Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 Any of U detailing freaks have an orbital buffer? I thinking of getting one but the best are all in the US (aka 110V) Porter Cable brand seems to be the most user friendly and functional one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 Try Bosch....I used to have one but I gave to my friend liao....IMHO....damn difficult to use & messy too.....the way when the pad contact with the liquid wax.....it will spray all over the place man !! (maybe me just dun have the skills to do it) You can find the tool at Homefix DIY shops......the best part of the Bosch one that I had is 2 speed & the attachment is using velcro....so easy to change the attachment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Author Share January 2, 2002 I try lifting the Bosch Plex 12A orbital sander, it's freakin heavy lah. The grip not so ergonomic also. I prefer the porter cable type of grip, I did see another Hitachi orbital buffer in a hardware shop at Upp Bukit Timah but it was $180, too shiong Well, I guess most stuff hand application is ok but for abrasives like machine glaze or rubbing compound, an orbital would be better. Last time I used a machine glaze by hand the results weren't even satisfactory. I couldn't rid as many swirls as I intended to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 IMHO, most orbital polisher cost around 100 plus..... The Bosch one that I used to have was quite okay...... Frankly, to use a orbital polisher needs skills man....else instead of removing swirl marks....you will be adding them..... I once sent my car to a so call professional detailer & they used the orbital polisher to polish my car.....after that my car left with more swirl marks than before !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Author Share January 2, 2002 Yeah, can use multi-million dollar equipment but if skillz and knowledge spoilt also cannot make it one! Another option for me is to rubba rubba harder and also applying more than once Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seven11 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 Turbobrick, tks for bringing this up.... I am always unsure what is the difference between a rotary buffer and a orbital buffer? Orbital buffer is easy to understand what it is.. but rotary buffer? Any of U detailing freaks have an orbital buffer? I thinking of getting one but the best are all in the US (aka 110V) Porter Cable brand seems to be the most user friendly and functional one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Author Share January 2, 2002 An Orbital rotates in a random pattern whereas a rotary spins in a fixed circular pattern. The advantage of an orbital is the lower risk of creating swirls and more even distribution of polish/wax. Check out a review of Porter Cable here: http://autopia-carport.com/ProductTests/PC7424.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lomaikai Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 (edited) Rotary buffers and orbital buffers have different purposes. Orbital buffers are used to apply polishes and waxes. All hand products can also be used with an orbital buffer. An Orbital buffer is solely for applying product to the finish of a vehicle.Rotary buffers should only be used by skilled professionals. Rotary buffers are used with a wide variety of paint products and pads in several combinations in order to heat up the surface of a vehicles finish, melting such imperfections as scratches and acid rain pitting away. These and other defects like oxidation (layers of old dry paint which must be removed to expose a healthier layer) and stains from berrys and bird droppings must be repaired with this buffer. Turbobrick, tks for bringing this up.... I am always unsure what is the difference between a rotary buffer and a orbital buffer? Orbital buffer is easy to understand what it is.. but rotary buffer? http://www.executivecleancar.com/faq.htm Edited January 2, 2002 by Lomaikai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 Any of U detailing freaks have an orbital buffer? I thinking of getting one but the best are all in the US (aka 110V) Porter Cable brand seems to be the most user friendly and functional one. One of my forum guys seem to be a more detailing freak then me. think he is giving us a demo at JTA showroom on 19 Jan at 2pm. I will check with him what Buffer is that... cause I am not too sure.... will revert after our little meet up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear January 2, 2002 Share January 2, 2002 Wah Skodaman, who is it? Doctor Drake? This chap is a champ man... I saw him posting here yesterday. JTA showroom? Got space for us to park meh? Wait customers and salesman confused take my Fabia for a test drive , hehehe. See ya bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Share January 4, 2002 The pad is important too. 3M has good pads. 3M finishing material is also good for removing fine scratches/surface imperfections before appilyng polish/glaze. Cheers! Mike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Author Share January 4, 2002 True, velcro attached pads are best. 3M makes great pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie January 5, 2002 Share January 5, 2002 Yeah lah, him lah.... no choice lah, people power.. most vote for showroom so have to do it there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Share January 6, 2002 (edited) It's me! It's me! Despite what Skodaman thinks, I'm not a detailing freak lah! After having expended so much vitamin M for the car, I'm just looking for ways to keep that expensive chariot looking good without breaking my back getting a decent shine on the car. The random orbital buffer I have is a Bosch PEX 12AE. I really wanted the Porter Cable buffer, but it's too expensive to import it from the US along with all the specially designed pads from Classic Motoring Accessories. The Bosch unit is heavy, but it does have an additional adjustable grip in the front so can be operated with two hands. If I can handle it with my puny arms then everybody else can also mah. Hey, it's lighter than an M16. As for splattering of the polish, I avoid it by starting with the lowest speed setting, then juice it up once the polish has been spread on the pad. In any case, for most polishes (well, at least for the one that I use), only very small amounts are needed so if there is splattering chances are that too much is being used. Edited January 6, 2002 by DoctorDrake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Share January 6, 2002 Oh, and I chose the 12AE because it has continuously variable speed control. Very useful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Author Share January 6, 2002 Hi Doc, One more disadvantage of the Porter cable.....it's 110V lah I did try holder and simulating polishing action with the Bosch Plex12AE and it's really darn heavy, after 3 panels arms will sag to the ground man! I believe an orbital is greatly beneficial for abrasives/polish as it builds up for heat for the abrasives to work compared to hand application. For glaze and wax, hand application should be fine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DoctorDrake Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Share January 6, 2002 [reply]Hi Doc, > One more disadvantage of the Porter cable.....it's 110V lah Ha ha! Yah that would be a small problem. > I did try holder and simulating polishing action with the Bosch Plex12AE and it's > really darn heavy, after 3 panels arms will sag to the ground man! I can manage what. Heh. > I believe an orbital is greatly beneficial for abrasives/polish as it builds up for heat > for the abrasives to work compared to hand application. For glaze and wax, hand > application should be fine Agreed. But being the lazy person that I am I also use it for the glaze. Wax by hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 6, 2002 Author Share January 6, 2002 Hi Doc, Used the Plex12AE to polish ur whole car? Not tired ah? I tried 3M Finesse it 2 by hand, obviously I didn't try hard enough as the cleaning effects were minimal. Definitely need an orbital for that! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...