Accent Neutral Newbie December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 i've just fitted 15 inchers to my Accent.but now got problem...my rear wheels when fully loaded will kena the wheel arches leyy....i think the offset they fit is wrong oredi.any idea guys on how to overcome?i'm thinking of knocking out the rear fenders to accomodate the wheels.any shops to recommend? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 IMO if u have the wrong type of wheel, offset, size etc is alreadi one mistake, why do another with knocking out the rear fenders. Just for looking chio, I think is not wise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accent Neutral Newbie December 1, 2002 Author Share December 1, 2002 for ur info i'm not looking juz for looks.as i'm driving a 98 accent,its very hard to source rims that can fit my car.managed to source one in Ubi.they say can confirm fit.so i fix lor.don't want to search around again.that one oso bo pian..onli one pattern that can fit.onli after a few days then i realized when cornering hard and fully loaded will kena.so wats ur advice...?go back to the shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herz22 1st Gear December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 I know that Accent has problems fixing 15" rims to the car. Maybe you should opt for 14" instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 Go back to the shop. Since they say can fit then ask them why corner kena. Like that cannot lar. Let them find a suitable one or else money back. Also, check your spare tyre can be use in case of puncture, Don't wait when in emergency got tyre also cannot use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accent Neutral Newbie December 1, 2002 Author Share December 1, 2002 (edited) okie lor...maybe i can try going back there.but i scared they don't remember me ley as it is around 2 weeks oredi...as for my spare tyre can use..i checked oredi,the height is same, so not to worry. Edited December 1, 2002 by Accent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 My friend accent, got tyre puncture the other day, his got sport rim by the agent. When want to put the spare on the front wheel, cannot go in. The wheel got a spacer stuck on the centre of the brake assy. Have to pry off the spacer in order to install the spare tyre. FYI The original centre portion of the front wheel is rather small to accomodate the hole of the wheel. If the wheel centre hole is too big, then spacer is added to give a positive fit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie December 1, 2002 Share December 1, 2002 that's the hub ring, not spacer. Spacer really has to be bolted onto the 4/5 lug on the brake hub. If you just pry off the "thing", it should be a hub-ring. as the size of hub differs from car maker to maker (although PCD and lug pattern could be thesame), the wheel maker would make wheels with "generic" bore and uses hub ring to ensure perfect-fit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accent Neutral Newbie December 2, 2002 Author Share December 2, 2002 yah lor..older accents have this 2 extra nuts at the disc assembly,the "spacers" u are toking bout.if i took those offs my my discs will be only be held by my rims nuts.(wouldn't that be dangerous). '00 accent and above dont have this problem.tats y its hard for me to find upsized rims.wouldn't putting spacers make the matter worse?it would make the rims jut out even more.anyway,will be going down tommorrow to the shop.hopefully they can help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear December 2, 2002 Share December 2, 2002 Maybe I shd not used the word spacers and confused u. It actually a bushing to accomodate the wheel with a larger diameter centre hole. The original wheel centre hole diameter is small and it fit snugly on the brake assy. If you change to sport rim, you will find most of the rims centre hole diameter are bigger than you original wheel. So something fit in between them, that is the bushing or spacer or rings I'm talking about. Check with fellow accent owner who have sport rim to get better picture. Unfortunately, I don't drive one or else can show you what I mean. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...