What is RMS?

Gadgeter

Sorry guyz, i dun mean to post this here but it really saddened my heart that the society is so unforgiving to some, who has erred and walk the wrong way. I have to admit that i am an ex-convict too. Here we are, chatting on the topic of "what's good", "what to buy", "where to enjoy", where to meet" and even something which is not so important in life that is not in the priority in our life, there are just some people who wanted nothing but just a job. Even though it's not a high paid job, just enough to live by each single days and pay some liabilities, there are just these ex-convicts who are so determined to change themselves who wanted the job badly, but yet the chance isn't given. Why is it so? Just because we have some drawings in our body? Just because we lost our freedom and was deprived from the basic necessaties in life? Just because we are locked behind bars and made to squat and stand at the command of others? Or just because we are caught earlier than those who hasn't been? I plead for your kindness to read the following blog, or at least know who we are and where we stand. I can tell everyone here, I'm a proud changed man. Or at least at this moment now, i truly understand the privileges of having freedom, gaining the wisdom from a totally different society, and also the hunger of a man who is so determined to change himself and get a job. If only this society believes in us, forgives us for what we have done, and gives us a chance. We have been unlocked from the first freedom, but not the second. It's the Prison of Society. http://jeffreysin.blogs.friendster.com/my_...02/jobless.html

Maybe you can help me to see if tmy AMPS Specs match the 4speakers and the subwoofer.

I know nothing about ICE setup.

My present setup is loud thats all.

[knife][bigcry][thumbsdown][thumbsup][hur][jawdrop]

Pionner DEH-P9650MP

* Color Dot-matrix Organic EL display

* PC-Link (OEL Screensaver Studio) ready

* Built-in DSP

o 5-mode preset equalizer

o 2-mode custom preset equalizer

o Auto EQ

o BBE - digital sound processing**

o Digital listening position selector

o Auto time alignment

o Digital 13-band graphic equalizer

o 2-way crossover: HPF (F/R separated) / LPF

o 3-way digital network

o ASL (Auto Sound Levelizer)

* Motorized dual motion flap face

* High-voltage Preout (6.5V)

* 3 RCA preouts: front + rear + subwoofer

Front: Soundstream TRC.6 TRC.6N 6-1/2" 2-Way Component System - 150w RMS

# 6-1/2" 2-Way Component System

# Die Cast Aluminum Baskets with CNC Cutting

# Aluminum Alloy Cone and Dustcap

# Butyl Rubber Surround

# Conex Spider

# Chrome Plated Top and Bottom Plate

# Vented Pole Piece

# 1-1/2" Hybrid Silk Dome Tweeter

# Neodymium Tweeter Magnet

# 3 Mounting Options: Flush / Swivel / Surface or Angle Mount

# Ferro Fluid Cooled Tweeter

# 18dB Impedance Compensating Passive Crossovers

# Tweeter Protection

# Tweeter Attenuation: -3, 0, +3 dB

# Gold Plated Binding Posts

# 1-1/4" Kapton Voice Coil

# 13 oz. Magnet

# Impedance: 4 Ohms

# Speaker Size 6-1/2"

# Design 2-Way Component

# Tweeter Design N/A

# Tweeter Composition N/A

# Woofer Composition N/A

# Woofer Surround N/A

# Sensitivity 92 dB

# Frequency Response 72 Hz - 20 kHz

# RMS Power Handling 150 watts

# Peak Power Handling 300 watts approx.

# Impedance 4 ohms

# Top Mount Depth 2.6"

# Bottom-mount depth N/A

# Cutout Dimensions N/A

Boss GT1280- 4-Channel Amplifier with Remote Subwoofer Level Control - 4 Ch Amplifier for 4 Speakers

# Max power, 2 ohms: 500 watts x 4

# RMS power, 4 ohms: 200 watts x 4

# Bridged power, 4 ohms: 1000 watts x 2

Rear: Lanzar HR6.1 6-1/2" Two-Way Custom Component Speaker System / 140RMS

Pair 6.5" Midrange Drivers

Chromed Mica-Poly Cone

Butyl Rubber Surround

140 Watts RMS/ 280 Watts Peak

Frequency Response: 55-6KHz

Impedance: 4 Ohms

1" Silk Dome Tweeters

Neodymium Magnet

3 Mounting Options:

Flush / Swivel / Surface or Angle Mount

50 Watts RMS / 100 Watts Peak

Frequency Response: 1.4-24KHz

Impedance: 4 Ohms

One Pair Passive Crossover Network:

Two - Way Passive Crossovers

12dB Octave Slope

Sub-Woofer: Soundstream XS-12 - 12" 4 Ohm DVC Subwoofer 300w RMS

# 12" High Performance Subwoofer

# RMS Power Handling: 300 Watts

# Dual 4-Ohm Voice Coil

# Blue Zirconium Cone

# Stainless Steel Stamped Basket

# UDV Cooling Technology

# Black Progressive Roll Spider

# 40 oz. Magnet

# 2" Kapton Voice Coil Former

# Subwoofer Size 12"

# Impedance 4 ohms

# Dual Voice Coil Yes

# Peak Power Handling 600 watts approx.

# RMS Power Handling 300 watts

# Woofer Surround Foam

# Woofer Composition N/A

# Sealed Box Volume 1.0 cu. ft.

# Ported Box Volume N/A

# Sensitivity 89 dB

# Frequency Response 24 Hz - 1.7 kHz

# Xmax (millimeters) N/A

# Top Mount Depth 5-1/2"

# Cutout Diameter 11"

BOSS AUDIO - GT1500D - Riot GT Series Class D Mono Block Power Amplifier 800W x 1 RMS (1500W max) for Subwoofer

Riot GT Series Class D Mono Block Power Amplifier (1500W)

* Class D monoblock power amplifier with remote subwoofer level control; 1500W max, 800W x 1 RMS

1.2 Farad Capacitor with Digital Voltage Display

Bro,

Long time no see, where have you gone hiding?

As for ice. our bros at the ICE meetup will be able to advise you better....

I have bought everything except the AMP........

I have to be very sure b4 i buy if not chalat.

Buying the wrong thing,kena chop again.. lately cannot LOGIN in to all messenger, but to my surprise the chat in MCF still can login.

Bzzzz with my work...now abit relax liao...... [drivingcar][dizzy]

Hi Bro Vic,

welcome to mycarforum. Nice to see you here.

As for your Pioneer HU, MOSFET 50w x 4 from what I understand, the average RMS for those MOSFET 50w is producing between 25w RMS to 27w RMS per channel. So 50w is just peak power. Hope this helps.

How about coming for the Nasi Padang ICE meetup Wednesday night. You can get lots of help from those ICE kakis there.

Hi Bob,

Now to the final part is do i use back my 2 pieces old 2ch amp of

250w @ 4 Ohms or

Bridge RMS Power 500w x 1 @ 2ohms

For my for my front and back speakers?

[rifle][gossip][hur]

And with all this power do i do a, Active or Passive setup?

Edited by Mdvic

No problems with "over"-powering the speakers - just check that you have the impedance rite, and set the gain on the amp to minimum before you start to fine-tune the gain matching for your sub-woofer volume setting.

[nod]

Thanx bro. Does the woofer power requirement increase when you bridge? Lets say a 300watt DVC woofer 4Ohm, when bridge to 2 Ohm wat is the power requirement? still 300w?

For a 4 ohm DVC woofer rated @300 w, you can either:

1. connect the DVC in parallel - which means that the sub would be a 2 ohm load to the amp; OR

2. connect the DVC in series - as above but now a 8 ohm load

So if your amp is rated at least 300W @2 ohm, then you are all set! Of course the more power the merrier lah.

FYI - I am running my sub at 2400W @1 ohm [sweatdrop]

hi,

its always good to put in more power into a sub, but how much power a sub can take will depend on who makes the sub.

600 watts power 300 watt sub, not a problem, got one car powerin a 350 watt sub with a 600 watt monoblk at our meetup. everything is ok.

but if u take a 3000 watt amp to power a 600 watt sub, then that one the sub very likely will die.. too much power liao.. but certain manufacturers make subs that will handle such crazy power.. hehehe.. sadly u cant find these subs locally.

hi, I got Q, let say with amp 200rms drive a min150rms max300rms sub, will there any problem? like under power to bring out the best of that sub?

thanks [:)]

Depending on what sub and what amp. Some subs are easier to drive than others, and some amps are more under-rated than others. So to answer your question , it is still possible with the right combination.