Darkness Neutral Newbie January 19, 2005 Share January 19, 2005 Hi all...are there people who will tune simple simple ICE? If so how much is the cost? (any bro willing to tune for coffee ) me got stock hu (nothing much to tune here except treble and bass) and a jbl 50.4 amp with 12" woffer...and jbl speakers in the front the amp got settings like x-over front and rear, freq 32-320khz, bass boost, input power and 1 or 2 more things....not sure how to do it.... My original installer not very good with tuning my system he says nothing much to do since my hu is stock...so b4 spending more $$$$ on new HU want to see if can get it tuned....haha but his workmanship not bad New generation i was told are good...will they just tune for me? how much will they charge huh? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonluo Neutral Newbie January 21, 2005 Share January 21, 2005 there are many level of tuning a ICE. The professionals will use equipments like phase detector, osciloscope, RTA to tune the output of your HU and the amp and stuff like that. price can range from $100 to let say $800, depending on the amount of time they spend in your car. My recommendation is to look for friends that have some knowledge in electronics to explain to you the functions of each of the knobs and buttons on your HU and Amps so that you can tune HU by yourself to suits your own listening pleasure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie January 22, 2005 Author Share January 22, 2005 hey thanks....boy i am sure not going to spend 100 over $$$ on tuning...hee hee my setup alone cost me 1k only haha. Thanks for the advise bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 Most tuners use the professional equipment known as their ears. They dun rely on the equipments like you said...they may have it but mostly its for show only. Eg. Phase detector. If the tuner cannot tell by his naked ear that the speakers are out of phase...can pack up go home and koon liao. Tuners have preference too....some good tuners may not be good to you as their perference is different from yours. The best way to judge is to check around with the tuners installations...listen to the system and see if you like the sound then let them tune for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 28, 2005 Share January 28, 2005 Your system has min tuning options. I suggest that if you want, get a pre amp to add to your system and then let the installer tune for you. (off course get pple who know how to tune lah) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie January 28, 2005 Author Share January 28, 2005 pre amp is it an electronic cross over? how much huh? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 29, 2005 Share January 29, 2005 Depending on how many channel you going for. In your case, a 4ch would do nicely. Again depending on brand....expect to pay something 200 above. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...