see SQ pple blastin music rite.. so tats y they say don need..

it depends on HOW u listen to ur music.. if u like me, like it LOUD and HARD, get a cap.. if i not wrong, it must be as close as possible to ur amp..

attach it to the amp that has the most load (ie, don attach it to ur amp that powers ur components, attach to ur woofer amp.)

u will definitely hear the difference in bass.. for me now,, my problem now is that my amp not enough power to wack my woofer at the vol i like.. so my amp still clip.. but at a moderately high vol, the bass is KICK ASS!

hey.. ask u ah.. i've heard of ZAPCO amps.. heard they super power and that they were the original amp company that started rockford OR someting like that..

do u noe?

i tink i usin same front components as u.. urs is the higer and one of the lower one? (the higher one like 1.5k)i forgot which model liao, but i'm usin the cheaper one..

cheers mate