Pls give mi advise...Hav Mixed Feelings leis...

Vin2212

hi all,

i am using SUPERIONE (for those who noe wat is it) on my current ride toyota corolla XL '91... though some may not have good views on this kind of gadgets, well at least for my carb engine, it does save fuel for mi...

But problem is after hear so much reviews and opinions that tis item doesnt really work on new cars...i have a dilemma now...

i juz book my new sunny last week... qnestion is if ur in my shoes, would u transfer the SUPERIONE to the new car since alreadi paid for it and leaving on the shelf oni collect dust, or would u really leave it on the shelf...

i'm planning to get a volt stab and grounding for my new ride so intend to get the mech to fix up my SUPERIONE at the same time but if the bros here think tat its not worth it to transfer over den i might juz leave it alone...

appreciate all the help in advance...

IMHO, this gadget works in your carburated engine cos it "create a turbulence in the intake manifold", thereby giving a better mixture to the air-fuel before combustion. This theory sounds feasible in a carb engine cos air and fuel is pre-mix before entering the combustion chamber.

However, newer car utilise direct fuel injection method into the combustion chamber, and any mixing of air-fuel is done in the combustion chamber itself. Therefore, I don't think this gadget would benefit the newer engine. Moreover, the computer (ECU?) would likely to sense any changes in combustion efficiency and adjust itself accordingly.

Try it out lah........ but later on.

Get used to your new car first to understand how it performas under the various operating conditions. After that, when your backside gets itchy..... put it in to see if there's any difference. (Accel, max speed, FC etc.....)

In other words, get a proper baseline for comparison first by running in your new car. Then install to see the diff.... if no diff, keep the info to yourself......... sing alot of praises for it but hog it off to the higher bidder. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

[laugh][laugh][laugh] tats a gd idea, but i was afraid it willdistort any thing in e ECU, u noe hw stupid computer can get sumtimes...

Was afraid tat after put if not happy take out but the ECU or watever becum kuku and stick to the new readings/info den kuku all the way... [sweatdrop]

No lah..... this sorta thinggy will not adversely affect your ECU. Besides, the ECU is constantly learning...... so if you drive like an auntie (no offence to real aunties here hor), the ECU thinks you're one and when you want aggressive response after awhile.... it's not there.... till it re-learns. [:p]

Edited by Dwoon

actually, i've heard of ECUs which become slightly haywire permanently even after a full reset (disconnect batt, discharged fully)

ECU is continually learning but have been told there is a part whereby the 'learning' is made 'permanent' which stays even after a full reset

If that's the case..... it's the first I've come across leh...... actually, I understand that disconnecting the battery sometimes does not reset the ECU. The error is still logged into the memory and would pop out again if the error is not resolved. You'd need a diagnostic tool to clear the memory in such cases.

Normally, I understand a reset is done to fasten the learning process as that would revert the settings back to "stock unlearnt" form. Either that, or because of certain mods, the ECU had sprung a CEL and needs to be reset.

Cheers!