DAIHATSU SIRION

Poserwoo

same reason why i didn't buy the sirion. everything perfect, but final test...actually brought baby pram along...can barely fit in boot lah

Go to the Teban Crescent showroom (Jurong area beside AYE) and look for SE Adrian Tong. Spoken to him on two separate occasions and found him to be very friendly and helpful. He is sincere in his comments when I ask him to compare Sirion with the YRV and Extol range. In end didn't buy Sirion cause boot only big enough for the pram and not much else though I really like it. [bigcry] Oh it has 4 airbags, 2 front and 2 side (small one)for a 1.3L car if case those interested do not know.

yah i am also not sure how the COE bidding is like...since it is sure gonna go up next month, does it means tt if i bid at the current cat A px, i am not going to get my COE for sure and hence wont get the car anyway if i make my booking. (Confirm no intention of topping up for COE as this is a buyers market imo)

Anyway back to the sirion, im thinking of getting it as an OPC, With shiny red available as one of the colour, hopefully it wont be too ugly with a red plate. [:p]

will try to test drive it first before making a decision.

did you try on other cars like swift and mazda even Vitz, i think you will face the same problem [:|]

well i think the only one that can might be a JAZZ/FIT. [shocked]

why OPC? [:/]

looking at the car price now, you should get a white plate. [thumbsup]

pay so much just to park at the carpark, unless you work at night, he he [laugh]

this is how i view at it...unless one is working in sales industry...dan different story.

else if one works in CBD area, he/she is also parking the car in his/her office carpark from 9am-6pm. On top of tt, morning congestion, ERP, no 17k rebate, more carpark cost, higher road tax.

it really depends on lifestyle..i would love to have a normal plate as well..but i feel it just doesnt make sense in terms of economical and convenience (more inconveience to drive to work) for my case at this moment. I need a car more for leisure.

maybe when next time i get married and have kids, need to send children to school, i might consider changing it to normal car plate.

do i make sense? if not pls advice too. thanks bro. [thumbsup]

true true...and even if u need to use the car for during the day for a day, juz pay the $20 coupon...still cheaper than car rental...

Guess OPC and normal juz depends on yr usage...

with such good spec, reliable brand name and affordable px and running cost,

i wonder how come buyers arnt aiming for it.

maybe most ppl feel tt at this kind of price, might as well get a vios.

hehehehehe...

i did think of getting OPC too.

it will be easier on the wallet. but it defeats the purpose of getting a car for convenience and freedom in mobility.

it was mentioned on another thread and in the papers, someone said the restricted hours are more than 50% of the time in a week. but the rebate is only about 30-40% price difference compared to a normal car. i agree with that.

i did some calculations to compare my savings between an OPC and normal car. it's less than 30%. like a bit boh hua lor, restricted time from driving so much, but savings still not much, you know what i mean?

moreover, can only put on the road after 3pm on saturdays. that's really lousy lah, i think.

although, i agree with you, it's inconvenient to get to work by car in the mornings, and i'm not even working in CBD area.

but i would get consider an OPC if my office is a few minutes' walk away from my carpark. cuz after work... can go drive mah. =) i get off work at 7pm, you see. that would make a bit more sense lah.

so... for OPC, cons still outweigh pros, IMHO.

so meanwhile, i'll stick with car-sharing. i would be very happy if there's a car station at a carpark near my place... LOL

cars.. well. just a luxury item in singapore. wonder why i'm so obsessed with it these days. i think it's the desire to own it, cuz i don't have it. =P

ya.. i was surprised that it wasn't a hit with car buyers. don't understand why.

a combination of factors bah... the daihatsu brand as opposed to toyota. =

STS 2 years warranty compared to other japan makes' standard 3 years.

noisy reverse beeping and indicator stick on left hand. i'm a bit irritated with these two things.

and wat you mentioned also too. =) vios got 4-disc brakes leh. heeeeh.

Dude,

OPC may seem a better bet on paper but beware ... forget to put coupon ...fine can come up tp 8K. Kena once everything gone.

I guess sirion being 1.3 in the same price level as the sunny, vios and lancer .. well, go figure. Anyways u hve to like the car. Slightly pissed off with their recent pricing trick but i can forgive them if the price is right. We'll see

I guess it depends on individual la when OPC is concerned.

But i do notice on the road tt alot of OPC are picanto and kelisa.

maybe it makes more sense to own a dirt cheap OPC? [shocked]

Buying a GOOD JAP MAKE car but cant get to use it often seems to defeat the purpose of buying in the first place isnt it???? [gossip]

kekeke...if only i am rich.... OPC wouldnt be in my dictionary [sly]

Edited by Vroomvroom

eg.Sirion cost 50000. Take a 10 years 90% loan at 3%, interest is (45000x3%x10)13500. Total loan 58500. Monthly payment $487.5

OPC Sirion cost 33000, interest is (33000x3%x10)9900, total loan 42900. Monthly payament $357.5

Savings in 1 month $130

Savings over 4 years $6240

Savings over 10 years $15600

If you look in the long run, the savings is pretty substantial especially for those who need not drive to work everyday. [;)]

of course...! =) it's only $23K for a brand new off-peak picanto! and the red plates all come out at nights. spawning a vampire generation on singapore roads.

night driving is fun. less traffic. streetlights with yellow lamps lighting up a golden tarmac. =) i find it relaxing...

ya lor... i agree with you! car swee swee, but cannot use it often.

but then again, OPC can be considered a pay-per-usage scheme too, right? so i don't pay more than what i really need to own a car in singapore. in a year, i can choose to drive during restricted hours for up to 125 days ( ($1700 + $800)/$20 = 125 ) before costs evens out as owning a normal car.

so i can go out 30% of the time with a car in a month during restricted hours. heeeh heeeh. so stupid. might as well i get a normal car.

think so much, until white hair also come out already. all for a car... siao hor?

ya... sunny, vios and lancer all with bigger boots. better value, right? =P

yeah... you were right about the pricing! i.. i.. i was tricked!

wat would be a comfortable price for u..? $40K would be sweet for me. [sly]

but not quite possible lah huh. but who knows. maybe by next oct, ya?

which other cars are you looking at? =)

buay lar..not siao...hehehe....its a guy thing [sly]

all this picanto and kelisa is really damm cheap..

but sometime i feel its just not worth saving the money if the car does not comes with standard safety features. Esp no ABS. I have heard too many stories abt ppl escaping a near bang situation. All thanks to the ABS.

So whatever it is, if u buy a car next time, be it OPC be it normal, i think its better to pay a little more for all those additional safety features.

Safety comes first. Sirion scores on its all round safety features. 4 airbag in 1.3L.

tt to me is.. [thumbsup] No horse run liao.

Edited by Vroomvroom

ya lor... i totally agree. safety first. it's worth topping up a bit for ABS.

moreover, someone in this thread did a rough calculation on STS' profit margin... around $6K. okay lah hor? just need to squeeze those bloody leather seats for free from their lifeless ice-cold grip. LOL

but they're really bo chap one leh. suzuki agent call me to update. fiat also (very friendly, cuz they very low sales figure... heeeh), and hyundai, and mazda. and honda. only STS... so relack, never bother to update. wonder how they survive. maybe.... exhorbitant prices for spare parts. [shocked]