Compare: New Suzuki Swift / Vios / Jazz

Jayk

haha... never try big big ice box before... but can fit those styrofoam white box lah... then again.. i dun have much stuff in my boot except one small box where i dump all my clothes, bottle of water, engine oil in... oh... n two umbrella...

jazz not too bad... did consider swift before... wanted to wait for it but then went motorshow last nov n could not resist jazz cos i was pretty fix on it then.. so did my booking during the motorshow... [laugh]

i am driving a fit....the design is good [thumbsup]

the car is not durable....wheel bearings both rear spoilt. one after 20k km, the other 40k km...and worst is that you can't just change the bearings have to chage whole hub assembly costings 250 for one. this is not an isolated case! went to asked stockists at waterloo st...the salesman told that it is common and out of stock....

the other faulty is EGR valve costings over 300 plus, not critical but will experience jerks, which is not suppose to have on a CVT gearbox. Shocks absorbers can last for 40k km only...and those fit / jazz manufactured after 2004 have no conventional stock replacement, have to go for sports version which cost around 250 per piece, and have to change all 4 since it is sports lower and stiffer....

Generally I found out that Honda parts are more expensive even comparre with Toyota...

BTW, the aircon not as cold as a IST.

As you know Fit/Jazz have 8 spark plugs using IDSI engine...the replacement cannot be done everywhere..the access to the spark plugs requires specisl tools..I just got to realize it yeaterday, when i wanted to change mine.

I heard that Suzuki new Swift is quieter, as it has been sound proof!

I have heard good reviews on Aveo, if you are considering same class...you dun even have to change the HU, it is Blaupunkt. Considering the price , Aveo price is more attractive, dun be turn off by Korean makes.

True if you compare with Fit/Jazz probably fuel efficient is slightly better...but if you compare the price of the different brand, the difference in amount you can dun know pump how many tanks of petrol! FIt/Jazz run on CVT...and the gearbox is expensive to be replaced...and it's pretty new technology, although it has improve and proven more reliable than previous batch of Civics (all curse and swear!)... get something that has been proven...especially gearbox. I rather feel the jerks than to foot a hefty amount to repair it.

BTW toyota cars run on 4 speed automatic gearbox, not CVT, but still the jerks very minimal....

the choice is yours...

I regret making my choice in certain ways..just woryy about break downs and maintenance fees...

for the power of the fit/jazz -

NO WORRIES! It is from HONDA - creator of VTEC...tho this is not VTEC but amzing delivry of power...

pick up is excellent , considering it is 1339 cc only! normal drive off from traffic lights (no ram) should be one of the first cars to move off and creat a gap. But please dun compare with WRX, 2000cc Benz...that kinda of cars..but still not bad leh..if all dun ram the cars fit/jazz move off will be on par with them.

long distance is lacking....

but those drive that demands using most of the lower gears...wow this is the car to drive!

Genting - you can overtake with ease upslope!

BTW mine ride is stock!

Edited by Nightfalls

Yeah... when drive off traffic light... will be one of 1st few car.. pickup definitely not bad...

when go out wif fren who drive matrix... mine will be in front of him wen move off from traf light...

can put 3 ice boxes during my last fishing trip and 3 person...3 big bags...6/7 rods...

travlled appx 400km without stopping...

my fit went to KL 4 times Pekan 1 time, Treganu 1 time, Pahang 3 times in last 10 /11 months...

change engine oil every 8k km gear oil every 20k km

Edited by Nightfalls

Out of the three, I'm for Swift for its modern looks, decent pickup and comes with manual. If fuel economy is in your priority, 1.3 Jazz is the answer, as I'm not so sure about Swift.

I recommend www.xxxxxxx.com, where you can do a comparison inc. price among the three and decide, just need to sign up as member first.

Same prediciment, Vios or Swift........

Looks like the new Vios 2006 worse design than the current Vios...

New Swift is so chiou, but then whats the FC comparison btw these 2?

I intend to buy a car to last me 10years, hehe.(1st time buy car), can use, 1 time use forever if can... hehe, dunno if within this 10yrs what I will become lor... hehe..

My new salary still unknown, maybe ard 2.5 to 3k/mth with $750 as transport allowances.

So cheaper the car, the better, I have even viewed the Getz 1.1l, but then its too small for my liking, no power, but then cheap....

HELP...... should like go for the more ex. Suzuki which is bout 4k more than a Vios??

lik many bros had mentioned here... it depend on wat in a car u'r looking for... FC? power? comfort? low price? Look? set ur priorities... so far no perfect car yet... if u've a budget...set it down then look for a car in that range, shd be easier to close down... remember 2 include ur max fuel/month, road tax and insurance... hw much downpayment u can pay or commiting urself to 100% loan in 10 yrs?

i've test driven sm cars recently... n has a personal Hyundai frd... can recomm u if u wan... no obligation.

Wah.....

No sweat lah....buy a Jazz and can last u 10 yrs...provided u treat it well lah [sweatdrop]

Why? - if u plan to keep car for 10 yrs, then must consider changes in life: kao ying, buah chu, seh kia, etc....the car must be able to fit in as yr life - i mean lifestyle changes

Vios? - [hur] [hur]

Swift - [hur][hur][hur][hur]

Jazz - [nod][nod][nod][nod][nod]

Colt? - [hur][nod][hur][nod] --> boot space not enuf....

Edited by Southpark2000

Thanks brothers for the reply,

Well said on the lifestyle changes.... I am currently driving a company's van, so no cost on me, however now need to get a car, so all cost throw back to me, and seems quite siong to maintain one... hehe......

I be going to see the Suzuki Swift this week and Vios next week. Jazz(I did consider it b4), but price more than 60k, so too high more mi to get liao... hehe....

Getz, I test drive b4, the 1.1M, not much power on the car itself, but price is good, somemore the SE is my friend, hehe.... But then I scold him how come Getz no 1.3M, I love a manual car... hehehe...