Presea 3rd Gear December 31, 2002 Share December 31, 2002 Hi all, I just purchased a Momo Steering Wheel, and got my mechanic to install it in for me (nominal $10 fee) Everything works fine, except the steering wheel is a few degrees off-centre. I removed the horn button/plate, and removed the locking nut, but I can't seem to get the steeringwheel and boss kit off the hub. I read somewhere that there is a steering wheel removal kit...does anyone know where to get it? I was wondering if anyone has advice on removing a steering wheel by force, WITHOUT spoiling the alignment or the collapsible part of the steering wheel. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 31, 2002 Share December 31, 2002 You have to be brutal with the steering wheel.... Knock really hard at all edge and it will just loosen up.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris_ck Neutral Newbie January 6, 2003 Share January 6, 2003 why dun you go back to your mechanic and ask him to do it for you again... this time properly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 6, 2003 Author Share January 6, 2003 ...Thanks.. already fixed. Had to use a lot more force. It was really a very tight fit. Now I dread the day I need to remove it again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissanb14 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2003 Share January 21, 2003 Hi bros, I am planning to change my Nissan Sunny B14 steering wheel to....say..Nissan Cefiro or Presea steering wheel (get from those scrapped car). The steering wheel inside my car is kinda lousy make out of cheap hard plastic, unlike those using leather-wrapped on in Presea and Cefiro. I wonder anyone here whether I can just change it or need other efforts to fix it in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 21, 2003 Author Share January 21, 2003 ...Nissan Presea R10 (older version) doesn't have leather... it's mostly plastic and PVC, and I'm glad to be rid of it.... changing a steering wheel needs some experience... if you do it incorrectly, your wheels may get out of alignment. and it would take quite a bit of strength and technique to remove the existing steering wheel... why not get a good aftermarket steering wheel?... I guarantee it feels much better gripping a sportier steering wheel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2003 Share January 21, 2003 I dun think it will fit into your B14. Those original steering wheels are meant for those chosen models only. Hope I am not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wymun Neutral Newbie January 21, 2003 Share January 21, 2003 Does your B14 come with an air-bag within the steering wheel? Mine does. If so, you may have to sacrifice the airbag... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissanb14 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2003 Share January 21, 2003 Nop.. There isn't any airbag in the steering wheel. I did measure the size of cefiro's steering wheel and it is same size of my car, only diff is diff car model only. So can I fix it in to car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soundless Neutral Newbie January 21, 2003 Share January 21, 2003 I think it should be able to fix, i not sure. Like now i driving a honda civic and i am using a honda accord steering wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 22, 2003 Author Share January 22, 2003 Hi Cyquek ...most steering wheels are inter-changeable... ..especially those from Japanese cars You can even change those with Airbags (but you'd need a proper (GOOD) mechanic). But best not to, as the inflated bag may be too big or too small when from a different car model. You'd need a 19mm wrench (the one for changing tyres would do if it's a 19mm one) and loads of sweat and effort if the original steering wheel is a tight fit. (Nissan ones usually are) You might need to modify the horn wiring if it doesn't link up straight away, but generally it isn't that complicated. The steering wheels with buttons and other fancy gadgets are the ones that are hard to swap... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissanb14 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2003 Share January 22, 2003 Hi Cyquek, glad to hear that, I will go Sungei Kadut to get one Sefiro steering wheel to fix in to my nissan b14. Any recommendation for workshop to fix this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2003 Share January 22, 2003 Presea was the one who replied to you lah, blur liao you. But I think if realy can fix, then most accessories shop can do it. Your w/s should be able to do it as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Presea 3rd Gear January 22, 2003 Author Share January 22, 2003 ...Cyquek is right on all counts... including the blurness and the workshop. A mechanic should charge you no more than $10 (even Autobacs charges $10). It should take between 5-30mins depending on whether modifications need to be made. A simple swop is even easier than changing a wheel/tyre. But once the original one comes off, you will need to check if the horn and boss will match... If they do...then it is a simple alignment and tightening... If not,.... .... But I guess if it's a same make (Nissan to Nissan)...it should be a simple swop. Good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nissanb14 Neutral Newbie January 22, 2003 Share January 22, 2003 Sorry bros My bad... and thanks for the guide. Will post the result once get it done. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...