Installing Car Tracking System on 22/04/05

Steamboat

Gonna install car tracking system later today..hmm costing me abt one thousand dollar..n asking them to install the SOS button jus in case ppl wanna HIJACK me such a notti cuttie in Malaysia.so if someone wanna hijack me i jus hav to press the SOS button n the control center in singapore will ring my hp n if i m not contactable then they will try to track my car's whereabout then co-ordinate wif the malaysia police to locate me n my vehicle. well jus don wish anytink like tat will ever happended to me again la...8 mths ago jus got ROBBED in JB ...chased by 3 motorbikes n kick me off my bike n robbed me n beat me up n left me wif 4 broken ribs n 1 broken collar bone..jus had an operation last december so now bone connected back wif 6 screws n left me wif a 18cm long scar on my front shoulder.an advise to all car owners here...dont drive in the nite alone..try to gather more cars or frens along.the police post stole my helmet..n the hospital thre very lousy attitude n cant be bothered wif me when i was sent to the hospital heavily injured.they rather chit chat n joke to one another rather than to attend to me..n it took them more than half an hour to write a referral letter where i was jus right in front of them waiting for the letter n they were chit chatting n laughing all the way.reported to the police station n was interviewed twice,once by a junior police n cant speak english n took her an hour to type the letter..then referred me to the inspector...inspector sleepin..attended me unwillingly n still asked me ''do u know i m sleeping'?wat a police? took him an hour to typed n typed n in the end the report came out..u know wat?its exactly the same report the junior officer has typed.wahhhhh so efficient ya?nvr ever get yrself into any trouble in malaysia if not u r goin to suffer like me...becareful n be alert while in malaysia..till today the robbers still at large,not caught..anyway i also cant rcognise the robbers even if they caught them..jus my luck tis time.count myself lucky i wasnt killed or being rape by them..guessed they thought i m a guy at that moment of time as i was wearing full face helmet n i kept running after i was kicked off my bike though my bones were already broken.they chased me wif their bikes n i told myself i hav to run no matter wat if not i will die.imagine i was riding at 80/90km/hr n they kicked me off the bike n i fell then still can get up n run...i oso dun know how i managed to do so...its like making a movie like tat...ahahahaha...i was pennyless n the hospital say if i wanna stay in i hav to put rm 800 deposit..so i opt to discharge immediately n go bac singapore...so...from 3.30am dragged till 10am..from police post to the hospital then from hospital still got to go bac to report to the police station n take down statement.by then my face,nose,both hands n legs were swollen like pig trotter..n cant even walk n no taxis in JB wanna send me home becos i got no money.in the end i went to the illegal taxis n one kind indian uncle charge me $40 n sent me home n paid him when i reach.i didn go to the hospital at the moment i reached home..i lied to my family i skidded n fell from my bike...i pretended notink serious.lied on my bed for 2 days..finally went to tan tock seng hosp by my own n get treated thre.i didn buy personal accident insurance nor travel insurance n my bike was insured under third party,new bike smore(bike shop ask me buy 3rd party la)..so i cant claim anytink...its a heavy lost tis time...so ppl out here pls pls buy personal insurance n travel insurance...its realli important...till today my family still don know i was robbed.cant work till today..m recovering pretty well till date but still very painful on the scar(skin) and i cant carry heavy things or move my shoulder too much.will be well soon...so now i guessed everyone knows why i m in the Chevrolet Club...hahaha becos my family doesn want me to ride bike want me to buy car......................... [bounce2][drivingcar]

wah......i am so sorry to hear this happening to you. i wish to a speeeeedy gonzales recovery. No worries lah...if you go in JB with us....we make sure have at lest 3 cars or more...than like that safer a little.

But i really have to admire your strength and courage... [thumbsup][thumbsup]

I cant imagine myself going through what you went through.....you super woman...i take my hat off you. Next meet up kopi and drinks on me...ok? [nod][flowerface]

Drive safe...cheers

wah so seriously injuried....thank goodness u r recovering albeit slowly

but then, cannot expect too much fm m'sia polis....their lingo is $$$...

luckily u never stay in sultan aminah hospital...svc if any...sucks...

at nite if not enuff bed, they will push yr bed to the common corridor or next to the toilet plus dunno whether they got sterilise their needles or not...first-hand experienced narrated by my sis's who in-law r m'sians n hv stayed there before.

anyway, care 2 share abt yr tracking system....how much it cost, where 2 find out more details etc...tks... [flowerface]

Car Tracking at a Cost

Picture obtained from Car Track

Singapore

By Danny Er

Trying to sell an insurance type of service - that takes effect only when the car goes missing- can be really difficult, but imagine having to sell a service without showing potential subscribers the actual product.

That is what Car Track Singapore has to do. Car Track is a company that offers car tracking services when your car goes missing for any reason especially theft. But get this...you'll not be informed on the location of this particular device, which is said to be the size of a Walkman weighing about 400g.

It is in the company's policy not to reveal the technology and the location of the device that is implanted on your car. This is to prevent any chance of its system being hacked into and jeopardising the other customers.

So to convince the customers on their service, they will provide two tests for the customers to track their car when they are signed-up members. To test the system, subscribers can call at any time to track the location of the car.

Nicholas from Car Track reveals that some customers may find it quite ridiculous that the device is not revealed to them, but the majority of customers who are interested tend to go for it after the initial apprehension.

Locates Car in Minutes

He relates one case where the driver didn't respond to a car rental company's request to return the hired car. Appoint notification by the company, Car Track located the car in Toa Payoh in a matter of 10 minutes.

Even if the thief disconnects the battery, the tracking device has a back-up battery that can last about 2 years upon installation. The change of battery will cost about $38.

Car Track does not participate in a physical on-site tracking of the car, but instead informs the car-owner of the car location usually through the phone. They are advised to make a report with the police before starting to track the location of the car.

Measuring up the Cost of Prevention

Car Track charges $648 for the device they install, $80 for its installation and about $12 per month for its subscription.

Car Tracking subscription is something like insurance. Car owners will only chance upon having miss out on its omni-presence after their car decides to go missing on one seemingly fine day. As the initial shock starts to set in, franctic calls to the police and searches on the roads are usually fruitless. Insurance will only pay you the present maket value, which is much lesser than what you've originally paid for the car, even so with a loan.

The success rate of tracking a car is close to 100 per cent. In the event that it can't be track, the company has a refund policy, which includes the cost of the unit and the unused subscription paid.

The service is taken up mainly by those who take frequent drive-ups to Malaysia, since the device can track a car located anywhere in Singapore and Peninsular Malaysia.

But as the hackney saying goes: prevention is always better than cure. Here is a car tracking service that gives you peace of mind especially on those frequent trips across the causeway.

I'm quite sure the petty thieves would be shock by use of such a sophisticated device.

Car Track Singapore is located at

Vicom (Kaki Bukit) Centre

23 Kaki Bukit Avenue 4 #02-04

Call 6848 8435

[laugh] ok ok nex time use paragraph... i jus bla bla bla when i just think of it lor.hey thank for the number...ya will ring u up most prob nex wk then we go chit chat la.

ummm, just a question. if ur in KL and the signal Rx station is in SG? how's that gonna help you in any way? from the way i see it and from the way u described the m'sian police ineptness, by the time police even gets around in tracking your car

(read:car stolen > Signal Tx > SG > relay to M'sian Police (KL perhaps?) > Search & Rescue?)

wouldnt it be too late already?

ummm, just my 2c worth...

obviously, putting a thousand dollar system, the benefits should outweight the cost. but after reading what u went through, i thnk is justifiable for your case.

on a side note, i heared somewhere that if u go to M'sian hospital and need surgery, u actually have to PAY(?) for the equipment that they use on you? anyone heared this before??

cheers~!

i dont know...they say tat they can trace up to west malaysia.i jus install jus for the seek of retrieving the car n mayb if i m being hijack or kinapped then at least the center know ma n at least i may be save or watever...they using satelite to trace.they claimt that they almost 100% able to trace so shall c lor.malaysia also got one company installin tis system but they don cover singapore n its more expensive..its rm 4000 n they hav their own rescue team.

oh i did not hav any surgery at the JB hospital ,all they did was a jab n xray tats all...becos i no money ma so wat can they do for me?AHAHAHAHA

in fact malaysia is the Worst place to go now...from wat i read.their newspaper everyday also got robbery,murder,snatch thieves.notink but crimes.

why u always go JB?wife thre or gf thre?ahahaha or mistress?

no lah...hubby got 2 go to customer's office lah...

as for me, i just like 2 go in for KFC.... [sunny]

ahahah sorry tot u r a guy...ya i love KFC...the KFC in malaysia very very saltish leh compared to singapore KFC...i told my KL fren whos a KFC freak..can everyday eat KFC...told her i wont be surprise tat ppl who eat KFC in malaysia will hav kidney problem.