What is RMS?

Gadgeter

hi bro,

may i know what do you understand from the RMS rating for component speakers?

eg. : 160w RMS

does it mean that the speaker and tweeter is @ 160w RMS each?

thanks!

This you need to ask the supplier. I once asked about my infinite and the reply is each speaker is designed to work at the rated RMS value. I wonder if it is true.

woah... after reading this thread couple of times i'm still blur like sotong

possible for someone to give an example (in layman term pls) say...

if i were to get an amp of 100w x 2... i'm actually only getting about 70w x 2? that means i should get a component speaker lower than this ratings?

pardon me for being new [rifle]

Ok, hi everyone first time posting in this thread. I'm a new player in I.C.E so please dun flame hor... [sweatdrop] I juz bought Lanzar 6.5" Compo speakers. Specs are as follows. Model Opti6.1C 250W RMS for speakers and 200W rms for tweeters. I'm also looking at the Lanzar Opti amps designed for this speakers but i'm still unsure whether i should get this setup. LanZar Opti 800w. 200wRMS per channel. 4 ch bridged to 2 ch is abt 475WRMS. All at 4 ohms. Or else i'm looking at getting a 2 ch amp for my front compo. Any suggestions? Damage for speakers is already eating into me. Kenna tok cai tao!! [bigcry] so I won't mention the price. To think i bought it from Daiichi at SLS. Lanzar amp is selling for 575 SGD at upper thomson road. Would it be better to get a 4 ch amp or 2 ch? Please advise thanks!

Edited by Dada

Generally - getting a 4-channel amp gives one the option of going full active - overall a better option for future upgrades.

If you just intend to wire your front speakers to run passive and budget is a concern - you could just get the 2-channel amp - usually a 100 - 150wpc x 2 rms into 4 ohm rating would be able to power up any pair of front component speakers. [nod]

Ok thanks for the advise. I think I should be getting the 4 ch amps. I won't have a headache later when i decide to upgrade. Intending to the Soundstream subs. 10" should be good... Picasso... here i come... 2 channels to front and 2 channels to sub should be good enough rite? I see the price of monoblocks... [sweatdrop] almost 1k for the one that i like... too bad. Cannot spend too much later wife-to-be [knife] me... ; ;

For the sub, I would advise you to find out what is the actual power rating before committing to the 4-channel amp.

Depending on the sub rating, bridging 2-channels on the 4-channel amp may or may not be enuf juice to power up the sub! [:/]

The particular you are interested in should be a 4ohm DVC rated around 300w - which means you need an amp which can give you minimum 250 - 300w RMS stable into 2 ohms.

Couldn't find the amp you mentioned - the Lanzar Opti 800 - so couldn't check out the actual specs - but the other amps have max & rms ratings listed, so do take note when you buy the amp. Also find out whether you can actually run 2 channels as they are together with the other 2 channels bridged - also not all amps are able to do that, so check befoe committing! [;)]

Better be safe than sorry later [thumbsup]

The advantage that monoblocs have is that they are optimized to power up subs and can usually go down to 1 ohm stable - no problem. Which is also why they tend to cost quite a bit.

Ideally, you should get a 4-channel plus a mono bloc [thumbsup] You can check out a fellow MCF forumer "Headshok" for some recommendations. You can also join us in our regular Wednesday meetups for more options/ideas [thumbsup]

As a guide, when you are looking at amp specs - just look at the RMS ratings and ignore the max/peak/pmpo ratings. [nod]

Also as a guide, one should always get amps with ratings which equal to or are greater than the speaker rating.

In my opinion, if you get an amp rated between 100 - 150w RMS into 4 ohms - you should be able to power up almost any pair of front component speakers in a passive setup quite well with no worries.

Heck, I just realized that I do not even know the rating of my own front speakers! [:/] Will have to take a look at the speaker markings when I take them out! [nod]

[sweatdrop] Time to empty my wallet again. For SPL systems, other than Rockford Fosgates, are there any amps that can be used? The lanzar amp i was talking abt is sold at Dai Ichi SLS for 750 SGD. The same model i found at J L Ocean at upper thomson road for 575+. I having headache now dunno what amp to get... ai.. I saw the Rockford Punch 4004 amp now offer at New Generation for 760+. Dunno whether they still have it. HEadache sia...

After today's meeting I've been severely poisoned... [furious] Initially I was intending to go SPL but after hearing a certain bro's SQ, I've decided to go SQ!! Whatever it is, it was nice meeting yall and thanks a million for patiently explaining all the jargon in the art of ICE. Now to start looking for an amp...

Juz got my pay check today. Sad to say, my ot not enough...Feb still driving up to kl. No budget to get amps this month... knn [furious].